We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real old school character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel Cairo

Save Saved
You added Windsor Hotel Cairo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 131 hotels in Cairo
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Real old school character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After talking and reading out it lots, we finally made it to the bar at the fabulous Windsor. The reception area had so much amazing character as did the bar. The staff are friendliest, funniest and most accommodating in Cairo - the lovely bar man has ben running his fine ship for over 32 years. We where enjoying the banter, cool temperature, peace and character so much we decided to eat in the bar too. Although clearly not very busy with customers (like all of Cairo at the moment), nothing was too much trouble and the babaganou was the best I have ever had. Please support this historical place - great staff are waiting so proudly of their hotel. A far cry from the cold impersonality of many 5* chain hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    167
    62
    30
    35
See reviews for
50
126
113
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is my favourite hotel in Cairo. The staff are welcoming, helpful & friendly.
I've stayed many times at The Windsor & am never disappointed.
The room I had this time had just been repainted - a huge room with beautful antique furniture & a huge bathroom, all in period with the hotel's history.
Breakfast is included & always served by the same lovely ladies. I don't think the staff has changed in the 5 years I have been staying there.
Rooms are air conditioned & there is free WiFi.
If you need a guide, driver, tour operator or travel agent, Samir Fayek is more than happy to assisit with anything you need throughout Egypt - +20123995147.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Windsor hotel is an old yet charming place that will inspire. My significant other and I stayed for two days and while we were there we had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Samir Fayek and his son Mina. Samir arranged incredible tours for us around Cairo, Alexandria and even a cruise down the Nile, all with local tour guides meeting and guiding us along the way. Samir is a dedicated, hardworking man who did his best and more to ensure that we enjoyed our time in Egyp, all the while learning more about its people and their history along the way. We would highly recommend him for anyone travelling to Egypt and looking to arrange engaging tours. We had looked around a little before we came to Egypt and the prices he offered were reasonable and fair compared to everything else we had seen. Mina was also a very kind, personable young man with excellent English. I have to admit that he knows his cuisine- he took us for some of the best meals of our lives!

Some notes regarding the hotel:
-the staff are wonderful, very genuine, kind people who went out of their way to help us
-it’s in a busy district with a mosque right across the street so it is as lively as it is noisy- bring ear plugs! --make sure you’ll be given a room with a bath/toilet if that’s what you need because not all rooms have these facilities and they do cost extra
-we were originally given a room that had not been used in a long time so everything was very dusty, check the sheets before you go to sleep
-lastly, sorry to say, but we did have unexpected visitors during the night…hopefully they have fumigated since then

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzbuehel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Windsor is located on the wonderfully-named Alfi Bey (Lord Alfi) Street. Past crumbling examples of Khedive Ismail’s nineteenth-century building boom, we pulled up opposite an outdoor café filled with hookah-smoking men. Across the street, flanked by clusters of trees, an art-deco entranceway led into our port of call.
   After stepping into the lobby, a dusky narrow space whose Bakelite switchboard might have been lifted from the movie "Casablanca", we proceeded past posters of Gstaad and St Moritz into what the Schindler Elevator Company describes as the oldest lift in Egypt if not the world. For two months, we stayed there, frequently dining in the legendary Barrel Lounge, where we were invariably indulged with the warmth that is so characteristic of the hotel staff.
   If there is one word to describe the Windsor it is atmosphere: bought by the current owners in 1962, time has stood still within its walls, and for anyone who favours the genuine over the one-size-fits-all, this is your place. To top it all, Samir Fayek, who served at the reception for several years and now looks after the hotel clients, will cater to your every touristic needs in perfwith unfailing

Room Tip: number 5 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

1st April 2013- We stayed at the Windsor Hotel for 3 nights at the start of our 2 week trip to Egypt. Samir Fayek arranged trips for us in Cairo, Aswan and Luxor. He arranged our travel between these locations and had helpful, knowledgeable tour guides in each location to meet us. In particular Mina Samir was an excellent tour guide and took us to amazing attractions! If you are in Cairo and want to see the city i would highly recommend having Mina as your tour guide! The Windsor hotel was old fashioned with friendly, helpful staff. The owner of the hotel took the time to speak to us every night in the hotel restaurant. The location of the hotel was central to everything you need in Cairo and was close to the Egyption Museum. Overall, the hotel was exactly as described and what we expected. We had a comfortable stay and would stay there again! We would highly recommend Samir Fayek for any arrangements you may need whilst in any area of Egypt!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We (three girls) stayed in Cairo for 3 nights at the Winsdor Hotel. The hotel is exactly how it is described, it is cool and interesting, especially the lounge area.
More importantly, we were put in touch with a man at the hotel named Samir Fayek, who arranges private tours of virtually anything you would want to see in Egypt. Originally we just asked him to arrange a day trip to Alexandria for us and we were very happy with it so we asked him to arrange our trip to the Nile. He gave us a fair price quote from the beginning, without even haggling and it was cheaper than the other tours we had already looked at. We were three girls traveling together and he treated us like his daughters. He gave us advice and arranged EVERYTHING for us. We had a long list of things we wanted to see and he accommodated everything. He is a well-connected man with knowledgeable, friendly guides and very professional drivers. We were passed from guide to guide in effortless transitions and Samir called to check on us frequently. There was never a moment of confusion or worry and our whole trip ran very smoothly. He even added a few extras in for us as we went, like he arranged guides for 2 places that we hadn't planned on. Part of our package included returning to Luxor by train. Unfortunately there was a railworker's strike and the trains stopped running. Before we had even found out about this, Samir was on it and had his contact arrange alternate transportation for us and we were provided with several options. As we watched the dismay of other travelers trying to figure out what to do, we had a car waiting for us outside within 40 minutes and we were on the road. This is to say that Samir went above and beyond consistently to ensure our enjoyment, safety and experience. I would recommend him without hesitation!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here in 2009 for a couple of nights and we were a bit shocked when we arrived. The hotel is in a rather unsafe area of Caro and our room was old, like rooms in the 1950s. I like old style if it's clean, however our room wasn't. The reception staff was just OK. The only positive thing in this hotel is the bar, where we had some beers and coffees and we liked the atmosphere of it. Would I stay here again? Not sure about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#16 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.