We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dahshur

Dahshur
Cairo, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 145 Attractions in Cairo
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
new zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“The Only Visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Even with the state of the tourism industry in Egypt in dire straights we were surprised to find that we were the only visitors. Our tour guide (Mina -e-mail mina.wasfy@yahoo.com) was great. We went the 70m into the Red pyramid and the chamber was awesome. $10 to enter the are (Red and Bent pyramids) but no charge for entering the pyramid unlike Giza). No touts, no crowds - wonderful

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    70
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka, Croatia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peace place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Realy, realy quiet place for meditation, nobody disturb us, harmony and peace with great wiew. I feel excellant there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just as great as Giza... only hassle free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Dahshur pryamid is just as great as the ones in Giza. The key difference, is that it is less crowded and you are generally left hassle-free.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Much more relevant than Giza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Take your time - and be sure to have sore legs the day after you walked down (and up) the "Red Pyramid". The Bent Pyramid is something you need to see - to understand, maybe, what it was all about, 5000 years ago...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“The Red Pyramid, is better than those at Giza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I know it sounds odd, but it is true.
When we went they was no one there untill we were leaving.
The cost is only 30E£ each. The Pyramid is the 3rd biggest, and is the oldest of all the real Pyramids in Egypt.
The anti-chambers inside are even better than the Great Pyramid and it is only the cost of a tip to the man at the entrance to be able to take photos.
A must see

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dahshur also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Dahshur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dahshur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.