We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabolouse Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah to your Saves list
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11518, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolu, Turkey
2 reviews
“Fabolouse Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

El-Gezirah means island in Arabic. And the hotel is on an island in a river(The nile river) !!!
All of the rooms have a perfect viewing thanks to the rounded structure of the hotel and to the location that gives a huge breath without any high buildings near by.
The hotel has a wide garden at water level and there are lots of different service points as restaurants, cafes etc.
You can watch the boats going around with tourists who are entertaining, and you can even share their joy and start dancing with the music they are listening. :)
If you are lucky enough, which I was, you can witness a movie or TV set in action just at the garden of the hotel!!!
The lobby is good enough to hang out withyour friends, listen some piano, or just sit on the fluffy chairs.
Best thing for the rooms is their amazing sightseeing opportunity.
The stuff and the management were not my interest but also I didn't experienced any unexpected and unpleasent behaviour.
I was an invited guest and didn't pay for it, but if it is the actual situation, I saw some price signs in the rooms(yes, every room has some sign declaring the nightly prices for locals and for tourists) and the price was so expensive.
Anyhow, while my next Cairo trips, even if I would be staying somewhere else, one evening , I will definetly go there and have a cup of tea with fresh mint in the garden.

Room Tip: Insist to have a room faced to the cournish(East), so you can have a 180 degree perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah for your recent visit to Cairo.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    212
    54
    23
    21
See reviews for
128
257
61
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed our stay here. Staff have been most helpful. Make you feel very welcome. Pool and spa area lovely. Amazing views of Nile for rooms and restaurants. Buffet breakfast fantastic.Party boats are noisy it do add a certain entertainment to your stay. Totally recommend this as a lovely, safe oasis. We have felt totally safe here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel, well-run with generally attentive staff. My only complaint was that the loud music from the boats on the Nile often continued until 2am or later. Obviously, this is not the fault of the hotel.

Excellent breakfast, very nice gym/steam/pool facilities. It's also a very short and pleasant walk, maybe 15 minutes, to Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Cairo is overwhelming and exhausting at times. This hotel is an oasis of calm.

I have spent a lot of time in a lot of places in Cairo. Sofitel is the only place I choose to stay these days. Breakfast on the terrace next to the Nile is a great way to start the day. The staff are very friendly and helpful without being pushy and constantly looking for tips. The hotel itself is large yet well laid out so that it has more of a cozy feel than many of the others. It also does not have loads of creepy men lurking in the lobby.

The rooms are comfortable, bright and clean - the bathrooms are nice -- but ladies watch out -- the closets are tiny.

The spa and pool are also quite nice -- the pool being on the Nile as well.

My only tip is to try to avoid the sporting club view -- you still get the Nile but you also get the floodlights from the club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sana'a, Yemen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Truly pleasant experience… I would definitely like to be in that hotel again.
The friendly atmosphere, in addition to the exceptional Nile view, makes Cairo Sofitel a preferred choice for business or leisure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah for your recent visit to Cairo.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My 7 year old daughter and I stayed here in April 2013 as our base for exploring Cairo. I've stayed in several luxury hotels around the world, and the Sofitel el Gezirah is just as one would expect from such an establishment.

The hotel is clean, very well maintained. There are plenty of well-groomed external areas to enjoy food and drink, or just soak up the sun. The pool is warm, heated (to 28 degrees, so the in says) and there was no overcrowding or jostling for the loungers, of which there are four types and all very comfortable and luxurious. No white plastic here!

The staff are, of course, very friendly - although we have twice met with the "Sorry Sir, it's the hotel policy" a couple times (they wouldn't give a room key to my (very responsible) daughter, even though I asked them to. I guess this is understandable. The other was that children aren't allowed in the jacuzzi, even when accompanied and when no other guests are using it. My daughter has recently discovered jacuzzis and was desperate to try this one, but wasn't allowed, which s a shame).

The rooms are clean, comfortable and well apportioned, with luxurious bathrooms (we had a Luxury room on the 11th, so am only commenting on what we've seen / experienced). Poor selection of English-speaking TV channels, though (news, news, news. Oh and an old-movie channel!).

Wifi is everywhere, and generally pretty quick and reliable. Some of the hotspots are password-free, whereas others (e.g. those at the restaurants and bars) require a password. Good luck finding a waiter who knows the exact password! I was given several variations, but worked it out after a while ('life1234', and not 'live12345' or some other variation!).

Although just across the river from Tahrir Square, the hotel security is pretty tight and I have no concerns about safety with the hotel grounds.

My ONE BIG COMPLAINT, though, is that the hotel allows smoking in most internal areas of the hotel. I know this is Egypt, and perhaps some people think that is sufficient excuse, but I whole-heartedly disagree. This is an international hotel, serving international clientele, and charging international prices - they should maintain international standards! There is ample outdoor entertaining space, so really no need for lobby areas to allow smoking (admittedly the air is not a thick fog of smoke, but it is very difficult to find indoor space not tainted by either a general cigarette odour or an individual polluting a particular corner - which generally happens in most of the internal communal areas!). And that, my friends, is from a smoker!

Overall we are very content here and would stay again (considering that the smoking issue is likely to be prevalent in most (if not all) Cairene hotels!).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Rest assured that your comments about the smoking in the hotel’s public area were passed-over to management for the possibility of improvement in this area.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Even though this hotel was a bit expensive, I can say now that worthed every single cent. In a city where commuting may be a night mare, restaurant choice may be a great challenge, safety and security can be an issue in some areas (especially when protests are in the streets) Sofitel is a true Oasis in the chaos of Cairo. Located in the middle of everything, but also isolated on the island in the midle of Nile, connected to Giza and down town by a nearby bridge . The hotel area is guarded by security personnel around the clock. Room service was superior.The restaurants are very good, as the breakfast and the buffet restaurants provide a great variety of food in a very nice atmosphere and reasonable prices. The traditional grill house, and the Budha bar are a must. Amazing pool area by the Nile.
We stayed at the 9th floor and the view was amazing. I can imagine that higher floors have even grater view. The room was equipped with all necessary amenities. Wifi is free and available in the entire hotel area. The only hick-up was the extremely loud music of the cruiser boats in the evening until past midnight, but you get used to that and can be amusing to see people dancing on the boats...again the higher floors the less noise of course. The personnel was always extremely polite and attentive, clean everywhere I could be writing on and on for the nice things of this hotel as I cannot find any negatives.

Room Tip: Try the higher floors as the view is superb and less noise from the river cruisers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah for your recent visit to Cairo.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11518, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#10 Business Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Splendia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.