We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added King Hotel to your Saves list
King Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Abdel Rehim Sabri Street | Dokki, Cairo 002, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

It was the only mid range hotel in Cairo. We are 30 years old and avid travelers at the point where hostels are cool but don't offer enough convenience. We looked at some hotels in the city center area and couldn't find anything in our short budget until we found the King. We could afford the extra $25 per day, at the time we paid $50 per night. We had a 3rd floor room with a king bed, two balconies and a great view overlooking the private street and the newspaper lot and had a great horizon view. The staff was friendly and catering, no bad energy and overall a great experience. What I cannot stress enough is the reservations. Egypt is one country that does NOT cater to walk ins. Anyone going to Egypt should realize that they need to book everything in advance, or learn the hard way.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    48
    13
    15
See reviews for
6
44
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed at the King hotel from 4th of July for 4 nights, this hotel is not to bad. Only major issue we had was broken aircon which in July would be needed, asked for it to be fized but not one turned up. Location of this hotel is good and within walking distance of cairo tower, egyptian museum etc. Breakfast was also not bad, enjoed the mash potato not something I have ever tried for breakfast before, and free wifi was also good but only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

I stayed at the King hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of an Egypt tour. My room was a mess. Dirty carpet, broken TV, toilet that didn't flush, no hot water, wheezing a/c, and not what I expected. I made several calls to reception--the guy at the desk was fabulous, send workers up and fixed the things that were fixable, but the carpet remained a problem. I finally gave up trying to change rooms, assuming all would be about the same. When the rest of the tour group arrived and I visited their rooms, I was shocked--rooms with no carpet, good a/c, light and airy feel. If you find yourself at the King in a grubby room, insist that they move you. There are better rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

we stayed here for 6 nights our room was clean, the staff were friendly good service, i would highly reccomend the rooftop bar, we ate there a few nights staff friendly food was good, breakfast ok not much choice, the area is good within walking distance of the museum, supermarket just 5 mins down the road opposite hsbc bank good place to stock up, a few places to eat around there kfc as well, we enjoyed our stay in cairo, and we would use the king king hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Situated rather comfortably, walking into town is easy (and quit a romantic stroll) if you prefer it to taxi or metro. A few little shops nearby, an old fashioned telephone boot and a great take-away around the corner. For the souverir hunters: a souvenir shop recently opened its doors just across the street.

Hotel itself is a bit grubby, allthough the beds were clean. There was a shower, but it needed mending. The fridge was warm. We couldn't use the airco as one of the beds was places exactly in front of it. The latter was not a problem though. Best bit: don't forget to check out the roof garden. Very nice place to sit on a warm evening!
Breakfast buffet was really fine.

For the more sensitive visitor: the hotel is next to the Syrian Ambassy. This means that there are at least two armed personell in front of it day and night. Our kids thought it was rather scary (allthough the men in question were actually rather friendly).

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed here to start off our Egypt journey with a Geckos tour. The hotel definately is for low budget travelling. The beds are small and are uncomfortable foam pads. It's slightly dirty but cleaner then I had expected. The rooftop restaurant offers a decent view (if you can see past the plastic covering most of the view) It's a good place to have a beer at the end of a day. However their menus were so old and disgusting, I didn't want to touch them. If you booked a tour and this is the place you are staying, it's decent enough. But just remember you only have to stay here for a couple nights. ( I wouldn't recommened an extended stay here)

If you are looking for a good, quick place to eat I would recommened heading to the main street and going to Taza and picking up some amazing shwarmas.
Directions: from hotel, walk straight up to the main street, then turn left. Just keep walking a little ways until you see the little yellow restaurant (Taza) everytime I went there it was super busy. Don't miss out on this wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Our first time in Cairo and we were some what nervous, the driver was waiting for us like they said they would! Rooms are by no means modern but our room was spotless with clean sheets. The bathroom like all things in Egypt is dated but clean. Water is hot, the rooms where quiet enough, at least no noise from the inside, we were on the 6th floor (quiet is not something that comes readily anywhere in Cairo!!) Breakfast was pretty good and did the job well enough. Food could be ordered either in the lobby or on the roof top terrace, I think 2 different restaurants? anyway we enjoyed the hotel as well as the staff, good value for your money

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: 20 Abdel Rehim Sabri Street | Dokki, Cairo 002, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Hotel provides you with comfort, convenience and value for money combined with an ideal location, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The unique and cozy 3-star hotel not only offers you a central location in Cairo, it also provides you with friendly and professional service. Make use of our free shuttle service and reach the hotel quickly without any hassle, and begin your holiday here in a pleasant and relaxed manner. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with oriental and continental food or visit Delis for a quick, healthy snack. Take a seat in our roof top bar and lounge, where you can enjoy the splendid city view of Cairo while relaxing with chill-out music and sampling an assortment of local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.