We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best grilled meat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abou Shakra

Abou Shakra
69 Kasr El Ainy St., Cairo, Egypt
02 253 16 111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 3,908 Restaurants in Cairo
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Giza, Egypt
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“best grilled meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Abou Shakra is the best , oldest and valuable restaurant offering grilled meat with excellant salads and appitizers . i tried it many times in Cairo (kasr alainy street and el maadi ) . the only disadvantage in my openion that no outdoor seating and always crowded .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good clean grilled meat & Kabab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very good quality of food in type & preparation.Well done & cooked ideally.Not more not less.It had different branches in Cairo in addition to other cities in Egypt.It is very old & expert in its type of ffod because of very long experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oriental Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Abou Shakra offers Egyptian oriental dishes of Kabab an Kofta the best grilled meet you can test and you can find variate of food Side Dishes,Salads,Appetizers i love the Cheese Sambousek Kobeba with Pine and i recomend Lamb Kebab and kofta amazing test

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Kofta I ever tasted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What can you say here
Unique recipes, tender meat, helpful polite stuff, super clean toilets.
Food is excellent.
Service is excellent.
Taste is genuine and unique.
Atmosphere is good but not perfect.
Prices are relatively expenses, though it worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best kebab one can ever eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This place in Kasr eleini street has always been the best place for kebab ever I remember its great taste when I used to go there with my parents in the seventies.

Today it is still the same great place and also available in Maadi al nasr street where you have more space and larger sitting areas.

Don't miss the salads and the "roz belkhalta" the hamam soup is also tasty and they introduced shrimps in the menu.

The grilled chicken is also one of the best as well as the "hamam mahshi"

Absolutely no comment , always a great place, just note that in Kasr eleini street parking is not easy (almost impossible) in Maadi, parking is easier.

I would like also to recommend the hawawshi for takeaway or home delivery, it's much tastier and less Fatty than the popular hawawshi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abou Shakra also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Abou Shakra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abou Shakra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.