We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old and outdated!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Heliopolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Heliopolis to your Saves list
Le Meridien Heliopolis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51, Al Orouba Street | Heliopolis, Cairo 11341, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very old and outdated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its location, however i feel sorry that this hotel is under LeMeridien flag! This hotel is pretty old and outdated,it seems they didnt renew any thing in thier rooms since 1900!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views regarding your recent stay at Le Meridien Heliopolis. We are well aware that our Hotel needs some refurbishment and, as mentioned in our previous responses, our renovation plan, which unfortunately was postponed several times, will start this coming June. We are confident that once the renovations are completed, we will exceed your expectations in terms of refurbishment and service.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company soon.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    100
    49
    28
    19
See reviews for
36
52
43
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is maybe the third time I stay in this hotel, always coming back becouse of the business location and the continuous improvement of the service, but the hotel needs an urgent renovation, it is a must to continue with the Meridien Flag, please star the renovation asap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for your loyalty to Le Méridien Heliopolis and for appreciating the Hotel’s location and the “continuous improvement of the service”. We wish to assure you that our renovation plan will start this coming June and we are all enthusiastic and eager to engage in this great challenge. We are confident that once the renovations are completed you will appreciate Le Méridien Heliopolis more than ever. Looking forward to the pleasure of your company soon. Kind regards, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After enduring an 8 hour flight on EgyptAir with no choice of movies, no alcohol and no ice for soft drinks, it was good to get to the hotel and have my reservation dealt with quickly and efficiently. I haven't stayed at a Le Meridien for a while, but the rooms are adequate for the business traveller and, although the bathrooms seem slightly dated, the water is hot and the showers have decent pressure. I only ate at the hotel where the food was plentiful and seemed to be reasonably priced - although I'd expect cheaper options if I knew where to go. Heliopolis, the suburb, is close to the airport which means it's a fair drive to get to Tahrir Square and the Museum and a longer drive to see the Pyramids and the Sphinx. Traffic is terrible and being a passenger is not for the faint hearted. Le Meridien was a reasonable choice of hotels and should be considered by people with business in and around that area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to note that we were able to wipe away the uncomfortable 8 hour flight you endured when reaching Le Méridien Heliopolis. We thank you for highlighting your appreciation of the food, rooms and bathrooms although these “seem slightly dated” as you have gently mentioned. We wish to assure you that our renovation plan will start this coming June and we are all enthusiastic and eager to engage in this great challenge. Unfortunately, Cairo’s traffic is always congested that makes Le Méridien Heliopolis a favourite location for clients wishing to be near the airport. We thank you for your valid review and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Le Méridien Heliopolis in the near future. Kind regards, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I hadan overnight accommodation for a meeting in Cairo, and this was my first time to stay, although the location is not the best.. but the hotel is very clean, organized, and well furnished, staff are very friendly, smiley and helpful, they were very happy, and they offered me the VIP card immediately, also they were very keen to assure that everything's ok... i would really go there again and i will recommend it to friends.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your overnight stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis. We were delighted to note that we have made a good impression on your first visit to our Hotel and that you will recommend it to your friends.

Your kind comments were shared with the Executive Team as it is certainly gratifying when efforts are acknowledged by our guests.

Once again, we thank you for your positive review and look forward to the pleasure of counting you among our most loyal customers.

Kind regards, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I was taken to this hotel by egypt air, on the 4th of january, during my transit in cairo.This receptionist named Sherin was in charge of giving out the rooms. She was so rude and nasty to everybody. She made everyone who asked her a question feel like they were stupid or retarded.After I got they key to my room, I stood at the reception waiting for a friend and the same receptionist said to me "I gave you your room key, what are you still doing here?". I just stood there with my mouth open and couldn't say anything. After that kind of treatment, everything about the hotel just seemed ugly to me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We read with great concern your remarks and regret the discomfort caused by our Reception Clerk Sherine. While investigating the issue and without attempting to justify Sherine’s behavior, you may acknowledge the heavy responsibility that lies on her when handling a large group checking-in. However, with a more co-ordinated approach, the Front Desk Staff will do their best to minimize the inconveniences at check-in. We thank you for sharing your comments and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Le Méridien Heliopolis. Kind regards, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I'm writing my review right now from the lobby of the hotel, i stayed for one night 28/29 december 2012, it's 06:30 AM and i can't sleep because the AC in my room is not working..it's like an oven in there.i already told the reception at 9 PM yesterday yet they did nothing... I Dedinitley DO NOT Recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr Harouni,
Very sorry to read the comments you have posted in connection with your recent stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis, advising that you did not receive the typical Le Méridien experience we aim to deliver. We thank you for bringing this issue up and rest assured that we have immediately notified our maintenance department to avoid such embarrassing situation in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Heliopolis again soon. Our very best wishes for 2013. The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights . Rooms are very spacious and staff generally friendly, . Live music being played in the lobby , Free WIFI was available in lobby and restaurant ,. Room was great and comfortable beds , breakfast was a great plus I like it , but I cannot understand those aged fat staff ladies in breakfast hall .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Mr Osama,
Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Heliopolis while recently visiting Cairo and for posting a positive review of our Hotel, highlighting spacious room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, Free WIFI in Lobby & restaurant, great breakfast, live music in the lobby…. Too bad that you did not appreciate the services of our hostesses at breakfast. We believe, it is not ethical to dismiss someone on account of age or physical appearance, unless performance is weaken. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Le Méridien Heliopolis soon. The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Heliopolis

Address: 51, Al Orouba Street | Heliopolis, Cairo 11341, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cairo
#19 Business Hotel in Cairo
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the most exclusive site in the heart of Heliopolis lays this 283 rooms and suites elegantly designed hotel, Le Meridien Heliopolis offers a vast spectrum of limitless services, guaranteeing comfort designed with space and charm. The restaurants & bars range from formal to casual offering a unique assortment of dining experiences with an unparallel variety of International cuisine from the five continents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Cairo
Cairo Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Heliopolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.