We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Windsor and amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel Cairo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Hotel Cairo to your Saves list
Windsor Hotel Cairo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Rome
1 review
“Love the Windsor and amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

The Windsor was recommended to me so my three friends and I decided to stay there when we got to Cairo. We loved the friendly staff and everything that the hotel offered. The rooms were spacious, very clean, and very affordable! Our favorite part was how nice and friendly the staff was! The food was delicious at the restaurant and the bar we ended up eating most of our meals there... I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who would like to experience Cairo!

Also, our tour guide Samir was great! He made sure all of us girls were safe and showed us all around Cairo and the pyramids... it was an incredible experience to get to see everything with someone who is actually from Egypt!

Stay at the Windsor!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    171
    63
    31
    36
See reviews for
52
128
120
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

The price was right and in a good location if you're happy to be in the heart of the city. The room I had was spotlessly clean, and had AC. The bathroom was brand new and everything worked perfectly. The staff are wonderful, especially the two ladies at breakfast. All in all it did the job. Would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

The first time I stayed at the Windsor I was enchanted. The second time I stayed for weeks and I will definitely stay there next time I am in Cairo. I highly recommend this hotel for its service, warmth, convenience, food, security and unique ambience of Egyptian charm. The bar manager Wagdy provides an atmosphere that draws guest to sit, relax and enjoy before of after strolling in the bustling streets of downtown Cairo. The Windsor offers free internet service and all staff go out of their way to welcome guests and to give them guidance during their stay in Cairo; they are delightful. Situated in the excellent location of downtown Cairo, the Windsor is constantly surrounded by the lively sounds of dice throwing and coffee house chatter. I feel that in finding this hotel I stumbled upon a real Egyptian treasure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Our deluxe room was not available (has anybody ever actually stayed in or even seen one of these rooms?) but we were shown two cheaper options and we settled for the more expensive of the two - a large, pleasant, en-suite room on the top floor.
The polite and helpful staff, the bar and bar food, and the general faded ambience of this well-located, venerable Cairo institution are it’s major plus points. Its only minor point is a very basic continental breakfast - outlandish and exotic extras such as eggs have to be paid for. We would happily stay here again.
The taxi ride to the hotel brings me to a wider question -
Is it a pre-requisite for taxi and caleche drivers to come from the sub-strata of society? The average man or woman in the street with their smiles and hails of “Welcome in Egypt” are genuinely pleasant, but not your average low-life driver. If a hotel negotiates a price then it doesn’t seem to be a problem but we found in Port Said, Cairo and Alexandria, a common denominator of lying and cheating when negotiating for ourselves. We never felt threatened, just uncomfortable with the same old arguments: e.g. the price we agreed was for two people, not per person (and don’t keep whining on in broken Italian about this actually being a carriage for four people and you have a family of twelve plus a horse to feed); or, the hotel name or address we gave was, in fact, correct, etc. The latter is part of the taxi-switching scam - your taxi driver claims he doesn’t know the place but another (local) taxi with whom he chats while stuck in a traffic jam does, and you are persuaded to complete the journey in the second taxi.
Is it a genetic problem? Cultural, perhaps? A problem with the curriculum of the Cairo Business School, maybe?
Anyway - a fine hotel in a fascinating city (would that we had more time to explore) in a fascinating country.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

The Windsor Hotel was nestled within walking distance to many area attractions such as: shopping districts, restaurants, and movie theaters. The location could not be any better and the hotel staff was more than willing to guide you to wherever you may need to go. The restaurant/bar is excellent. It is a nice way to start off the morning at breakfast or wind down at the end of a busy day. The Windsor has a lot of character and an incredibly accommodating tour guide, Samir. He planned the entire trip that I went on with a club from my college, and he met our every need and truly went out of the way to ensure that we enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

This is a one and a half star hotel that has a great bar with a lot of history and fabulous architecture. Several grubby security guards clutter the tiny foyer, as does a huge metal detector. The old lift is stunning and there is a charming ancient manual telephone system that is a real gem. However, the rooms are nothing short of terrible. The YHA would be more comfortable and cleaner. The front desk is hilarious and yes the manager always tells you that the superior room you paid for is not available and then charms you in to taking a lesser room without a refund. I can also tell you that there are NO superior rooms. The bathrooms overflowed during my stay and everyone had to go two floors up to wash.Ugh! But please, by all means definitely go to the Windsor bar and have a drink with the many international journalists that frequent it and then retire to your clean, comfortable accommodation ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed here with 4 young children. The hotel has a lovely old feel, and the staff are very friendly. The rooms were clean and big enough for three beds each. The air conditioning worked well. The communal areas are good. The bar is a wonderful place to relax, even with children, and to play cards, write diaries etc. The location is very good. It is 2 minutes from Ataba Metro which in turn is only one stop from Rameses Station. It is also easy walking distance from the Egyptian Musuem. The food is OK. Breakfast is mainly toast and lots of empty calories. However Gad restaurant is 5 minutes walk and there the food is fantastic, the service great, and it is very cheap.. Te hotel was slightly more expensive (90 USD for a triple room) than our usual budget but it was worth it for the staff and the location.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#23 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.