We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Nile Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Nile Tower to your Saves list
Grand Nile Tower
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile | Garden City, Roda Island, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 135 Hotels in Cairo
Dubai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“the place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

If you are travelling to cairo with kids, this is the place to stay. Excellent service, tasty food and nice views of the nile. Luxury hotel with nice standard rooms. Stayed in a club room for 3 nights and used hyatt family plan to book the second room for half the price of the first room. check in was quick and in the club lounge on the 30th floor. Everything you need is offered in the club lounge for breakfast and snacks. There is a mall attached to the hotel that has a cinema with arabic and english movies, a kids club free of charge for hotel guests (but you can't leave the hotel or mall premises) I dropped them and went for a movie, a food court, kids wear shop and a pharmacy and other shops too. I recommend the grand hyatt cruise too. Visited the four seasons nile just opposite the hotel for a spa treatment, enjoyed it a lot, but when booking for cairo I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    117
    48
    22
    30
See reviews for
67
129
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 2 nights on a business trip. Service was excellent throughout my stay, starting with pick-up at the plane at Cairo Airport and individual check-in in the room. Hotel has a good central location with easy access to the city centre (by Cairo standards) and to some of the more trendy restaurants. Nice rooms with beautiful views over the Nile.

I also like the restaurants in the "food court" ranging from Japanese to Indian to Italian. Good quality food in a casual atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed as part of an organised prepaid tour for 2 nights. Location on its own "island" and Cairo views are excellent. High security at boom gates then the hotel entrance is a little unsettling for a Westerner not used to it but reassuring when one considers the alternative.
Food is excellent. Rooms are fine. Expensive but it is a Hyatt.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst visting Cairo during our holiday in Sharm el Sheikh.

On arrival by taxi,the first thing that struck us was the security measures.Pulled up at the security barrier,where a sniffer dog walked round the taxi,then we had to walk through airport style x ray machine into the vast lobby area.

I would say the hotel is slightly old fashioned in appearance but still has the wow factor,due to the oppulence of the public areas.

We were checked in efficiently by a very friendly young man,and given the keycard to our room on the 26th floor.We had a standard twin room with a balcony offering a breathtaking view over the nile,you could just see the pyramids in the distance.

I knew the hotel was a 'dry' hotel before booking.Due to the heat and dust of visiting the pyramids earlier,and the chaos of the traffic,we were desperate for a beer.We headed to the Hard Rock cafe which is located between the Grand Hyatt and the Hyatt next door.We had a couple of large draught local beers,which were about £6 each,ouch!.Still we had an enjoyable time in there,the staff we very friendly too.

We decided to take a walk along the nile into town.OMG,nothing can prepare you for the traffic in Cairo.As for crossing the roads,well you literally take your life in your hands,wait for a rare gap in the traffic and make a run for it,not for the faint hearted.

Overall we had an enjoyable although brief stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

My travel agent booked me this hotel as part of my middle east trip- As I was traveling by myself and being a girl i asked to be put in hotels where i would feel "safe" and not hassled
Although the hotel is huge and lacking a bit of personality (its a hyatt !) it is so well maintained , clean and the staff so professional that i had no complaints at all .
I was upgraded to the "Club" floor (30th) where the suites were but mine was a twin bedroom with the most amazing view of the Nile and the city Not for the Vertigo sufferers there was a little balcony where you could enjoy the view - Despite the pollution it felt like i was in a metropolitan city ..
The room had the most comfortable beds and quality linen ! i didn't want to get up for my sightseeing in the morning -
I was sent a complimentary fruit basket daily and 2 bottles of mineral water that came in handy for my day excursions
The Breakfast was just amazing ... there was literally everything ... all kinds of breakfast freshly made eggs and pancakes , fresh fruit - egyptian breakfast delicacies (the pancake with honey was yummy) and all this with views of the Nile
There is a swimming pool and gym but i didn't get the chance to go so i cant tell much about it
There is a revolving french restaurant on top with beautiful views but also ridiculous prices so i skipped it ,but i was told by friends it was top notch
Instead i settled for a night in with a great room service ! the portions were BIG , tasty and reasonably well priced but again if you don't feel like staying in then there is the food court on 4th floor with loads of different restaurants and a expensive shopping center with brands if you feel like spending some money around ... also Cairo Hard Rock Cafe is next door to the hotel ....

Two things to note - Apparently there are 2 Hyatts next to each other . The one i stayed in was the new building , the old i must admit does not look as swanky... so make sure you go to the right one..
secondly i found the charges charge for wifi internet a bit excessive but i lived without it .. :)

Lastly don't miss to go next to the little marina and ask for a local boatman to take you for an hours - 2 hour trip on the nile around sunset... my personal highlight from cairo.. its peaceful and the call for prayer gave me the shivers although i am not muslim..
Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We were stuck in Cairo due to missed flight connections and had to find a hotel, with most good hotels being fully booked due to a large conference that week. Ending up at the Hyatt, they had vacant rooms - but that was about it! Very poor service from start to finish, it took ages to check in, the room was tiny (though admittedly with a great view), the TV remote did not work, the bathroom robe was dirty, the fruit was not fresh, the mini-bar pathetic, the restaurant and bar not yet opened, the staff unhelpful (and not willing to listen/register the complaints).... Have NEVER stayed so expensively and in SUCH conditions, way below expectations and very poor value! Hyatt - I'm sorry, you'll never get a second chance from me!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

First impressions of the Grand Hyatt Cairo were not bad. Check in was relatively smooth on the first occasion (we stayed here on night 1 and 5, 6 of our 6 night stay in Cairo). Staff do their best to be helpful but if you want specialist knowledge then you are better off doing the research yourself beforehand. For example the Concierge could not help us when it came to advising on where we might find contemporary new artists galleries..

The lift system requires you to place your key in the slot before you can operate the lift. The numbering is bizarre so by the time you have located your floor the lift is already on its way and it is too late to add your selection until it stops. But at least they are fast and frequent so in all, the waiting time is never more than 1 minute.

The pool is more family fun and touristic than elegant and relaxing. The loungers appear to be in very short supply considering how many people were using the pool although if you insist then the pool staff will bring you one from inside. They should keep them out in the first place! There is no bar/ food service at the pool.

The gym is spread over 2 floors and fully equipped with comprehensive range of cardio and weights (mostly life fitness). The floor to ceiling windows are mostly without blinds so it can get very warm and the AC cannot cope with temperatures outside more than 30 degrees. It was set to 15 degrees but it was more like 23 degrees inside.

The spa area is compact with small whirlpool and steam (medium size) and sauna. You can regulate the sauna temperature yourself. There were never more than 3 women using the spa area so the facilities seemed fairly adequate in size.

On the second occasion we checked in things did not go so smoothly. We had been promised the same corner, dual aspect room we stayed in 4 nights ago before we went to another hotel. The promise had been made in order to secure our return to the GH. But when we arrived there was no note and although we had booked a higher category (Clubroom), we were allocated a smaller more basic room than last time without the dual aspect views.

On speaking to several different staff who said there was no availability for such rooms we were finally upgraded to an executive suite and told not to expect this as a standard. Although often an upgrade is given automatically if you are a Gold Hyatt member they did not mention this. The executive suite had stunning views but the layout was not user friendly, there was one wash basin in the bathroom and the electrics in the entire suite were faulty. Telephoning downstairs was problematic since the faulty line kept disconnecting. It was 3 hours later and our plans for the evening to go out were cancelled as we could not use the facilities in the dark. After speaking to Management the issues were eventually resolved and our reservations for the evening were reinstated for later in the evening. Management also offered a complimentary dinner in any of the Hyatt restaurants which we took the next evening in the 40th floor Revolving Restaurant. The dinner itself was good with a wide ranging and sophisticated menu. Starters were about15-20 gbp so not sure this would have been our choice if we would pay since for these prices you can eat at much nicer places in Cairo. The cocktail list was not so adventurous and the bartender clearly a sweetooth. The highlight however of this place is the fact that the views are rather beautiful. Having said that if you stay in one of the corner executive suites you will already be partly familiar with some of these views especially around the Nile. Overall this restaurant lacked any ambience.

If you book a Club Room or above you check in on the so called VIP 30th floor where the Club Lounge is located. Complimentary services were good including: free wifi in the lounge (opens 6.30 am to 11pm), fresh (very nice) canapés from 6-8, alcoholic drinks in the Revolving Restaurant bar area (1 floor lower than the RR) from 6-8 and breakfast.

If GH trained staff better they could probably half the workforce but the hotel seems happy to function in this inefficient and sometimes sloppy manner. Each Manager that would help resolve things seemed to be working a 1 day week as they were not seen or heard of again and in our case handed each day to a new Manager who did not seem completely informed of the facts.

Whilst it may come across otherwise the overall stay at the Grand Hyatt was good value for money. Alot of the standard of service has to be looked at in line with the overall culture and standards of other similar businesses in Cairo. One thing has to be said of the Hyatt staff which is probably true of most Egyptians- they always are eager to please and do so with smiles and humour. In that way we will remember our stay here as a pleasant one!

Recommended restaurants: Tamarai/ Apperetivo/ buffet at Zitouni in Four Seasons/ Nubian Village (authentic).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.1 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#12 of 135 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#7 of 135 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
2.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Nile Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Nile Tower

Address: Corniche El Nile | Garden City, Roda Island, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Nile Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 715
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Nile Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Nile Tower Hotel Cairo
Cairo Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Cairo
Grand Hyatt Cairo
Cairo Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Nile Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.