We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zooba

Zooba
26th of July St, Zamalek | Intersection of 26th of July and Shagaret El Dor, Cairo 11411, Egypt
+20 2 33453980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 3,901 Restaurants in Cairo
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Eclectic, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Here at Zooba, we turn familiar Egyptian street food on its head (and dress it up a little, too). We use only the freshest local produce to create simple, flavorful, gourmet dishes.We don't just use locally-sourced products in our food; we also reclaim local materials and found objects to create an eclectic dining space that pays homage to the creative resourcefulness and colorful spirit of the Egyptian people.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Clean, modern, traditional, friendly, uncomplicated, generous portions. A way to see a progressive Egypt in Action. I wish then much success.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elegant and exotic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I can't get enough of it, once you try it u'll get addicted, it has a different decorating style than any fancy restaurant that u'll go to, and what i love the most about this place is that it sells high quality egyptian food introduced elegantly with a simple colorful presentation, every thing you will try will mark in your memory, a must try the " sogoaa and kebda" sandwiches, the fresh juices and the old cheese in their fridges with the dry coloured bread, ugh i am simply in love with it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cant get enough of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

this my third time and I am sure I will go back there again excellent food all the egyptian style juices and delightes that you usually cant fin but in streets but this time you are sure it is tasty and clean. I take my kids there whenever I can for breakfast , brunch or dinner. The bread is baked in the shop and it is highly recommended to take home. They have it even colored by herbs it is amazing. you can enjoy foul falafel , eggs, sweet potato, koshary wide variety

the inside of the shop imitate any locao shop in the very local area and you can sit inside or outside and enjoy the street of the Zamalek region.

this is another reason that I loved the place teh neibourghood it is good shopping place :)

a place you shouldnt miss if your hotel is nearby

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Like Eating under Hammersmith Flyover!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Whilst the food and drinks (soft drinks only) are varied, tasty and cheap the venue itself is awful.

We had to eat outside next to the kerb where you get full value for the noise and fumes of passing traffic – as well as being exposed to passing beggars. The main road on which the restaurant is located had an elevated highway running over it so it is, literally, like eating under Hammersmith Flyover!

Inside there is only a small communal table and with the constant traffic of staff and customers did not appear to be much better as a place to sit and eat.

I think that you would do better going for a take-away and eating it in your hotel (or almost anywhere else for that matter)!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was right next to my hotel in Zamalek, and was the best place I went the whole time! The food is modern Egyptian, with classics like ta'amia (falafel) spiced up with coriander, jars of fresh orange-zest cheese, hot lentil soup, and colorful bread. Everything was hearty and delicious. The packaging of the prepared products - salads to go, juices - was adorable, as was the "rustic chic" decor. Very reasonably priced - 8LE for the soup, 11LE for a cheese sandwich, 12LE for the juice. They also understand "gluten intolerance" very well.
Outdoor seating only in the evenings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zooba also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Zooba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zooba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.