We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Citystars Cairo to your Saves list
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Omar Ibn El Khattab Street, Cairo 11737, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

This hotel is amazing, great location, really polite staff. The Spa was amazing, as was the building itself. Only problem was it shear size made it a trip getting around. Really would recommend.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    207
    50
    23
    15
See reviews for
121
96
71
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip and found it a really nice haven from the crazy streets of Cairo. The service was excellent - only minor exception was when I asked to borrow an adaptor for my laptop (European with 3 prongs, not 2 which is Cairo standard) and they gave me a US one three times. After 5 attempts over 1.5hrs, the last guy smartly asked to take my power cord and then finally came back with the right solution. Basically, they do take good care of you!

The location right next to the biggest shopping center in Egypt is fantastic if you need anything, although not close to the major tourist sites. Security is high but that made me feel safer.

I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our Egypt tour. pre-booked through an on-line agent at £180 a night B&B. We were expecting luxury but were a bit disappointed.

we arrived at 11am and the hotel kindly let us check in early, staff were efficient and always polite but lacked the friendly and personal touch you would expect from a hotel of this standard. we booked a pool view room (which has a decent view) the other rooms overlook tower blocks and derelict land, not very pleasant. the room we had was very small in comparison the other places we stayed in Egypt. felt very cramped and compressed. if you lay on the floor you wouldn't be able to spread your arms. our bathroom never had a working extractor fan, so every shower later the bathroom was filled with steam.

all rooms did have free high speed internet which is rare in Egypt. wireless and wired options available. also our TV had built in internet explorer and you can request a free wireless keyboard from the concierge.

food options were great at the hotel, several restaurants the standard full on breakfast, but the huge advantage was the choice of food at the adjoining mall, for a fraction of hotel prices you could have Italian, Lebanese, Mexican, Chinese and all the other major international chains like pizza hut, mcdonalds etc. choice was amazing, over 6 floors of food options. you could eat here for £15 for 2 people. the range of shops in the mall is amazing too, expect all the big western brands.

we had tea and shisha at the pool bar one evening and the atmosphere was really nice. the staff were very attentive and friendly (made it for us) the informal setting (bean bags and low tables, dimmed lighting and surrounding pool, palm trees etc) made it really relaxing, if you don't do anything else at this hotel make sure you do this.

the hotel itself is close to the airport but miles away from downtown and even further from Giza. this is a huge downside, also if the taxi drivers found out you were staying at the citystars they took you to the cleaners. in the evenings there wasn't anything to do around the hotel, except the mall and hotel disco. which, lets face it is not really why you go to Cairo.

I would recommend staying down town along the Nile if possible. this hotel is mainly for business travellers. not suited to tourists. the hotel facilities seemed to be frequented by a lot of the high class locals. overall I think it's very overpriced for what you get. save your money, stay in a budget hotel, eat well and see Cairo fully, you won't get bored and only need the hotel to sleep in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commugny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

luxurious hotel.... but too far form downton cairo. a litlle bit noisy....takerooms over 9th floor or close to the swiming pool. the swiming poll should be open later than sunset... there is a hughe mall just in the same building. nice atmosphere....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

The swimming pool is amazing and so are the outdoor restaurants. Great for shopping as attached to a mall.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

So, this hotel is not in downtown Cairo, but closer to the airport - a help on the last day. The security is excellent. The building itself is impressive, and its part of a mega-mall which presents safe and clean shopping at your disposal. I found the food good, and the business centre excellent. A taxi into Cairo to see King Tut in the Museum, and on to the Pyramids, was easily arranged. Looking at downtown, I think it is preferable to stay here! I would recommend this hotel to Western travellers seeking an experience in Cairo that is reasonably close to what they would expect in the West.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcaubo, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Just wanted thank you for your nice comments and we hope to welcome you again in the furture.

Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine- Egypt- Emirates
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

That is very beautiful hotel , I liked really everything ! There is no mistake.... I am very spoiled usually and have seen so many hotels .. this one has everything just super! The location is very perfect for me because its in the same place with the bigest shopping mall in Cairo , which very famous as a meeting point for business and for fun. As for people who wants to see Cairo pyramids.. and so on , I do not think its good because its in the other part of the city , but from the other hand in the old part of the city there is nothing really good to stay in ..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcaubo, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Thank you for your nice comments.

I have to agree about the location however the sites in Cairo are very spread out like the Pyramids, Citadel, Khan el Khalili, Citystars mall, Feluca ride on the Nile they are all in different locations and can be easily reached from the InterContinental by ringroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
7.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
7.0 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 134 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
7.1 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#8 of 134 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Citystars Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Address: Omar Ibn El Khattab Street, Cairo 11737, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cairo
#5 Family Hotel in Cairo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Citystars Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Cairo Citystars is part of the Middle East s largest retail and entertainment complex, giving you direct access to 550 stores and an indoor theme park. The hotel is ideally located seven minutes from Cairo International Airport, 10 minutes from Cairo International Conference Centre and 30 minutes from downtown Cairo.Named Cairo s best business hotel by Business Traveller Magazine, it is also close to free time destinations such as the Egyptian Museum, Sakkara and the Giza Pyramids and Sphinx. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Citystars Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Citystars Cairo Hotel Cairo
Intercontinental Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Citystars Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.