We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Egyptian Antiquities Museum

Egyptian Antiquities Museum
Midan El Tahrir, Cairo 11557, Egypt
+202 5782448
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$78*
and up
Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian...
Ranked #9 of 145 Attractions in Cairo
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous museum houses the world’s largest collection of ancient Egyption artifacts (more than 120,000 items on display) featuring the famous Tutankhamun collection with its beautiful gold death mask and sarcophagus and the royal Mummy room, which houses an additional eleven Pharaonic dignitaries.
Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Unfortunately, due to the ongoing protests and upheavals, the tourist industry has all but disappeared in Cairo.... I feel bad saying that this meant I personally had amazing access to this museum, which was virtually empty of visitors. There were SOME other tourists and we were therefore privileged to be able to examine the exhibits at our leisure. I was alone in the room with the mask of Tutankhamen...... The Mummy rooms are 100% worth paying the extra for. An amazing experience. I took a Guide - this means you can be directed towards the most pertinent of exhibits but you can still head off towards whatever else takes your interest too, of course. The building itself is old-fashioned but utterly charming. The outside of the building is a beautiful pink shade and also has exhibits placed around, with landscaped areas.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,209
    478
    184
    61
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time at the museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were there last year, before unrest etc. and I must tell you..it is superb!! Placed on Tahrir, epic place of Arab Spring, this museum offers you a great deal of human history. Only bad thing is that it is crowded and it is sooooo humid and hot! Do not forget to deposit your camera and take the audio guide, it is really good. At the moment i would not recommend you to walk around Tahrir, but if this settles down it is a MUST!!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“SEE PRESERVED PHARAOHS.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

How happy I was to see mummified Pharaohs at this Museum. Honestly, a lover of Museums can spend a whole week in this Museum going over and over reading again and again about the exhibits. I highly recommend this to those who will like to see this Museum when peace returns to Egypt.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos, Greece
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very interest things to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I liked the variety of antiques in wake of their culture.
Through the exhibits you can see the evolution of their culture

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Never Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The items in the museum are fantatsic but.....

The facilities are not good! there is no aircon in the building so walking round in 50C heat is not fun! (the only place with aircon in the tutankhamun room there are around 100 people at anyone time trying to get cool!)

I also needed the toilet when i arrived to go all the toilets they where full to the brim off you know what! its the most vile place I have been!

this was not an enjoyable experience

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egyptian Antiquities Museum also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Egyptian Antiquities Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Egyptian Antiquities Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.