We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central zamelek hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower

Save Saved
You added Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Sikkit Abu Al-Fida | El Zamalek, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Central zamelek hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

+ excellent central location one beautiful island in the middle of Cairo in the Nile
+ helpful staff
+ secure
+ well priced
+ next to nice coffee shops and shisha cafes
+ nice views
+ clean
+ traditional decor

- aged building
- no inclusive breakfast
- hotel car was a rip off
- low water pressure in bathroom

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    13
    10
    10
See reviews for
2
14
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed there several times.really good and clean hotel with an amazing view of river Nile.
breakfast is accepted.rooms are clean and the management is friendly.
the location is +++
yes i enjoed staying there and i recommend it to everybody

Room Tip: try to be in the highest floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel stays on very good location at the main road on Island Zamalek, . Its very clean part of Cairo and everything is very near. In front of hotel are 3 cafes. In hotel is very friendly and helpfull stuff. Rooms are big and I had beautiful view on Nile and main road. Just pillows are bad. Room was clean, just bathroom should be cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Different people have different expectations. What we wanted was a clean room with its own bathroom and a breakfast- we came to Cairo to see the city and its sights, not to spend a lot of time in a hotel. In the end, this hotel prooved not to be a bad decision.
The hotel was nice in its peak years, and some of that charm can still be seen. It could use some renovation, but overall it was pleasant.
Room was cleaned every day, breakfast wasn't very rich, but if you're not a very picky person, you can have enough.
The staff was friendly, except one girl who didn't speak English well- but we managed to understand each other.
We didn't have problems with paying, because we booked and paid the room via octopustravel.com (double room cca.60$ per night)- this seems to be cheaper and safer than paying on the spot upon arrival.
The biggest pro is its location. The neighbourhood is quite safe (there are a lot of foreign embassies in this part of the town), with a lot of coffee houses and restaurants nearby, as well as the ATMs and all kind of shops. From this location it is easy to reach downtown Cairo, islamic Cairo, as well as Giza an other sights.
Taking all in concider, if all that you need is a clean sleepover place Om Kolthoom is a good choice, but if you have bigger needs and expectations go somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Sadly I have to agree with several of the other reviews - the entrance to this hotel gives the impression of 4* hotel but the room had seen better days, it smelled of stale tobacco, the bathroom had seen far better days (all the pipes leaked so the floor flooded, the bath was black from years of scrubbing it, the bin was dirty, the shampoo sachet was already used...). The management were extremely rude - trying to tell me that their visa machine didn't work and trying to send me to get cash from an ATM - it was 10.30pm and I had just arrived from a 12hr train journey from Luxor so I refused, saying I would pay in the morning. They made me give whatever cash I had as a deposit and told me I could pay with a card the following morning and have my cash back. They did not honour this agreement. For reference I paid $80 for one night for a single room.

The breakfast was not that great, but there was a super friendly omelette chef who also made me some special fuul. He was lovely. Also the charming bell man carried my bags down the road to another hotel that I decided to stay at because this one was such bad service. He was also lovely and could see that I was unhappy (to say the least). And the person who brought me some room service was also warm and friendly. It is only the management who don't seem to care about their guests.

The Flamenco round the corner is much better value, infinitely cleaner with brand new bathrooms, although the management are not especially polite there either and increased the price I had agreed over the phone. This seems to be a feature of hotels in Egypt sadly.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room at the back. If you choose one with a Nile view, you will hear c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked to stay there by booking.com. When we arrived the receptionist gave us an exchange rate that almost doubled the price we booked for the room. We left the hotel without staying there..Avoid it!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

They did not tell us the emergency calls from Japan several times, even in the revolution period.
The receptionists insisted that they had no small changes.
The breakfast was so expensive and very poor.
They used mold smelling tap water for powder juice.
The room service was always absent.
So, my conclusion, this hotel was very Ancient Regime Arab hotel.
If you would like to have the 20 century post-colonial period unreasonable experience,
try to stay there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower

Address: 5 Sikkit Abu Al-Fida | El Zamalek, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om Kolthoom Hotel And Tower

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.