We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“A Wonderful Respite after a Day of Sightseeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Save Saved
You added Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Saray El Gezira | Zamalek, Cairo 11211, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Respite after a Day of Sightseeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We loved this hotel and we loved staying on the island of Zamalek. Zamalek is an upscale area and it is quiet compared to the rest of Cairo. The old palace part of the hotel was lovely and it was nice to be in an historic place.
Our room at the Marriot was fine. We were in the buildings behind the pool area, not in one of the 2 tall buildings.
We loved sitting anytime of day in the garden restaurant. We were amazed at how many tables were in this garden area and, no matter what time of day, there were always a number of people enjoying their time in the garden area.
We loved the bakery for breakfast in the morning. We skipped the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    350
    99
    42
    25
See reviews for
152
370
71
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We concluded our holiday in Egypt with a 3 night stay on Zamalek. I looked forward to a relaxing stay at this "quality " hotel. I was much underwhelmed, with unsatisfactory service levels from the moment of arrival to departure.
I always make a point of reading reviews for hotels and chose the Marriott on the basis of reviews, location and value. The reader will note that the reviews are mixed for this hotel and whilst some aspects of this hotel are good, too many are mediocre and some outright poor.
Without going into too much detail, the reception desk was very badly trained in that I was held for 30 minutes as they attempted to place me in an inferior room to that which I had ordered and paid for in advance. I had read that this happens and had consequently taken the necessary precautions to combat this. After 30 minutes of excuses and untruths, they conceeded and provided a suite. However, I would have been happy enough to have the deluxe room that I booked, and avoided all of the stress of this arrival debacle. Check out too had problems in that they had put on a charge for two out of three breakfast taken, these extras were quickly removed, but it should not have happened.
Other impressions were that the staff were polite and friendly, the public areas were pleasant enough and the hotel structure was large and modern with a wide range of facilities. We tried several of the places that were available for meals and snacks. The service was generally good to satisfactory, but the food whilst looking tempting too often turned out to be mediocre in taste and preparation, not particulary good value for Egypt, but then the hotel is secure in having a captive audience.
The area around the hotel is sometimes described as being a quiet residential area, but this is a relative comparison. I found the area noisy, dirty devoid of acceptable restaurants but quite safe to wander.
I think may locals frequent the hotel during the evening for drinks and food, perhaps because of any immediate alternatives.
If you are old, poor sighted or anyway infirm then stay in the hotel, for you will not safely cross roads.
I found that using taxis found at the rear of the hotel were a good way of getting around. Airport, Pyramids, central Cairo all easily done. Get a price first, offer half and promise a good tip if the drive is smooth. (Even at full price they are still fair value by western standards). We all ended happy!
I would not use this hotel again unless the management has been seen to implement changes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gagadju
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We got the garden view room and it was worth it. The room was very clean and comfortable. Beds were soft and linen very clean. We had the best night's sleep at this hotel during our last four nights in Cairo. We were given a complimentary fruit basket and chocolate basket on the very last night of our stay.

This hotel is buzzing 24hrs due to the casino, security is very high. There are about 3 or 4 money changers within this hotel and a good business centre. As it was winter we did not try the pool although it looked quite nice set amongst the garden. Checking in and out was very quick and efficient.

This hotel is located in the leafy embassy area of Cairo on Zamalek island. This hotel had a very good cosmopolitan ambiance.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We were placed in the Garden rooms on the first floor. The room was not clean, the rugs and the bathroom were dirty, the traffic noise outside was awful and the guards stood outside our door all night and chatted. The wait staff in the cafe inside for breakfast and outside at the Egyptian Nights were slow and arrogant. The porters never arrived when they were expect to do so. The man at the business center tried to rip us off, as did the men at The Bakery. You could not walk outside as the area was dangerous. The rugs in the Palace area were also dirty and very worn. A shabby place and not a good advertisement for Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed here as part of a tour. Ideal hotel for those less adventurous as there is no need really to go outside for anything

Disappointing that Marriot Corporation can still charge Western prices even though their expenses are a lot less here

Whilst a perfectly comfortable hotel, with friendly and enthusistic staff, it did feel very "soul-less"

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I stay at the Cairo Marriott about 6 or 7 times a year, and I love it! I go to Egypt on business, but this hotel makes me feel like I am on vacation. The hotel makes you feel like you really are in Egypt, rather than just in a big western-style hotel that could be anywhere. The staff are friendly, the service is very Egyptian (everyone seems to be doing six things at once, but in the end they get them all done!), the beds are supremely comfortable, and the setting is ideal.
Nowadays, I prefer to stay in the garden court, but for first timers to Egypt a room in the tower overlooking the mighty Nile is surely the recommended location. Cairo is probably the noisiest city on the planet, so the double-glazed windows are appreciated. Not even ten-inch thick steel would cut out all of the Cairo street noise, but the double glazing helps.
The hotel has at least four restaurants and a pub. The restaurants include Italian, American-style, international café, and a Japanese restaurant. It is true that the food is quite expensive, but it is on a par with similar hotels nearby. They advertise that breakfast starts at 6 am, but the service-oriented manager opens at around 5 am during the peak season. Breakfast gets crowded, so earlier is better. Speaking of breakfast, they make one of the best Egyptian fouls I have tasted: foul is a traditional breakfast of fava beans roughly mashed with onion and tomato, and is a great start to the day!
In pride of place in the hotel grounds is the swimming pool. Not that I have measured it, but it is one of the biggest hotel pools I have seen. The surrounding area is tiered and lounge chairs are plentiful. At the back of the pool is a heated area and jacuzzi. The newly-updated gym is also at the back of the pool. Until recently, my one major complaint about the hotel was the gym – the equipment was so old that I am sure the ancient Pharaohs used some of it. However, now that it is updated with great equipment, it is truly 5-star standard.
The outside café area of the hotel is the place to be late afternoon and early evening. It is here that you truly feel that you are in Egypt. The crowd is a great mix of locals, gulf Arabs in all their finery (filling the surrounds with wafts of their exotic perfumes), Europeans, and people from various Asian countries. The atmosphere is friendly and has a great buzz. It is a great place for a drink and a traditional Arab sandwich call a hawaisshi: sensational Egyptian bread filled with minced lamb and then scorched in a hot oven.
On a more practical note, allow time for your check-out because it can take time. The fine art of queuing or is not a cultural value in this part of the world. You may think you are next on line, but in the minds of the locals, queues do not exist! Therefore, there is no next in line!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

OK. This is a very impressive building. The Courtyard Cafe's are very memorable (with unfortunately mediocre and expensive food). Exec Lounge was a fantastic benefit with evening hot hors d'ouvres. Drinks were very expensive though. Internet worked well. Location is fine if you don't feel the need to walk the neighborhood (seems safe but just nothing nearby to see). Hotel cabs are very expensive so take local taxi's. Very nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel Omar Khayyam
Cairo Marriott
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira | Zamalek, Cairo 11211, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#12 Family Hotel in Cairo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#17 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.