We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A AM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11518, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Cairo
Sana'a, Yemen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A AM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Truly pleasant experience… I would definitely like to be in that hotel again.
The friendly atmosphere, in addition to the exceptional Nile view, makes Cairo Sofitel a preferred choice for business or leisure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah for your recent visit to Cairo.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    184
    46
    21
    16
See reviews for
116
227
53
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My 7 year old daughter and I stayed here in April 2013 as our base for exploring Cairo. I've stayed in several luxury hotels around the world, and the Sofitel el Gezirah is just as one would expect from such an establishment.

The hotel is clean, very well maintained. There are plenty of well-groomed external areas to enjoy food and drink, or just soak up the sun. The pool is warm, heated (to 28 degrees, so the in says) and there was no overcrowding or jostling for the loungers, of which there are four types and all very comfortable and luxurious. No white plastic here!

The staff are, of course, very friendly - although we have twice met with the "Sorry Sir, it's the hotel policy" a couple times (they wouldn't give a room key to my (very responsible) daughter, even though I asked them to. I guess this is understandable. The other was that children aren't allowed in the jacuzzi, even when accompanied and when no other guests are using it. My daughter has recently discovered jacuzzis and was desperate to try this one, but wasn't allowed, which s a shame).

The rooms are clean, comfortable and well apportioned, with luxurious bathrooms (we had a Luxury room on the 11th, so am only commenting on what we've seen / experienced). Poor selection of English-speaking TV channels, though (news, news, news. Oh and an old-movie channel!).

Wifi is everywhere, and generally pretty quick and reliable. Some of the hotspots are password-free, whereas others (e.g. those at the restaurants and bars) require a password. Good luck finding a waiter who knows the exact password! I was given several variations, but worked it out after a while ('life1234', and not 'live12345' or some other variation!).

Although just across the river from Tahrir Square, the hotel security is pretty tight and I have no concerns about safety with the hotel grounds.

My ONE BIG COMPLAINT, though, is that the hotel allows smoking in most internal areas of the hotel. I know this is Egypt, and perhaps some people think that is sufficient excuse, but I whole-heartedly disagree. This is an international hotel, serving international clientele, and charging international prices - they should maintain international standards! There is ample outdoor entertaining space, so really no need for lobby areas to allow smoking (admittedly the air is not a thick fog of smoke, but it is very difficult to find indoor space not tainted by either a general cigarette odour or an individual polluting a particular corner - which generally happens in most of the internal communal areas!). And that, my friends, is from a smoker!

Overall we are very content here and would stay again (considering that the smoking issue is likely to be prevalent in most (if not all) Cairene hotels!).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Rest assured that your comments about the smoking in the hotel’s public area were passed-over to management for the possibility of improvement in this area.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Even though this hotel was a bit expensive, I can say now that worthed every single cent. In a city where commuting may be a night mare, restaurant choice may be a great challenge, safety and security can be an issue in some areas (especially when protests are in the streets) Sofitel is a true Oasis in the chaos of Cairo. Located in the middle of everything, but also isolated on the island in the midle of Nile, connected to Giza and down town by a nearby bridge . The hotel area is guarded by security personnel around the clock. Room service was superior.The restaurants are very good, as the breakfast and the buffet restaurants provide a great variety of food in a very nice atmosphere and reasonable prices. The traditional grill house, and the Budha bar are a must. Amazing pool area by the Nile.
We stayed at the 9th floor and the view was amazing. I can imagine that higher floors have even grater view. The room was equipped with all necessary amenities. Wifi is free and available in the entire hotel area. The only hick-up was the extremely loud music of the cruiser boats in the evening until past midnight, but you get used to that and can be amusing to see people dancing on the boats...again the higher floors the less noise of course. The personnel was always extremely polite and attentive, clean everywhere I could be writing on and on for the nice things of this hotel as I cannot find any negatives.

Room Tip: Try the higher floors as the view is superb and less noise from the river cruisers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah for your recent visit to Cairo.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a luxury hotel with stunning views. Service is excellent. A harpist accompanies the breakfast buffet while various musicians play in the loft bar each night. As at April 2013 it's very cheap for what you get. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

We were very pleased that hard work leaves good memory in our guests’ experience.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially,


Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was refurbished recently and is now a truly elegant optionin Cairo. The rooms are nice appointed but it is the public spaces that deliver the WOW factor. The floral displays throughout the publice areas are changed every other day and worth the price of a stay. There are several very good restaurant choices for those intimidated by the thought of venturing out at night.

I was in Cairo for 5 days in March 2013 and never felt unsafe. It is a shame that media portryals of the situation are detering so many tourists. My two weeks in Egypt were incredible and won't soon be forgotten. If you're thinking about going, go now and see the sights without the hoards.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have Nile views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah and the city of Cairo with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Generally around the hotel on a few occasions we had to chase someone to get drinks and then also to pay our bill.
We also asked each day for our balcony door to be unlocked but this never happened.

On the other hand the guys at the cafe Sud during breakfast are extremely friendly, efficient, and professional. High recommendations for to Walid and Ahmed.

Over all I would recommend this hotel because of the location, views and amenities. I am sure when the political unrest calms down they will focus on customer service for all areas of the hotel and not just specific areas. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We managed to get a room on level 26 (2nd highest) but likely do to slow business. After the pyramid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us. I am extremely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations for this stay, please accept my sincerest apologist.

It is indeed a concern that you feel the services offered was not up to the expected fine standards; we will of course take this very seriously and rectify any unusual shortfalls that may have occurred during your stay.

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, as honest opinion and constructive criticism is the only way that would enable us to improve and meet our guests expectations.

Sincerely Yours,


Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

the location of this hotel is great, it's in the downtown but in very calm place.
the room view was great with the Nile river, even the Pyramids can be seen from my balcony in the 21st floor.
the room was clean and the stuff is friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Bonjour!

Just a short note to sincerely thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11518, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#5 Business Hotel in Cairo
#7 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Otel, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.