We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Concorde Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Concorde Hotel to your Saves list
Concorde Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Al Tahrir Street, Dokki Giza, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 134 Hotels in Cairo
Naestved, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel two times for three nights in Jul-Aug 2012, all was OK, rooms were spacious and clean, but windows are not so soundproof, as we expected, and horning sounds from the busy street will annoy you from the early morning to the late nights. But it’s OK to sleep well, if you tired enough. Staff was extremely helpful, except one thing – I think reception guy charged me for the WiFi, that you can obviously use for free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    44
    19
    23
See reviews for
9
22
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Was clean and beds were ok. Not the place to stay if you're a bit lift-phobic as they are not exactly modern! Stairs don't seem to be an option, I did try! Breakfast ok, but not the best. For what you pay it's fine.
Some staff friendly and they all speak good English. Good location for Metro and sites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you're looking at spending most of your time touring Cairo, then Concorde Dokki would suffice. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, beds were OK (a bit hard though, and the sheets and blankets looked "worn-out," albeit clean), hot water was available (we visited there when it was really cold, so this was a plus!), dresser and closets available - the basics.

It's nooo luxury hotel, I tell you. Hotel looks old and kinda shabby (the professional photos are misleading, sorry to say). But, like I said, if you're going to be spending most of your time out, then this hotel is a fair value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here twice during a trip around Egypt, was planning on staying a thrid time but changed my mind.
Is a nice budget hotel. First room was spacious and nice, but second was smaller and the bed was so hard. Room was clean enough and serviced each day. Breakfast was ok and the coffee just drinkable but the man who looks after it looks unhappy and you usually have to search for him if you would like eggs other than hard boiled. The sign says eggs any way but they there is only one! The food was fresh and there was a decent variety.
Internet access was good to have but sometimes it didnt work, especially on the higher floors.
The area is safe and the metro is not far. Booked a car for a day at Saqqara and the driver (not sure who) stopped at a "papyrus museum" but once he realised I was definitely not going to buy he didnt stop at a "carpet school" or a perfume shop.
Staff were friendly and helpful but for my sceond trip I had a collegue come to the hotel so we could work on a project and after an hour in my room the reception staff started calling saying I could only have visitors for half an hour in my room. Eventually Reception threatened the police! This turned me right off so I stayed in another hotel close by for my third stay in Cairo where my collegue could visit without threats.
Other than this the hotel was nice and is suitable for people on a budget who aren't going to expect too much or have visitors.

Room Tip: Better internet access on levels three or four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

It was my first time travelling to Cairo, was attending a conference in mid February 2012. The location is very safe, no problems/inconveniences for a solo female traveler. The hotel was above expectations (from tripadvisor I expected smth much worse). Not Ritz of course, but rooms cleaned on a regular basis, all accessories are in place, lobby and bar are quite nice. Most important aspect to me was a very friendly attitude of the staff – they did their best with every request (admittedly had not a few of them). Since my plane was 2 h late arrived close to 1 am, check-in was quick and smooth. The next day needed to do the ironing of my clothes (was presenting the day after), reasonable price, my two suites and blouse looked great. Was cold in Cairo during the days of my stay, was immediately provided with the radiator upon my first request at the reception. They have a PC room with a free inet connection (only one machine, but was always unoccupied). Connection was good. The most pleasant thing was enjoying a Turkish coffee while surfing, Osman does the very best coffee I tried in Cairo, not exaggerating.

Breakfast was sufficient, not a great variety of food, but everything fresh and properly cooked, not even a single problem here. Never tried lunching or dining at the restaurant, lunching was around Cairo University with conference participants, for dinners used Tikka Chicken, kebab-type restaurant already mentioned in tripadvisor reviews, is simply yummy and affordable. Right next to it is Alfa market, good for shopping for essentials. Both are on the left from the gas station (down the street).

Of course, can’t resist mentioning Emad (knew about him from tripadvisor comments) at Rosetta perfume&papyrus store – on the left from the hotel, third shop down the street. Is very helpful, interesting person to have a conversation on politics, local life, etc, offers a really vast variety of good tours at reasonable prices. No way pushy, a very respectful person and keeps his promises. His brother Mohammed was giving me a transfer to the airport when I was having a flight back to Ukraine, interesting conversation on the way, price was very reasonable. He checked for the right terminal for me and inquired details about my checkin, thank you Mohammed, it was really nice of you.

Hint for those whose Arabic is below basic (as mine): is useful to have the hotel name and street written in Arabic, one of my taxi trips ended at Midan Tahrir, instead of Tahrir street. Use white taxis and watch the meter, but still there might be some attempts to rip you off. On the other hand, taxis in Cairo are really cheap, so makes sense to use them as a main mode of transportantion. Was thinking about underground but was advised to avoid since crowded.
To sum up with, hotel is a perfect match as a budget one, close to downtown, all important attractions at your fingertips. Safe, many shops working 24/7, good selection of places to dine out.

For those looking for a romantic escape or travelling with small kids, I would advise to search for the other accommodation option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I'm always up for an adventure so when I stayed here last year in March (2010), I was mildly surprised because this hotel has charm! My best friend, who lives in Cairo, wanted me to stay at the Sheraton a couple of blocks away but I thoroughly enjoyed it here. Rooms were adequate and cool, the bathrooms were clean and spacious. The staff was touch and go- I dealt with 3 different concierges when I was there and I preferred dealing with the young woman who had the early morning shift. Though their bellhops, waiters, and security guards were all helpful and cracked funny jokes. My arabic was not too good back then but they all taught me a thing or two.

Breakfast was ok- typical English fare but I'm not complaining because it's free! If you want an Egyptian breakfast you can go near the corniche or the near the gas station to the direction of the bridge and there is a guy with a cart selling ful and ta'amaya (Beans, mmm). Filling and cheap. Who wants a scone when you can have Pita and beans? Not this girl.

But anyway, I definitely recommend this hotel- it is near all the shops, there is an internet cafe 3 blocks down the 1st side st, and the metro is 6 blocks away. Or you can catch one of the commuter vans by the gas station for 25 piastres per ride.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel was chosen for its location and price, both of which were good. The hotel is very basic, breakfast was poor at best. Rooms were ok, but shower hardly worked. Only a portion of the bottom 2 floors, and the top half of the building acually belong to the hotel, the rest is actually residential dwellings, however they have different entrances, and there is no way to get in either section apart from through the main entrances outside, so don't worry. Staff were good, never had a problem. Perfect for cheap trip to see Cairo, but no element of luxury at all. Also, down the road about 3 doors is Emad, who offers pretty much any trip you want, and good advice. He sems to be trustworthy, and reasonably priced for a western traveller, if not a little expensive for Egyptian prices. However, his adviced proved invaluable, so if you're ever unsure, go to him, he's better then tourist information office! Lastly, the picture of the external facia of the hotel on most websights is HEAVILY edited, wrong completely! I'm surpired it's even legal it's that different.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Concorde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel

Address: 146 Al Tahrir Street, Dokki Giza, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 134 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Concorde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Concorde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concorde Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.