We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, just watch out for the old 'tourists going to the Pyramid cab scams'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Nile Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Nile Tower to your Saves list
Grand Nile Tower
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nile | Garden City, Roda Island, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, just watch out for the old 'tourists going to the Pyramid cab scams'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon trip.

The hotel was very safe, clean and the service was very good. They had even gone the distance and put a bouquet of roses in the room for us upon our arrival which was a very nice touch after such a long flight. The hotel was located centrally in the town and we really didn't suffer from anything their other than our own ignorance about travel in this part of the world.

Our only complaint was that we asked the valet to get us a cab to take us to the pyramids. He flagged a cab, and then our driver took us to a small city outside, and not to far from the real park entrance. We then got scammed into renting 2 camels and a guide because "the park doesn't allow anyone to enter on foot or from a car." Our guide was great and he got us some pictures with us and the pyramids which I'm sure the normal visitors will never be allowed to get (our guide was close friends with the armed guards that turned their heads while we did some photos) and we got some cheesy photos with us on top of camels. We also ended up tipping our guide who showed us all around the pyramids (even where the normal tourists get dropped off in busses and taxis) and we also bought some kind of "rare oils" from another vendor that they had to take us to.

All in all, the hotel was a great, clean refuge and I can't say if the cab driver and the valet were in it together, but when we showed up with the tourist stamp on our foreheads, they didn't miss a beat. If we're ever in this part of the world again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    108
    35
    17
    22
See reviews for
56
112
27
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Our group consisted of 8 travelers who stayed in this hotel for 2 nights prior to taking a Nile River cruise. This hotel exceeded our expectations! It's clean, very, very glamorous, and the restaurants have excellent food. We were on the 24th floor and had an amazing view of the Nile. At night, you can see all of the beautiful lights- great for pictures! In the mornings, the air was so foggy you could hardly see 30 feet in front of you, but it was still a great balcony.

The bathroom was very spacious and clean. They provided everything from shampoo/conditioner to Q-tips. The only watch out I have is the bathtub is fairly deep and a bit awkward to get into. I'm in my late 20's, so if there are elderly patrons with disabilities I would inquire into a special bathroom.

The hotel is equipped with 24 hour currency exchange, but our entire group had some difficulty getting higher bills ($100, for example) exchanged. I would recommend taking American $1's (for tipping), $5, $10, $20 and keep it small for exchange purposes. There is a shopping center attached to the hotel, and there is actually a 2nd bank located on the bottom floor. I was attempting to get currency converted, and the lobby exchange didn't have proper change, so they instructed me to go to the other bank. Upon going to the shopping center, there is security, and a guard insisted he escort me. I appreciated it, but it was also a great reminder as to the fact you aren't in America. :)

We ate at the buffet for dinner; it was $180 for four of us, but they had everything from veal and salmon, to more ethnic selections. The breakfast buffet is also delicious! One evening we ate at the Italian restaurant on the lower level. My husband and I split a pizza, got a beer and Coke Light, and wait less than $20. It was delicious!

I used the business center to log on to my email. I believe it was $15 for 15 minutes. Also, my husband used the gym facilities and found them to be excellent.

*TIP: the hotel provides you with several free bottles of water (in the bathroom and on the nightstand. Rather than using the bottles in the mini-fridge (they charge you for these), take a stroll to the gym and they have them in abundance for free! We simply took 2 or 3, stuck them in the mini-fridge to keep them cool. Also, it allowed us to take them on the tours the next day and still have water for brushing our teeth in the room.

Overall, the staff speaks very good English, there is a LOT of security so tourists feel very safe, and the hotel is in an excellent location. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and would feel very fortunate to return!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

This hotel lies at the northern tip of an island in the Nile. The top bar and restaurant easily has the best view in town. I had a beer and watched the Nile up and down and the sun set over the pyramids.

The hotel is well maintained, but it is starting to get a little old. Especially outdoors, it is in need of refurbishment. Inside, it is better, but it does not shine.

There is a lot of staff, many of whom don't seem to do anything at all, other than standing in with their hands on their backs. The security seems tight, but on closer inspection, it is a sham, a theatre, as everything in Egypt: The metal detector beeps every time, without bothering the staff. You have to take your bags through a scanner, but both ends of the scanner is outside the entrance, and there is no real control of what you bring in. The taxis can drive all the way to the main entrance without being more than superficially checked and so on.

Yo eventually discover that everything you can buy inside the hotel is very expensive, sometimes the tenfold of normal, Egyptian prices. The hotel can get you a taxi, that charges seven times the normal fare.

For this, the service really does not live up. But I am sure newcomers to the third world will find this as a good entry point. It is just ten minutes walk from the Egyptian museum and Nasser square - the very centre of Cairo.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Good location, safe, big breakfast, space in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The views of the Nile from the lobby and rooms are wonderful. You feel like you are floating on the Nile. It's a grand marble and glass place - the style isn't very historic or charming. So bear that in mind if you choose this place. The restaurants are expensive and the quality of the food isn't great. For the price, the rooms and bathrooms are a bit dated. Nice balcony overlooking the Nile though. It was all very posh 15 years ago. One bad thing - the hotel is floodlit at night and a very bright light shines on the window of the room. The shops next door are a bit empty. Overall not bad but a tad expensive for Cairo.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

My family stayed at the Grand Hyatt in a Nile view room. It is a very fancy hotel with more than adequate rooms with a lovely balcony overlooking the Nile. But, the bathrooms are quite ancient, with its high tubs which are downright dangerous to step into. The tubs have miniscule glass shower doors which are not at all meant for showers and as a result there is a swimming pool on the floor after every shower. The room itself was quite clean and the service quite adequate though our bags tooks more than an hour to arrive. It is a huge hotel and the eating places are ok though the Nubian Restaurant is quite wonderful. The food was scrumptious and the service excellent except for the fact that folks in Egypt smoke all over the place ;-( . The breakfast buffet was very good and it opens at 5:30 a.m. which is very convenient when you have an early start. For the money I would look for a hotel with better bathrooms. The internet service was exorbitant.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is its location which is directly at the nile river....

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Nile Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Nile Tower

Address: Corniche El Nile | Garden City, Roda Island, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Nile Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 715
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Nile Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Nile Tower Hotel Cairo
Cairo Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Cairo
Grand Hyatt Cairo
Cairo Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Nile Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.