We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovating! !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added President Hotel to your Saves list
President Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Taha Hussein Str | Zamalek District, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs renovating! !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is ok but definitely not worth the price due to the rooms. Rooms are big and spacious but outdated. Carpets are worn and shoddy. Empty fridge in rooms so no mini bar. No kettle etc
Hotel staff are very nice however and moved myself and baby to another room when requested due to the faulty a/c. Breakfast is good.
Overall just not worth the price but ok if you don't mind staying in an outdated hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jennub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is very well located and has a very nice restaurant with nice views of the city. The rooms are avarage, the food is avarage and it is over all a bit old. Colours a dim and furniture is old. The service is very good and the employees are very kind. I travleled there in Feb 2011.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Billy_Reig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel had a nice foyer but after seeing our room we were unhappy, the air con was so noisy you couldn't sleep we only had a small window with view for the hotel next door..understandable in Cairo the bathroom was recently refurbished. The breakfast was very ordinary because it was so hot the pastries dried out very quickly. The lift was very scary only fit 2 persons at a time very hard with luggage the bar area was nice good view on a clear day. A very safe area lots of armed guards one sits out side the entrance. The room was clean but very tatty..the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adrianna742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in November.

Pros:
Great location in Zamalek. Easy walking to 26th street. Cafes and shops within very easy walking (you're in Cairo...not a lot of street lights and sidewalks with holes). Great helpful friendly staff. Breakfast included. Free wifi in reception and restaurant areas (slow which isn't uncommon in Cairo). Our room was very quiet. Bathroom was fairly spacious, upgraded. Shower was very good. Air conditioning worked very well.

Reminders you're in a 3 star in Cairo:
Room decor was extremely old. Smelled of old smoke so we kept the balcony open to freshen the air as much as possible. Was getting good by the third day. Pillows a bit flat. Bed was okay (firm but comfortable enough). Basic breakfast which didn't change (beans, cheese, bread, hard boiled eggs, coffee (which was very good).

Would stay here again. Honestly for us the only downside was the smokey ashtray smelling room. But smoking is everywhere in Egypt. Can't beat the low price for location in Cairo. If you plan on spending more time in your room and at hotel you may want to pay more for luxury. For us it was fine was we were out from breakfast to bed time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It's not in the main downtown area of Cairo but in a nice quiet area. Breakfast was reasonable (in 2010) and staff was helpful. The beds weren't particularly comfortable but we managed. Internet was only in the main lobby but there was seating area there so it was easy to use.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler_alb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Since 2009 i have been staying at this hotel, you get for what you pay. Basic, in terms of location is good. Rooms are very basic, I would check the room. Some occasions I had to changed rooms.

It is close to resturants, very quite, view is good. food is also basic. I would pefer it to another hotel that is also in Zamalek too expensive and worse than presedint although is closer to nile. I stayed there and regereted it called Flamenco oh my god keep away from it is doulble the prize and horrible.

I would still book with president mainly because of lacation!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank adosa_noor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

was is cairo from 27th june to 2nd of july 2012. Very pleasant. Clean Room 406. Breakfast modest. Wifi not in room which was a disapointment, you can only use only at the reception. Bell boys okay. Reception staff proffessional. Taxi service okay from hotel booking. Thanks. Will visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matild29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#50 of 138 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
1.7 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#27 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#12 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.8 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 138 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 22 Taha Hussein Str | Zamalek District, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — President Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel occupying the first & top 4 floors of an apartment building in residential area near embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing