We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hotel for a break in Cairo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11518, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #7 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hotel for a break in Cairo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We live in Cairo and went for a weekend break to the hotel. The staff were extremely welcoming, and instantly upgraded us to a package that allowed us to take free mezzes and drinks all day - even alcoholic drinks from 5-8pm for free! The room was clean and comfortable and the pool and spa area was absolutely gorgeous. We have stayed in a few Cairo hotels and this one is easily the best

In addition, we checked out at 12pm but the hotel allowed us to use the spa and pool area all day after check out - the pool has big sun lounger areas, an infinity pool, a steam room, a jacuzzi and a well stocked changing room with products and big robes.

This was an excellent weekend away and we will definitely book it again in a few months!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    183
    46
    20
    16
See reviews for
113
223
52
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

It is a luxurious hotel where you feel that you are home and treated in good manners.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

lounge staff is perfect ... the breakfast is very rich ...the loke also the buddhabar
ambassador of Bahrain

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is like my second house in Egypt , thx sofitel team for making my stay like am home.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is in a great location for wondering around Cairo. Service is good. Rooms may need a little update but in general decoration is good. Great Ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from Patmos
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I recently spent one night sleeping on the 21st floor of this great hotel; my window dominated the island of Zamalek in the middle of the Nile, and over the entire city and beyond, to the horizon: a breathtaking view. The hotel is really first class: great service, wonderful hall and accessory rooms, private, well-manicured riverfront; the rooms (mine was a regular room) are not big because they are carved within segments of the circular cross-section of the building, however they are airy and full of light, and furnished with sober elegance; same for the bathroom All the above considered, this hotel is a great bargain. Conversely, I was not too impressed with the quality of the food of the Egyptian grill restaurant, at the far end of the riverbank.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in early January and were extremely pleased. We chose the Club Floor option, which gave us complimentary breakfast in the club lounge on the 16th floor (made-to-order omelets, fresh-squeezed juices, coffee, pastires, cheese & breads, fresh fruits and jams. International news was always on the big flat-screen TV's and the tables were always nicely set. The desk is staffed 24/7 and they were extremely helpful--even calling a pharmacy for me and getting a cough medicine ordered and delivered to the hotel (for $4 US!). In the afternoons/evenings there are complimentary cocktails and snacks--hot meats, cheeses and breads, fresh fruit, sweets and cookies. They don't serve lunch or dinner, but you can order off the room service menu, have it charged to your room and served in the lounge. We did this one night...the club sandwich with a huge basket of fries fed us both for around $10 USD. Staff at the lounge were exceptional--always welcoming and cheerful. Our room was on the 24th floor and looked over the Nile, with the pyramids at Giza visible in the distance once the morning fog/smog lifted. The room itself was smallish to our American tastes, but had a nice walk-out balcony, very comfortable king bed, lots of storage and and convenient desk (free WiFi, high speed) and lounge chair. The size of the room is the only thing that keeps me from giving this 5 stars--and I know it wouldn't bother most Europeans. The location is very convenient to downtown sights like the Egyptian Museum, Nile-front restaurants, Old Cairo and the like.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a safe/secure hotel with international standards.

Room Tip: Choose the Club level for free breakfast (real, made-to-order eggs/omelets, meats, smoothies, fruits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Please rest assured that your detailed feedback has been very influential in the urge to improve to receive such positive comments.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11518, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#8 Family Hotel in Cairo
#10 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.