We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at It's Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nile Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Nile Hotel to your Saves list
The Nile Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1113 Corniche El Nil, Cairo 12344, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury at It's Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

From the moment I step foot into the Nile Hilton, I felt as though I was of Egyptian Royalty. Our group had both of the top floor Penthouse suites at both corners facing the Nile. From the jacuzzi bathtubs, sauna, gold plated aunings and plush robes, we all felt like it was off an episode of MTV cribs. It was decorated with Marble throughout and I believe the Penthouse had three rooms, a formal living room, a dining room, four bathrooms and a wrap around balcony. The hotel offered a very nice restaurant at the top veranda which you could see all of Cairo and the Nile. I

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    15
    13
    9
See reviews for
18
40
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Nice big rooms, comfy large bed, had several TV channels in english. Staff not very helpful. No Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room. We eat at the buffet which was good value, and good western food. Pool was lovely, with nice changing rooms.

We found you either have to pay alot for a decent standard hotel in Cairo or you stay in something awful. After checking in and then immediately out of one of the latter hotels, went looking for a deal at each of the "5 star" hotels in Cairo. This was the cheapest and had the biggest rooms.

Be prepare to go through a scanner when you enter any 5 star hotel - I was very shocked at the guards wanting to go through my luggage. The "security checkpoints" just made me feel unsafe, not safer! Good location to visit the museum. Quite a distance to the pyramids. No free wifi.

We paid USD$270 not including breakfast. One time I tried to fill the bath up, but only brown water came out - but the hotel was renovating, so I put it down to that.

My advice is: don't stay in Cairo any longer than you have to, its polluted, noisy, the people are constantly hasseling you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel has good arrangement for site seeing. Good food. It is just opposite to the National Museum. Shopping street, & all other activities like dinner cruise.

  • Liked — Food & location
  • Disliked — Room Lights
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Heaven-sent after the heat and chaos of Cairo streets and tourist attractions.
Was very happy with this hotel, although the shop assistants in the lobby shops were bordering on disdainful towards women. Reception staff etc were VERY helpful and kind. Fantastic location right across from the Nile, and the Cairo museum. Breakfasts were great, and rooms very comfortable indeed. HIGHLY Recommend the Movenpick Vanilla milkshakes on the room service menu. Probably the best I've ever had in my life...

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

My partner and I originally stayed at the Wake Up Cairo Hostel... until we got sick (probably from the water or food) at which point we really wanted the privacy of our own room. We booked the Nile Hilton simply because it was close by. Boy were we glad we did!

We ordered room service all day when we were at our sickest and all the meals/tip cost less than an average dinner out and the food was decent too! The pool was a great cool down from the heat of the day. We were very pleased with our stay at the Nile Hilton and were so relieved to recover in a luxury resort.

  • Liked — The comforts (room, pool, food, etc.)
  • Disliked — It took several tries for the hotel staff to assign us a room with the correct sleeping arrangement
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. johns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Just spent three days at this Hotel. We had a wonderful time. Very friendlyly and courteous staff. I did not find the hotel outdated at all. The room was very comfortable, front service desk staff very helpful, the food was excellent - really no complaints. Location was perfect for our needs. The noise below not did troble us in any way

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing i can think of
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

This is one of the oldest hotels in Cairo, the hotel is from 70's I guess. The room supplies are very poor and the meal quality is not good.
The check in desk staff has problems with English, not easy to communicate.
Breakfast is very good, variety of food is good. Location excellent.

  • Liked — Locaiton
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nile Hotel

Address: 1113 Corniche El Nil, Cairo 12344, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nile Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-established Hotel with three-story extension (1983) in central downtown location on east bank of Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Nile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nile Hotel Cairo
Hilton Cairo
Nile Hilton Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.