We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, friendly, good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
9 Al Aziz Osman | Zamelek, Cairo 11511, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient, friendly, good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My friend and I shared a double room for four nights - 170 euros total. Awesome! Nothing to write home about though. The staff were friendly and always recognized us, and our beds were made and towels were replaced every day (it's winter and they weren't drying on their own). Like most of Cairo, there is no heating in winter, but we did have an AC unit in the room. The breakfast is complimentary, but only bread, eggs, and tea (would have liked some fruit, but we bought some on the street). Shower was very small and took a while to get hot. There wasn't a safe in the room. Really though, very good value: the room was quiet and dark and I slept well.

Room Tip: Room 108 was so quiet!!! All the 100s are on the side street; the rest are facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
19
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at Mayfair Hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of our 2 week trip through Egypt.
The hotel is idealy located in the island of Zamalek close to the bridge 15th May. Tahir square and the Egyptian Museam are within walkng distance. Along 26th July Street and north you do have a verry god choise of restaurants and shops.

The hotel is located in the first floor of the bulding.

Our room has had a fair size and WC and shower was working. Room was cleaned (swept) and beds were made on a daily basis. Hover you could see that for example a wet sweep of doors, etc was not done in the near past.

Breakfast, which was not good at all and verry spartanic, was consisting of sweet egyptian bread, an egg, one sort of jam and some cookies. As we are loving to have a good breakfast, this was a bit frustrating for us. Better breakfast can be taken at the main road.

Breakfast is served (actually it is akind of a mini buffet and you have to serve yurself) on the balcony (no inside breakfast room). As this balcony is showing to the west there is no sun on the balcony during breakfast time. This was ok for us during October and can be welcome during summer, on the other hand it may be too chilly during December to February.

The Hotel arranged a day trip to the Pyramids for us, which in the end was totally overpriced (EGP 240) and the driver did want to sell to us the use of a horse carriedge and other services
at Gizeh. When he realized that wer are not going to take these services he just dropped us at the side entrance to the Pyramids and told us the when can meet him at a specific coffee house when we do want to return. A simple tax to/from the Pyramids woud have saved us at least 50%.

Summary for us, we better would have spend a little more in a better hotel to meet our requirements.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The May Fair is a solid, though not great, option on Zamelek. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was nice. Our main qualm was that they recommended a driver for us (Hosni) who was very bad. We paid him for the whole day, but he showed up an hour late to pick us and up and then not at all to take us to the train station.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, MA United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A perfect location. Feeling is more of a hostel. We enjoyed our stay with family, It was very easy to get to eating places and since the area has consulates it is very suited for international tourists.

Place feels very safe, specially if you are traveling with family. It is located on a very quite street.
We liked this more after we did a tour of the city and Gaza.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Mayfair Hotel in the Zamalek district of Cairo, Egypt has been one of those rare flawless experiences. The staff is friendly and helpful, the showers are always hot and the bed is comfy. What more could you ask for? Be warned that this is not a party hotel so it is very peaceful and quiet.

I recommend the Mayfair Hotel very highly. I hope you come here and enjoy your stay as much as I did mine.

Room Tip: Since the street in front of the hotel has very little traffic day or night any of the rooms are goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Located in the leafy and quiet expat/elite district of Zamalek, this is an excellent base from which to explore Cairo. Our friend (a Cairo native) had recommended we stay here at the end of a long holiday through Jordan and Upper Egypt, and we were not disappointed during our two-night stay. The staff were helpful in arranging trips to the pyramids and other tourist spots, and when we returned one afternoon to find our room semi-flooded from a leaky A/C unit, we were upgraded to a better non-leaky room.

There were no safes in the rooms, but we had no security problems (but then again, we have a habit bourne of years of traveling in hostels, of securing our belongings with our own locks). After we cleared out of the room, we still had some time for lunch before heading to the airport. Reception held our bags as we popped down the street to Cairo Kitchen a cute and delicious (and apparently very trendy) new restaurant. Upon our return, reception staff stopped me and asked me if I'd left anything in the room by mistake. Turns out I'd forgotten my Kindle in the bed-- luckily, they'd immediately cleaned the room and reunited me with my Kindle before we left for the airport.

Overall a lovely experience at the Mayfair and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at the Mayfair twice on recent trip to Egypt, the first was the first night we landed in Cairo and the second time at the end of our month stay on our way back to the airport. The hotel is in a great location just of the main road of Zamelek and is up a flight of stairs easy to do with your bags.

The hotel staff were nice and would offer advice and assistance when requested, I did not find them rude or pushy with taking their driver your finding your own way. I recommend taking a few business cards for the reception area as they are good for giving to taxi drivers to get you back to your hotel. The reception area has a safe that we used, the make you count any money with them and than they seal the bag I thought this was a great idea as you both know how much money you expect to be getting back when they hand it over.

The rooms are nice the beds are not to bad to sleep in and the rooms we stayed in had bathrooms, not big bathrooms but they are the size you need.

If your looking for a good value place to stay close to it all than I recommend the Mayfair Hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend a 2 bedroom or bigger room. There is no WIFI in the rooms as your get further to the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: 9 Al Aziz Osman | Zamelek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.