We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian food in Cairo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maharaja Indian Restaurant

Maharaja Indian Restaurant
Al Rehab | Sook Tijary, Cairo, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 3,909 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Cairo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've eaten many times at the Maharaja in Rehab City and the food was always very good. I usually eat the chicken or vegetarian dishes which are not overly spicy. The Pashmina rice with the nuts is amazing. I also enjoy the coconut ice cream with the carrot raisin topping. As already mentioned the restaurant is small and the location right in the middle of the souk. The staff is attentive and professional. After trying other more expensive Indian restaurants in Cairo, I must say that Maharaja's food is the tastiest. I've often gotten sick after eating out in Cairo, but never from their food. I recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois USA & Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great Indian cuisine. All the dishes we got were great! We especially enjoyed the fish in yellow sauce, chicken tandoori, and the coconut ice cream. You really have to finish off your meal with coconut ice cream. When we went, they did not take credit cards, but the owner said it will come in a few days. So maybe they will take credit cards now. This is my only wish that they will take it, as foreigners and upper class Egyptians prefer to pay in credit cards and not carry so much cash.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Maadi restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

They opened a new branch in Maadi. We found the restaurant very satisfactory. The service was very good and we were greeted by the lovely restaurant manager explaining to us the best dishes.
The food was very good. The grilled paneer, daal, and biriyani was excellent, but we had another chicken dish (maybe masala), which was ok.
I loved the desert which was coconut ice cream.
The restaurant decor is a bit shabby, but clean, so all in all quite good.
I would definately go again. The prices are also moderate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, superb service in a tiny restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is not easy to find good service in Egypt outside the big hotels, yet the Maharaja restaurant in the sooq (market) of Rehab City, huge enclosure in New Cairo, is one place where you do. Maybe it is because the owners and personnel originate from Syria (not the cook, he is truly Indian, I saw him) and Syrians are renowned for their F&B management skills.
In any case the food choice is great and available for all tastes, even those who cannot eat hot and spicy food. The choice of ingredients is of high quality and well presented. The menu is also in English and suitable for anyone not expert in Indian food.
The restaurant itself is very small, not more than 40 seats or so and the atmosphere not to the standard of the food. This is understandable as they are mostly concentrated on home delivery service which is mostly the case in Egypt.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Maharaja Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharaja Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.