We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location cairo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramses Hilton

Save Saved
You added Ramses Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramses Hilton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1115 Cornish El Nile, Cairo 12344 , Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 40%
Ranked #9 of 131 hotels in Cairo
A TripAdvisor Member
“central location cairo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

good location, although crossing the nearby roads is a terrifying experience. Friendly staff, clean rooms that effectively block out the heavy Cairo traffic noises. Currently good value for money. If you are looking for a quality gymnasium, you will be disappointing, however the views from Ramses Hilton is amazing taking in the bustling activity on the NIle and the adjacent October 6 bridge and motorways. For those who like to probe the mysteries of Ancient Egypt- the Ramses Hilton is across the road (get a local to help you cross it very scary) is the Cairo Museum.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Greetings from Ramses Hilton,

Thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor and taking the time to let us know of your enjoyable experience at the Ramses Hilton.

However, we would like to apologize for the Health Club service standard which was not up to your expectation. Although it is not run by Hilton, our Front Office Manager will convey your comment to them to take the necessary actions for improvement.

As for crossing the road to the museum, it is highly recommended to use a hotel taxi service for your own safety, as this road is not advisable for pedestrians.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton or any of our Hilton hotels worldwide.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    337
    154
    44
    34
See reviews for
201
324
133
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Ramses Hilton for four nights, and we loved every one of them. The view of the Nile from the 25th floor was great, the room was perfect, the staff was excellent.

In spite of being in the center of the city, the hotel can feel surprisingly isolated. It is hard, for example, to cross from it to the walkway along the Nile, and outside of the hotel's restaurants, it is not easy to find a good place to go that is nearby. The ways in which the roads circle around the hotel can also make it problematic for drivers to get one back to the hotel during busy times of day (most times?). One sees the hotel and assumes one is almost there, but no, one drives around in circles for quite a while, standing in traffic, waiting to get there.

But the Ramses Hilton was perfect for us, and we will surely return there the next time we are fortunate enough to be able to spend some time in Cairo. The great comfort and the perfect view are more than enough to compensate for the seeming isolation of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostafa K, Manager at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ramses Hilton, We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. The nice detailed comment on the hotel team performance means a lot to the team

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton or any of our Hilton hotels worldwide.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent our new year Eve at Hilton and had high expectation. I asked to upgrade from King Execustive to King Deluxe. However, the room and balcony both are so small. Do not trust what described on the hotel website! The room carpet looks very dirty. The tiolet still had un-flushed paper left in. The room temperature cannot be controlled. And the worst, it is so noisy outside though we are on 26th floor! One more bad service, the hotel only provided one robe for three of us. I cannot beleive I stay in a Hilton hotel. I think it is similar as HilodayInn Express.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostafa K, Manager at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Ramses Hilton and for taking the
time to inform us with your comments. We greatly appreciate any comments made
by our guests and constantl y strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
we have noticed the low ratings you valued your recommendation to return to
property, the overall accommodation experience , and the quietness of the room
during your stay at the Ramses Hilton . we have also read your comments and we
would like to explain that we completely understand your dissatisfaction and would
like to sincerely apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Please rest assured that we are following up with the Front Office
Manager and Executive Housekeeper on the problems you had during your stay in
order to make sure that the appropriate corrective actions are immediately taken
so that these situations do not reoccur in the future. Kindly note that we are in the
process of preparing for a full renovation plan for the hotel very soon.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton.

We look forward to welcoming you and your clients once m ore to the Ramses
Hilton and any of our Hilton Family Hotels worldwide in the near future.

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Me and my wife booked a room at Ramses Hilton on new year's eve. The hotel offered a package that consisted on a one night stay with breakfast included plus a three course dinner at the Maharaja Indian restaurant. Frankly, that was the best offer any hotel in Cairo would offer on that day.

Upon arrival, our check-in was a little confusing, we took a little time to finish and there were no smoking rooms available, but eventually they upgraded us to a better room, unfortunately it was not overlooking the Nile.

The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and moderately spacious. At night, we dined at the Maharaja which was excellent. The servers were extremely helpful and the food was authentic and delicious. Afterwards, upon new year's arrival, there wasn't much going on at the hotel itself but it was nice watching fireworks at midnight from our room's balcony on the 19th floor.

Overall, I would rate our experience as a 4/5.

Room Tip: Provide smoking and non-smoking rooms. Pick a high floor to eliminate street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostafa K, Manager at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ramses Hilton, We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. The nice detailed comment on the hotel team performance means a lot to the team

We would like to apologize for any inconveniences during the check in time.

Thank you for the great comments about our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton or any of our Hilton hotels worldwide.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A wonderful hotel! Everything was perfect. More than a 5 star hotel. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

I stayed here with my husband for 5 nights in late November and both of us were impressed with the quality of the hotel and the efficiency and helpfulness of all the staff that we encountered.

Location
=======
The hotel is in a great location, just opposite the Egyptian Museum. Other reviewers have mentioned that the surroundings are noisy - it is a very busy city with lots of vehicles that are constantly beeping so noise is to be expected and for us, it was all part of the adventure!

Checking in/out
============
A very quick, efficient, and friendly checking in/out process. Faultless.

Staff
====
Very friendly and helpful staff - all of whom went out of their way to ensure everything was fine.

A couple of times we came back to our room after a day out, to find a cute animal had been made out of spare towels - see photos!

Whatever we needed help with, there was always someone to assist - with things such as directions, hiring a driver for days out, local information, etc. and everyone was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

When the hotel manager heard (from one of other staff) that my husband was feeling a little under the weather on our last night, she rang our room to ask if there was anything she could do - send a doctor, send up a fruit basket, get medication etc. It was good to have that extra bit of service, which showed that the staff really cared about their guests.

Room
=====
Upon arrival we were asked if we wanted to pay to upgrade to an Executive room, which worked out at an £30 per night. The upgrade was definitely worthwhile - the room was very high up so we had fantastic views of the City, and the room was large and very well appointed with a large bed, a sofa, and lots of spare room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bed linen was of a lovely quality and the room was very clean. We could not have asked for more.

I'd definitely recommend the upgrade - one of the benefits is access to the Executive Lounge which has complimentary drinks and nibbles and an all round view of the city.

Meals
=====
My husband and I are both vegetarian so had been worried in case we would have trouble finding things to eat but we need not have worried.

The buffet breakfast had a HUGE number of different things to choose from and all the food was fresh, replenished regularly, and delicious.

We ate every evening in the hotel - the Indian restaurant was very good - again, the food was fresh and delicious. We also ate in the Sky restaurant (I think it was called) and when the chef heard from the waiter that we are vegetarian, he came out of kitchen himself and said that he could cook us anything we wanted!

Security
=======
As mentioned by one of other reviewers, yes, there was security - a scanner that you had to walk through when entering the hotel, and if we returned to the hotel via taxi from a day out, the boot contents was checked by a guard and a dog but we didn't find this annoying or intrusive at all. Security checks were performed quickly and without fuss and they didn't hold us up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Greetings from Ramses Hilton,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

The nice detailed comment on the hotel team performance means a lot to the team. We will convey your favorable comment to each Department .

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton or any of our Hilton hotels worldwide.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It has the friendliest n most courteous staff of any Hilton. Very convenient location. The food is just amazing. Highly recommend it for family getaway. Can't say enough about the location as it is right across the street from the Meuseum.

Room Tip: Good value when u get access to the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, The Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
Greetings from Ramses Hilton,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for the recommendation of the hotel.

We are glad to know of your satisfaction during your stay with us. The nice comment on the hotel location and team performance is much appreciated, We will convey your favorable comment to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton or any of our Hilton hotels worldwide.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I sit writing this review from my room in the Hilton Ramses.

Upon arrival one will be immediately surprised at the level of security in this building. All vehicles are stopped, the boot is checked and a sniffer dog is taken around the car. This is fairly quick.

Once passed the sniffer dog and into the hotel, guests are stopped by airport style security. All metals must be removed and placed in a tray and all bags must be put through the x-ray. Guests then walk through the metal detectors until they can get through without setting it off. The ladies were searched with the handheld detectors every now and then, possibly due to jewellery. A couple of times we were also frisked. Some people may find this comforting but all of us found it absolutely annoying, especially when returning with so many bags after a long day of shopping. Luckily in a one week stay we only had to queue up once to go through.

The staff at the Ramses are amazing, they go out of their way to help you, always make you a priority and are very friendly. When I asked for directions I was offered a map, insight info and the member of staff took me to the entrance of the hotel where he pointed the way. The staff at the concierge desk also deserve a special mention for the helpfulness and friendliness. We were offered an upgrade for an additional cost, which we refused, then considered, then refused, then considered and kept going through this cycle for quite a while. The gentleman dealing with our checking did not get annoyed once nor did he push a hard sale. He was all smiles and just meeting him and experiencing his friendliness was amazing. Since the first day we have been looking for him but have not seen him again. Housekeeping are also amazing and do a wonderful, wonderful thorough job. I cannot praise them enough. I was leaning against the mirror and left a little mark on it, when I came back to the hotel in the evening I had noticed this had gone too. They really pay attention to detail and always warmly greet you in the hallways.

The rooms are good, air conditioning works well, toilets are good, beds are decent, pillows are nice and the internet signal is strong. Upgrading to the executive rooms we hoped the rooms would be bigger/better but they are exactly and I mean exactly the same as the normal rooms. The difference being is internet is included as is breakfast and access to the executive lounge. The view from the non Nile facing rooms is just about horrendous. There were no issues with noise pollution and the little balcony was nice.

The executive lounge offers drinks and some snacks. Besides the fruit, the snacks provided are completely unhealthy and a definite no no for a diabetic. Otherwise they are delicious. It also provides a quite relaxing place to read or work. A dinner is also provided between 6pm and 8.30pm but the selection is not the best. There are 4 options per day that are changed day to day. Some days it is really nice, others not so much. But this is personal preference.

It was only twice that I encountered a member of staff that was not up to standard. The first time I went to the executive lounge to have some food warmed up in the microwave. I was told they don't have a microwave and that I should call room service who would do it. I returned to my room and called room service and was told by Rifa that this is against hotel policy and cannot be done. My brother called back and was told "I just told you" rudely after making the same request. I then called the front desk who advised there is no problem with having food warmed up. After a few calls to and from the front desk a gentleman turned up to my room, took my food, warmed it up and brought it back. Such a simple request in such a big hotel should not have created such an unnecessary fuss.

The breakfast buffet is nice, not the best, I'd give it 80%. It needs more variety and more importantly staff need to replenish items that have finished. I realised once something had ran out, it would not be restocked unless specifically requested, even then it took ages.

Today having called the front desk about three times to ask about tours, I was frustrated that no one was there to answer the phone. Likewise I called room service many times today to order somethings but received no response. At the end we gave up frustrated and an evening was wasted. For Hilton this is totally unacceptable not to have enough staff to man telephones.

Asking my brother what he thought of this hotel, he likes it but also rated it 3 out of 5.

Bottom line, I probably would not stay here again and would opt for one of the other hotels like the Four Seasons or the Kempinski.

Room Tip: Opt for a nile view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramses H, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Greetings from Ramses Hilton,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review on TripAdvisor.

We consider guest comments a valuable tool for improvement and more progres.

We are also glad that our Duty Manager, Manal Fouad, was able to satisfy most of your requests and had the chance to listen to all your comments and we assure you that we take them all into consideration and necessary action.

Thank you for appreciating the efforts of the team. We will forward your comment to them personally.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton or any of our Hilton hotels worldwide.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramses Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramses Hilton

Address: 1115 Cornish El Nile, Cairo 12344 , Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#4 Business Hotel in Cairo
#5 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramses Hilton 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ramses Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramses Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Ramses
Hilton Cairo
Cairo Hilton
Ramses Hilton Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramses Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.