We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel Cairo

Save Saved
You added Windsor Hotel Cairo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 131 Hotels in Cairo
Texas City, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Windsor Hotel is located in the heart of Cairo, as it is nearby several attractions. Abdin Palace, Khan el-Khalili, Museum of Islamic Art, Egyptian Museum and Coptic Museum are some of the famous attractions, which attracts tourist from all over the world.
This is 3 star hotel, which is very close metro station. Windsor hotel is located away from the hustle-bustle of life. So, it is the serene place o stay. Rooms are clean and spacious, which are equipped with bathroom and bathrooms accessories. All the toiletries are also available in the room. They make our stay luxurious and comfortable. Apart from these facilities, hotel also features restaurant and bar. Food in the restaurant is delicious and barrel bar contains great drinks. All over the hotel is great place to stay with friends, family, relatives or loved one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    167
    62
    30
    35
See reviews for
50
126
113
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adealaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Old place in need of a face lift but still has great character and charm. Central Cairo and close to sites. Food and service is great. Their restaurant is full of old world antiques and charm. It used to be the headquarters of the british army during second world war. It is a family run business and the owners are first class gentlemen full of old school charm and will do anything for you. All staff were helpful and freindly. Rooms are spacious and have a bar fridge which you can put your cold beers in from the restaurant. Ask for a room with a soft matress. Most rooms are air conditioned - just ask. For the price - it is a gem. When you first arrive dont get scared off by the outside appearance. Its is old Cairo.

Room Tip: Ask for air con and soft bed with attached bathroom etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you're look for an experience, stay here. It's walls are steeped in history and management works to keep today's service an authentic representation of the hotel's past. The place has a simplicity to it that, interestingly, was once colossally colonial. I stayed here a few years back and really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Cairo is very noisy, but this place was just off major roads, so you could get a decent sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a 3 generation family run hotel in the heart of Cairo, but not in a main square which can be noisy. It is very close to a metro station and the family who owns it and runs it is wonderful. I was in and out of Cairo multiple times and I loved coming back to the Windsor. It was highlighted in the "Around the World" series with Michael Palin which is why I chose it. It has a very memorable "barrel bar" which is atmospheric to say the least. After a busy day in Cairo I loved coming back there, usually for a pot of tea, but it is also a bar. The owners will take very good care of you. I was a woman travelling solo and I loved the hotel and my very comfortable room. I am aware of all the turmoil in Cairo at the moment. If you are traveling there, the family will take good care of you. If you go in the future, please keep in mind this very special hotel!

Room Tip: Upper storey is always good in Cairo, but it is in a centrally located area which is part of a neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at the Windsor for 2 nights in mid June 2013. Really liked this hotel - especially the bar/lounge area; great place to relax, sip a beer with WIFI access for emails etc. Clean and comfortable rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location, being a 15 minute stroll to the Museum. Location is also very safe and secure, despite being close to Tahrir Square. Hotel put me in touch with tour guide - Samir Fayek, who arranged for a very comprehensive tour of the sights (The lack of tourists and traffic meant that I could accomplish in one day what usually requires two days - leaving my remaining day to explore the Museum and enjoy the Cairo atmosphere). Thoroughly recommend both this hotel and Samir Fayek.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is unlike any that I've ever stayed in. The bar and the elevator are amazing, as is the decor and photos in the rooms.

Our rooms were huge, some of them don't have aircon, but you can opt to upgrade rooms when you get there if its a problem.

The location is awesome, there's a metro entrance a street away, plenty of eating and coffee / shisha places downstairs and a main street a two minute walk away which is lined with shops and market stalls.

Breakfast is really basic.

The staff are great, I highly recommend getting an airport transfer with Samir who is associated with the hotel ( samirfayek@hotmail.com / +20 12 399 51 47) - so much better then having to deal with taxi drivers and he is a tour guide so points out all the sights and gives you an intro to egypt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here many years ago on business. Rather shabby and 'old-fashioned' at the time but having been there for 3 or 4 days I really got to like it. It felt like I was appearing in a black and white movie such as Casablanca or The Thirty-Nine Steps.
I should have known what to expect when I spotted a photograph of Michael Palin (as intrepid explorer) and owner high up on the wall in reception.
Very much hustle and bustle of Cairo outside. Cage lift to all floors. Male cleaners in Kaftan and Fez hiding in the shadows on landings. Bare floorboards and so on.
Take your own bath plug and toilet paper.
I may be doing them an injustice. I'm sure thing are better now.
A very nice time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#17 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.