We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience During not so Great Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Citystars Cairo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Omar Ibn El Khattab Street, Cairo 11737, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #11 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Giza
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience During not so Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I checked into the hotel the first day of the August unrest for a 5-day stay to attend my brother's wedding. The hotel staff was very warm, accommodating, and showed great crisis management.
The rooms were clean, food was pretty good, and the pool was a nice break from all the goings on, curfew and the closed mall. We had to extend one more day, and I would come back for future visits for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are a little bit smaller than those with the side street view. But in general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear yattiyah,

We thank you for taking the time and effort to post your comments and share the experiences you had while staying with us.
Thank you for your nice comments, we have shared it with the team and it was very inspirational.

Looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    153
    43
    21
    10
See reviews for
93
73
61
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Albania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed there for just one night, so it is not a thorough review.
Due to the curfew the adjacent shopping mall is closed from 5 pm, so you have to stay at the hotel for entertainment.
the pool is ok, from 7 am till
the room and the bathroom are nice and clean. The bed very fluffy.
There was just one incident of the safety box malfunction, but they were quick in fixing it.
The breakfast was ok, though the pastries were not very fresh (a day old), but it is understandable as the curfew ends at 6 am and the breakfast starts at 5 am, I guess they have to get it the day before.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear noushaa,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Cairo Citysatrs for your stay.
I would like to take this opportunity to apologies for the inconvenience occurred during your stay in regards to the safe box malfunction and the pastries that were not fresh during the breakfast. Rest assured that corrective measurements took place to avoid reoccurrences.
Once again thank for your kind words and looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Have been there for a business trip with my husband. Stayed for two nghts,was nice. The hotel is big,impressive but to find beauty services had to walk much... Though was very convenient for our purposes. The breakfast has a lot of nice things. But which s strange they asked us to sign the bill for breakfast even it was included. Felt like they thought we came from out and are giving the fake info( The room was nice,clean and cosy.So in general is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Antonina A,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Cairo Citystars for your business trip.
I am delighted to read that you find our hotel convenient to your purpose. In regards to your comments in regards to the cheque presented, please note that this is on normal procedure for control measures and the amount of breakfast is not appearing on your final room bill.
Once again, Thank you and looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is extremely well looked after and in very good condition. The hotel has top facilities and top restaurants. The hotel is also interconnected to the Mall. The rooms are modern, clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Alshameri_Taiz,

Thank you for your time and effort to share your experience at InterContinental Cairo Citystars on Tripadvisor.

Iam looking forward to welcome you back very soon on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from august 8- august 12, 2013.

PROS:

-Starting at the front desk it was a fast check in for our three rooms, for the price we paid we received a street view for all rooms. 5/5 for concierge and security
-House keeping is excellent and cleans the room within a short time range, also added free water and fruits everyday. 5/5 for Housekeeping.
-Excellent restaurants available at the hotel even though there is only a few, city stars is always convenient for any meal you are craving.

CONS:

-One of the rooms AC was not working and was giving out hot air the staff should of checked the rooms before checking us in.
-TV, and internet was shutting down at certain times.
- THE POOL staff does not meet the standards at all. Only one waiter is seen around the pool the rest are hanging out at the pool bar far away from the sun. Another issue with the pool it's extremely crowded with Libyan young men drinking their days away. Libyan men seen to be roaming around the Staff area and after making a complain security told me they have been at the hotel for 2 months, absolutely no rules are given out to them and they are free to do what they like. 1/5 for Staff pool and security.

I hope the hotel improves on sticking to their rules.
My stay was an Average stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Ali S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Your nice comments were shared with the concerned teams.
In regards to the TV and Internet issues, I would like t apologize for the inconvenience occurred. There was a general problem in the whole complex and our Technology team solved it. In regards to the Pool issue, again I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please note that we always strive to make sure that all our guests are enjoying their stay and that all security measures should be followed to ensure the safety, security and peace of all our guests. Please note that your comments were forwarded to our security and food and beverage team for in depth investigation to make sure that we avoid re occurrence.
Again, I hope that the comments in question won’t refrain your goodself from using InterContinental Cairo Citystars as your lodging in Cairo.

Appreciate if you can inform me personally on my below listed email before any future reservations so that I can make sure that I welcome you in person and ensure that you have a wonderful stay with us

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egypt alex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

First i want to say i am regular guest at the hotel since the opening of it recently i was there i tried the new rooms at the same level of the club floor it is really luxuries everything you think about just there the only thing is too much buttons that confusing but the room is lovely and the lounge is very nice the service as good as u can imagine actually is better than many hotels at the same category in Europe or the far east

Room Tip: i think club rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Bishay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. We sincerely thank you for your continuous loyalty and your very kind comments in regards to our service and rooms as well. We would also like to thank you for posting these very nice pictures of our signature rooms. We will be awaiting welcoming you back again at your second home, InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweimeh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is up to standard and some more, it is the kind of hotel that goes out of it way and does the small little details that makes the whole difference!
The location is convenient being inside one of Cairo's biggest malls, so you are surrounded with everything and anything you may need.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
The pool is adequate, the breakfast buffet is amazing.
It was a great experience and I would always stay there once I'm in Cairo again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed A, Manager at InterContinental Citystars Cairo, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Jumana B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is always nice to start the day reading such a great comment.

I am so happy to hear that you had a great experience at InterContinental Cairo Citystars and I would like to express how much it is rewarding for the whole team to know that you will be always staying with us.

Again thank you for your review and looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Ahmed Azmy
Executive Assistant Manger in charge of rooms
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Ahmed.azmy@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Citystars Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Citystars Cairo

Address: Omar Ibn El Khattab Street, Cairo 11737, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#11 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Citystars Cairo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Cairo Citystars is part of the Middle East s largest retail and entertainment complex, giving you direct access to 550 stores and an indoor theme park. The hotel is ideally located seven minutes from Cairo International Airport, 10 minutes from Cairo International Conference Centre and 30 minutes from downtown Cairo.Named Cairo s best business hotel by Business Traveller Magazine, it is also close to free time destinations such as the Egyptian Museum, Sakkara and the Giza Pyramids and Sphinx. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Citystars Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Citystars Cairo Hotel Cairo
Intercontinental Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Citystars Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.