We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for a reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indira Indian Restaurant

Indira Indian Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairo Citystars | Ali Rashed Street, Cairo 11757, Egypt
+20-24803007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 3,921 restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“Review for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I eat in Indira whilst staying at the Holiday Inn in Cairo.
Although alone the staff made me feel very welcome and the food was to good to leave so spent 3 hours there drinking a local Red wine as recommended by the Boss.
This too was excellent after a long day in the city of road rage.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Indira Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your delightful experience in "Indira" restaurant as it is always through our guests' feedback that we can measure our performance and improve the shortfalls if any.

We are glad that you had a good experience and were satisfied with our food and staff.

As for our staff, we’ve made a commitment to create a culture based on placing our guests in the heart of everything we do.

Your delightful comments have been shared with all concerned staff in "Indira" as a reinforcement to them to keep their consistency of food and service and to make it the best Indian restaurant in town.

Looking forward for your second vist to Indira restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    92
    14
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tries too hard to please.....does it successfully....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in the same hotel and thought of trying this restaurant after reading hotel website that its the best restaurant in Cairo. The restaurant really tried to please me with its complimentary stuff and whatever they offered complimentary was really great!! however if they had just got what I ordered I would have been very dissatisfied client.
I ordered a Dal Makhani which is simplest north indian delicacy however I guess chef got confused which "pulses" to be used to make that or may be he just exhausted his stock of urad dal. However I was pleased to get chicken curry as complimentary dish which I really liked.
After the main course I was served with strawberry with cream which was again complimentary. :)....
Overall a good experience but not satisfied with what I ordered....so it will all depend on what you order and if you are the lucky one to get most of the stuff complimentary :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Perfect !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The first time I went to Indira I was amazed by the Chicken Biryani, it was simply delicious :-) I initially thought the bowl was small but in the end I was full ! And I have a very good appetite.

The second time I chose the Lamb Biryani and it was even better !
Meat was like butter and the rice is unique. They also serve you refined sauce with your rice.

Service is great, atmosphere very nice.

You are happy to go to this restaurant, and you are happy when you leave :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Indira Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about "Indira" restaurant on TripAdvisor. It’s only through our guests' feedback that we can enhance our services and performance.

We’re glad that you had a good experience and were satisfied with both our Chicken & Lamb Biryani.

Your delightful comments have been shared with all concerned staff in "Indira" as a reinforcement to them to keep their consistency of food and service and to make it the best Indian restaurant in town.

It is our pleasure to welcoming you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A taste of India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I ate twice in this restaurant and each time the food was delicious. All the staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Indira Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Nuala,

Thank you for sharing your nice comment about "Indira" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive positive comments as such from our honored guests.

"Indira" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are very glad we were able to achieve our target this time.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon to "Indira" at Holiday Inn Cairo Citystars.

Thanks,
Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amaizing !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Indira u still have the good spirit of India " food, atmosphere, passion"
u make me more in love with indian food more and more !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Indira Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ni Made K,

Thank you for your delightful feedback about "Indira" and for sharing this on TripAdvisor.

"Indira" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are very glad we were able to achieve our target this time.

Your valuable comment has been shared with all concerned in "Indira" to inspire them to do more and more to make it a leader in excellence among all other Indian restaurants in Cairo.

Looking forward to welcoming you again again to "Indira" at Holiday Inn Cairo Citystars.

Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indira Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Indira Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indira Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.