We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coptic Cairo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Ezra Synagogue

Ben Ezra Synagogue
Coptic Cairo, Cairo, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 270 things to do in Cairo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest existing synagogue in Cairo was originally a church in the 8th century.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Coptic Cairo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

An interesting synagogue in Coptic Cairo. It was located near several other sites and made for a pleasant morning.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice place but not so wonderful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

A historic place in Cairo where u can see the basket symbol of which Moses where found during his childhood where his mother puts him.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multan, Pakistan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Historical Place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I visited the Synagogue on 25 March, 2012 with my wife, just after our visit to Santa Barbara Church, located nearby. It was our last day of 2 weeks' tour and I came to Coptic Area for the third time just to see this Synagogue. On our 2 previous visits we could not locate this Ma'abad of Jews because it is not situated in the main Mar Girgis Street, Instead it is located in another street which creeps down from the main street near Police Station, after the boundary of Greek Orthodox Church of Saint George. It is a peaceful place of worship. The main feature of the Synagogue is the well located behind the main building of the Synagogue. Reportedly the basket carrying Prophet Moses was found here by the daughter of Pharaoh while she was taking bath at the Nile river which flowed at the site at that time. One feels elated to ride the horse of history and reach the banks of Nile to see young Moses in the lap of Pharaoh's daughter.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
219 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
504 helpful votes 504 helpful votes
“Come for the story not the building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Not a particularly special building to look at and mostly a recent reconstruction but if you have a good guide or guidebook giving you the story of the sad struggles of the Jews in Egypt and the more recent reconciliation with modern Egypt then standing outside is a good place to hear or read it. It’s just a little further round the corner from the Church of St Sergius so go the extra few meters through the ancient alleyways to tick it off. No pictures inside and no entrance fee. Security here as in the rest of the area is good.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The memory of jewish presence in Cairo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I was very happy to see the synagogue Ben Ezra.
It was old church turned into a synagogue in old time.
It is beautiful inside but no photos allowed.
I bought some souvenirs there.
The history of egyptians jews is so sad!!!!!!!! To come here is to praying for all of them.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Ezra Synagogue also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Ben Ezra Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Ezra Synagogue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.