We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Roma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Roma
169 Muhammad Farid, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You really can't beat the price and location. And it's got a lot more character than your typical budget options. I had a balcony room and thought the traffic noise would bother me, but it wasn't that bad (I have a white noise app on my phone that helped). I agree that the breakfast isn't worth it. I also did see (and kill) a cockroach in the shared bathroom. Not a huge deal, but I could have done without that experience. It would make me want to avoid any eating there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
7
38
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I agree with most of the other reviews written about this hotel. Our room had a huge balcony overlooking the main road which made it noisy for sleeping - but the view was well worth it. We spent quite a bit of time sitting out there and watching the crazy traffic and street life from a distance. The breakfast is terrible - almost not even worth going for. The reception staff are extremely helpful and they will point you in the right direction for good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Go to one of the most dynamic cities in the world and if you do stay at Pension Roma. I stayed for 3 nights with my girlfriend from December 21st. The hotel is perfectly situated close to most sites including Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum (yes we went there when it was 'really dangerous' according to the world's media, and NO problems). But enough about that... The hotel is clean and staff very helpful and incredible value, about £26 a night for 2 people! Fine breakfast is basic but who cares, its £26 a night! The staff are very helpful and if you fancy a laugh go for a day trip with Syeed (maybe Syee) the taxi driver. He will take you to the Pyramids and introduce you to his 'friends' who have camels. Don’t let them charge you any more than 150 Egyptian though each for the tour....
In summary, go to Cairo, stay at the Pension Roma, you will love it and remember the experience always!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As a frequent traveler for both work and holiday, I can happily say that Pension Roma is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. Walking through the old metal gates of the elevator and down the narrow hall to the reception makes you feel as though you are walking back in time to the 1930s. This is not the most modern place, nor does it provide all the amenities. However, this is more than made up for by the fact that it provides its guests with traditional service in a setting that is both refined and calm. The price of rooms is also a fraction of what I would pay considering the quality of the service, decor and fit out. I recommend Pension Roma to anyone who has a sense of nostalgia or romanticism for the "old world".

Room Tip: Prices range depending on whether you chose A/C or whether you wish to have an individual bathroom o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a great find in the centre of Cairo, in walking distance from many of the main sites but far enough away from any of the trouble caused by the current political problems.
The building is beautiful and charming, right from the fantastic elevator to the huge rooms, cute communal areas and helpful staff, it is one of my favourite budget places I have stayed. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and considering the location the noise levels were not as bad as I feared!
There are a few downsides- the bed and pillows are not the softest (which I quite liked!) and the mosquitos are a nuisance and the breakfast is a little repetitive after the 8 days we stayed!
To be fair, this place would probably only warrant very good but I chose a 5 because I honestly don't believe you can find a better place for the incredible price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed twice at this place in first week of November, 2 nights in each stay.
I chose this place because of it’s location and hig ratings it get’s on TA and other guide books.
Here is my impression about this place:

Good points:
1. great location, walking distance to Attaba metro, many restaurants and you can also walk to Islamic Cairo and Tahreer square
2. They don’t sell any tours, so no pressure in this regard
3. Nice dining area and TV lounge
4. Rickety but working lift
5. Free wifi
6. Good advice from front desk regarding places to visit, but you have to ask for it
7. Can be booked through email without any credit card confirmation

Not so good points:
1. No pick up service from the airport, so you are on your own to deal with the taxi touts at the airport, what a culture shock after a long flight…No matter how you prepare yourself, it is still a great shock (till the new Airport Metro open in near future)
2. Room need urgent renovation, it is way overdue, things are falling apart, plug points are hanging out, can get short circuit any time
3. Cleanliness in the room is not good enough, lot of dust at the corners, in the wardrobes and chest of drawers
4. Water pressure is low, I think it may be due too old plumbing
5. Sometimes hot water is not available early in the morning

If the owner makes some investment in the room, change the furniture, buy some towels and do a paint job, it would be a great place to stay. Also, adding a boiled egg would make the breakfast more tolerable.

Will I stay here again? Maybe, only if I am short on budget…

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days during easter 2012, and it was wonderful. Very charming, great location, very cheap, and surpisingly quiet. The only thing that was bad, was the breakfast, some tasteless buns, and terrible coffee. We always went out for breakfast.
The staff were extremely friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Roma

Address: 169 Muhammad Farid, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Pension Roma Hotel Cairo
Pension Roma Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pension Roma to your Saves list