We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAIRO TOWER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairo Tower

Cairo Tower
El-Gezira, Cairo, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 145 Attractions in Cairo
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At a height of 600 feet, this tower offers magnificent views of the entire city and monuments from its revolving rooftop restaurant and bar.
Cairo
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“CAIRO TOWER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Cairo Tower is a free-standing concrete tower located in Cairo, Egypt. At 187 m (614 ft), it has been the tallest structure in Egypt and North Africa for 50 years. It was the tallest structure in Africa for 10 years, until 1971 when it was surpassed by Hillbrow Tower in South Africa.
it stands in the Zamalek district on Gezira Island in the River Nile, close to Downtown Cairo.

There's a plenty of restaurants up there with an amazing view but you pay for the view not the food!!!

20 pounds for Egyptian - 70 pounds for non Egyptian

Directions: 5 min driving from Tahrir Square , taxi will cost not more than 5 pounds

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    71
    37
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but takes a long time to get up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I visited this tower in the evening. The night view of Cairo is wonderful. It however takes quite some time to get up when there are long queues.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I love the view there, although fog prevented part of it but it is ok.

I just wonder why they have only one elevator!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice view, especially at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My family and I visited the Cairo Tower and had dinner at the revolving restaurant at night.
The breeze was refreshing and the 360 view was stunning.
I loved the tasty food, the fresh bread, and the salad vegetables that were bursting with flavor.
We had our names done in hieroglyphics, while we ate, which we later had framed and hung in our living room.
I don't remember how much we paid, but I remember that it was very reasonable.
Definitely make this tower part of your visit to Cairo.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breath-taking panoramic views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

from the tower one really gets a good feel for the lay-out of the city and see the beauty also.

There is also a cafe at the top of the tower and attentive wait staff dressed like the pharaoh to promptly get your order!

It was also amazing how quickly the elevator got to the top! On a clear day one can also see the pyramids....if you are lucky enough to have a clear day!

Enjoy!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairo Tower also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Cairo Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairo Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.