We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for a luxury hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah to your Saves list
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11518, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #14 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average for a luxury hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I've had the opportunity to stay in 2 sofitel 5* hotels over the last two weeks, 3 nights here in Cairo and 1 night in Wroclaw in Poland. So I can compare. In general, I think Sofitel somewhat over-estimate their definition of luxury.... Compared to the Moscow Hilton and the Belgrade Hyatt (the previous 2 5* hotels I have stayed in this year), neither the Cairo Sofitel nor the Wroclaw come very close.

In short: Plusses
- excellent location, right on the Nile (although as the previous reviewer points out, the river party boats are pretty noisy and sound insulation not perfect). It looks like all the rooms have a balcony which is nice and I can imagine this is nice in the spring and autumn when it is light for longer in the evenings.
- the outdoor, heated infinity pool, definitely this is a touch of luxury, paticularly on a chilly November night (cca 13degrees Celsius), with the steam gently floating off the surface, and the azure swimming-pool water appears to be running directly into the black Nile.
- service: no problems on this part, everybody courteous and didn't hassle too much for tips. A few staff members standing around aimlessly didn't understand English, much to my surprise.
- as should be standard at a 5* hotel, slippers and a dressing-gown were provided, nothing makes me feel more at home in a hotel than this
- had a snack in the Window on the Nile restaurant/bar and was satisfied with my mini-burgers and beer, I even got a free amuse bouche to start off with, and at a reasonable price when you consider the location and surroundings
- the lobby is quite grand I suppose and it's nice to have live music there in the evening too
- two complementary bottles of water in the room were a god-send and is always a nice touch, and they were replenished each day too

Minuses:
- the party boats as mentioned above
- the breakfast, I expected better, although considering the location I guess it wasn't too bad. Apparently there is a French pastry chef/baker. The baguettes and rolls were very crispy and nice, the croissant and pain au chocolat were pretty horrible though. A good selection of diet and local ingredients available at the buffet, the hot buffet underwhelmed, obviously no pork sausages or bacon, but what can you do. NIce to be able to sit out on the terrace.
- the tv remote control and tv: the tv gave fairly poor picture quality and the remote didn't work properly, perhaps needed new batteries. I wasn't able to access the menu to set up a wake up alarm on the tv so I had to book one at reception mentioning that the remote control probably needed new batteries at is wasn't working properly. Got the wake up call, but nobody did anything with the tv. Changing channels was a battle too, involving holding down the appropriate button and waving the remote around trying to get the right vibes... a small inconvenience, but not one you expect at a luxury hotel
- no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room
- the bathroom and shower had seen better days, the soap holder was hanging off one screw on the wall, although there was a rain shower head which was nice.
- the jaccuzi wasn't in the price of the room! Thought this was a bit cheap...

To sum up, I expect more from a hotel that bills itself as a Luxury hotel, although the location is very nice. It was my first trip to Cairo so can't compare with other hotels there, but I can compare it to the Sofitel Wroclaw and Cairo comes out on top for sure. Still, I'm only giving it average.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    197
    50
    23
    20
See reviews for
124
239
56
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed at the Sofitel El-Gezirah for 15 days. It was a stupid choice indeed. The hotel should have trained their staff or screen the staff more carefully. It is way below international standard. Otherwise, the hotel shouldn't use the name 'sofitel' any longer. The hotel offers the worst service starting from the main entrance. The reception can't speak/read/ understand English properly and still dare to make arguments with customers. Very rude as if never been trained before. The room is also small and with the connecting room, you could smell the cigarette/ hear people talking all the time, especially during late night since people here tend to do things at night. The room with Nile view is very loud (almost every room since almost every room has a Nile view) because of the party boats all night (usually until 4-5am) and even in the early morning (approx 8 am) Internet is not working in the room even when using the cable. Requesting for hot water but never received it. House keeper never fills in the shampoo or conditioner or bath gel and not even the toilet paper. Have to make a phone call and request for it almost every other night. The breakfast is nice also the service but not at the beginning after first week when they see you as regular, they become nicer to you. The spa and the swimming pool has bad management as well, they ask the carpenter to come in and pain the women's room when female customers are using the shower. The customers have to stand the smells and the looks from the carpenters. Very inappropriate. Weird unisex steam room - even in a western world, I've never seen any hotel that its steam room opens for both male and female customers at the same time, in the same room - naked even. I freaked out when I see a naked Arab guy in the steam room walking around like no one's there. Very disgusting. Take my advice, this hotel with 150-250 USD/night is totally not worth it. Even if it's less than a 100 USD/night, I wouldn't stay here ever again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a connecting room unless you're together. Otherwise, you could hear and smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us and I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

It is indeed a concern that you feel the services offered was not up to the expected fine standards; we will of course take this very seriously and rectify any unusual shortfalls that may have occurred during your stay.

Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, as honest opinion and constructive criticism is the only way that would enable us to improve and meet our guests expectations.

Sincerely Yours,


Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah – Egypt
Tel: 002 02 2737 3737 EXT: 8206
Fax: 002 02 2736 3640
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Location of the hotel is good and lobby is acceptable with great view ti Nile .however the room is not that luxury furniture . Room's bathroom is very small. Shower drainage is very bad. Iron is bad quality one. Tv is poor in picture purity and channels are very limited. Internet is slow. Executive floor club is small and open with noise coming from the reception area as all open and at the same floor. I am writing this because I really care about quality of the service and never accept lower than what I expect. Hotel staff from the concierge to the security to the front receptionist all are poor in level of service provided . I may say was good only in SPA . Price to service provided never match and they have taken more than what they reserved .

Room Tip: All room are the same small and have the same furniture
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment! The whole Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Allow me to sincerely apologize to your goodself for failing to meet your expectations with regard to some points of your stay, whilst at the same time I thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed two nights at Sofitel El Gezirah in november and it was by far the best hotel I have been in Cairo. More lively then the Mena House Oberoï and less kitch then the Intercontinental Citystars. Pure class, great hotelservice, magificent breakfast and quality wellness. We ate at the original kebabgy restaurant (with a traditional open air breadoven) and found it rather hard to communicate with the friendly service personel. They do not have a winecard but ask if you would like tot have some (great) Egyptian wine without mentioning the price. Turned out to double our bill.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at sofitel for 4 nights, the serivce was fab, such friendly staff, the guest relation team made me feel so welcome with such attention to detail. The out look of the hotl is amazing it was fab to sit directly on the Nile bank for breckfast! I had the best view from my room of the pyrimids and mo Ali mosque when booking ask for 18 or 19! Thanks for such a lovely stay, I will miss you all.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed your experience at the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The El Gezirah has been bought by Sofitel and refurbished a few years ago. Great location, on an island in the middle of the NIle, it is a round building where all rooms have great views. If you are above floor 16, and on the side facing Giza, you can even see the great pyramids in the distance, beyond the Cairo skyline.
Rooms are smartly appointed, though the bathroom is a bit small for a hotel of this category. There's a nice pool next to the river, and several different restaurants, all with views on the Nile as well. The food in all of them is really great, as you might expect from a Sofitel. Service is quite good throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor, rooms have no mini-bars and mine had a bad telephone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed three nights in October with our two kids in Sofitel El Gezirah.

First of all, the hotel is very conveniently located, on an island, close from the place Tahrir and the Egyptian museum. The benefit is obvious : the place is rather quiet and you have a beautiful view on the Nile, whether from your room or from the different restaurants proposed by the hotel.

The infinity pool is just divine, thanks of course to the view you have on the Nile but also because it is heated. It was a real pleasure for the kids after very intense days of visits.

We had also a crush with the "Le Sud" café and more specifically with the pastries whose quality and taste were at the level of the best addresses we have in Paris.

The rooms are spacious and really comfortable. My only warning would be on the phonic isolation of the rooms. Indeed, despite you are on an island, the noise of the city or from parties organized near the hotel can be very present. I would therefore advise to invest a little bit more and choose a room in the upper floors.

Despite this issue, Sofitel El Gezirah is maybe the hotel we appreciated the most during our trip in Egypt.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11518, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#11 Business Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#15 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.