We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Good amenities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Citystars Cairo to your Saves list
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Omar Ibn El Khattab Street, Cairo 11737, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 134 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Good amenities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were invited to a wedding on 6/6/2013 at one of the hotel's ballrooms. Me and my wife decided to check-in for one night. Here are the pros and cons we found

Pros

Hotel is adjacent to one of the biggest shopping centers in Cairo. Its literally connected to the mall, so you can walk from inside the hotel into the mall.

A good food variety in the breakfast buffet.

As guests we were offered free parking for our car.

Free speedy wifi in the hotel room.

Room TV has a great variety of channels to watch.

Tea & coffee maker is available.

Cons

Not all hotel staff are well-informed and updated. Two incidents support this:

1 ) After the wedding was over, I called the operator at 3 am in the morning from our room to ask when does breakfast time end in the hotel restaurant. He clearly stated "Breakfast ends at 11:30am." I said are you sure? And he said yes @ 11:30am. we arrived at 11:00 am for breakfast. The staff on the entrance said they're sorry as breakfast ends at 11:00 am. I told them about the phone call, and they let us in after some debating.

2) Before check-in at the hotel, I called up and asked about parking fees, and the person answering me said he would ask, he put me on hold and got back to me and said "It would cost you 50 LE sir" But at check-in they said it was for free, so it was no big deal.

Finally I would like to mention that they are generally friendly and can be flexible which is a great plus. For instance, we were first admitted to room with a street view. We asked for a better view, so they gave us a slightly bigger room with a Mall view. Pool view would be the best of course, but that did suffice as an upgrade for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Aly-Lee,

Thank for sharing your detailed experience at InterContinental Cairo Citystars on Tripadvisor.

We believe that we can only improve and ameliorate our services through guest feedback. Your feedback was very constructive and supporting to improve. I will personally address your comments with the team to ensure consistently correct information are available for our esteemed guests.

Thank you as well for sharing the pros.

Looking forward welcoming you back.


Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy

Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms

InterContinental Cairo Citystars

Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    202
    46
    22
    14
See reviews for
115
92
69
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location for short stopovers, beautiful immaculate hotel attached to mega shopping mall with wstern foid outlets such as mcdonalds, subway, tgi fridays etc. Service by staff was fantastic.. I will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear michealj42,

Thank you very much for this positive feedback about your stay with us at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.
Looking forward welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Five star hotel deserved what u pay for, not far from airport, cool neighborhood, amazing breakfast and variant choice, high class mall just right the corner, I had stayed in room at ninth floor with street view enjoy with peaceful place and high quality sleep. Multi function TV with welcoming note, news paper hanged on door when I waked up. In general nothing to say

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear hima2000,

Thank you for sharing your experience at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.
I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I frequently have business meetings in Egypt and travelling to Egypt I have standardised on the Intercontinental City Stars.
I give this hotel 5 Stars for its location, nearby / connecting City Stars Mall, ease of transport from and to the Hotel and of course the Hotel itself is truly a luxury hotel, the people treat you like royalty ... The rooms are spaceous, beds are comfortable & bathrooms are a state of the Art (especially the newly renovated rooms).
One recommendation - get the Intercontinental Ambassador Card and enjoy free room upgrades when you stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new Tower... especially the higher floor ones are much quieter and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear AlRewesh,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review on Tripadvisor. It is always our great pleasure to welcome our loyal guests who are in the InterContinental Ambassador status.
It is very rewarding to know that we have succeeded in making you feel home.
I am looking forward to welcome you back very soon on your next visit and appreciate if you could let me know on the below email when you plan for your next visit to InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had a meeting for three days at the hotel, very good rooms, no surprises when it comes to service, staff were accommodating, reception team looks busy but when it is your turn to deal with them they are nice and helpful, when it comes to Food it is below expectations at the open buffet, overall felt safe and secured in the hotel, nice recreation facilities, no doubts next stay at Cairo I would stay there again.

Room Tip: all rooms I believe are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear lane P,

Thank you for posting this review.
We really appreciate your effort to provide us with such detailed overview enabling us to improve and find more ways exceed our guests’ expectations.
In regards to your comment about the food open buffet, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations and your valuable comments was passed to the F&B Manger for corrective actions.

Looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I checked into the hotel the first day of the August unrest for a 5-day stay to attend my brother's wedding. The hotel staff was very warm, accommodating, and showed great crisis management.
The rooms were clean, food was pretty good, and the pool was a nice break from all the goings on, curfew and the closed mall. We had to extend one more day, and I would come back for future visits for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are a little bit smaller than those with the side street view. But in general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear yattiyah,

We thank you for taking the time and effort to post your comments and share the experiences you had while staying with us.
Thank you for your nice comments, we have shared it with the team and it was very inspirational.

Looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed there for just one night, so it is not a thorough review.
Due to the curfew the adjacent shopping mall is closed from 5 pm, so you have to stay at the hotel for entertainment.
the pool is ok, from 7 am till
the room and the bathroom are nice and clean. The bed very fluffy.
There was just one incident of the safety box malfunction, but they were quick in fixing it.
The breakfast was ok, though the pastries were not very fresh (a day old), but it is understandable as the curfew ends at 6 am and the breakfast starts at 5 am, I guess they have to get it the day before.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear noushaa,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Cairo Citysatrs for your stay.
I would like to take this opportunity to apologies for the inconvenience occurred during your stay in regards to the safe box malfunction and the pastries that were not fresh during the breakfast. Rest assured that corrective measurements took place to avoid reoccurrences.
Once again thank for your kind words and looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Citystars Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Address: Omar Ibn El Khattab Street, Cairo 11737, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Citystars Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Cairo Citystars is part of the Middle East s largest retail and entertainment complex, giving you direct access to 550 stores and an indoor theme park. The hotel is ideally located seven minutes from Cairo International Airport, 10 minutes from Cairo International Conference Centre and 30 minutes from downtown Cairo.Named Cairo s best business hotel by Business Traveller Magazine, it is also close to free time destinations such as the Egyptian Museum, Sakkara and the Giza Pyramids and Sphinx. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your InterContinental Citystars Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Citystars Cairo Hotel Cairo
Intercontinental Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Citystars Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.