We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK base for exploring Cairo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino to your Saves list
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Saray El Gezira | Zamalek, Cairo 11211, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #20 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK base for exploring Cairo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Cairo Marriott hotel & Omar Khayyam hotel is an OK choice for discovering Cairo on a mid range budget.Its well located in a safe district overlooking the Nile. The main areas of the hotel have some palatial charm and the inner courtyard is an oasis of exotic delights.
We booked an executive level Nile view room which was a bit disappointing...very average...even with the view. But the dining area on the 18th floor was perfect for our needs and made our stay, excellent service. good food and fantastic views of the Nile.

White metered taxis were easy to get outside the hotel, private cars and tours were also easy to organize from the hotel.

Elsewhere in the hotel we found service poor, the so called concierge the worst we have ever encountered, some front desk staff rude, assistant manager unhelpful.

WARNING: THE SALON ( in the mall) IS A TOTALLY RIP OFF...AVOID..at all costs.!!!! without going on.. it was a very expensive and very unpleasant experience....hassled hassled hassled, i kid you not!

Would i stay again? probably not, I'd increase my budget and stay at the new Fairmont or the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    406
    127
    54
    32
See reviews for
173
405
95
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rome
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

well, I chose this hotel on tripadvisor among with others. they made the best offer: 156 us dollars for a double. great deal, great room. clean for being in egypt. but the best surprise was to find the bakery in the hotel, where I can have my breakfast every morning and my evening espresso. My morning Cappuccino and the fresh bakery were great and essential to me! I liked the pool and the jacuzzi in the evening.it's very safe and there are a lot of security checks. From the hotel we used to walk along the nile walkway to go to dinner, but it's not that great because of the city jam.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Our Executive King Nile room was great: spacious bedroom with comfortable bed & bed linens; roomy, clean,and well-stocked bathroom; and a balcony with a full view of the Nile which we really liked as first-time visitors to Egypt. The complimentary breakfast s and light dinners were okay -- convenient, not terribly extensive or exciting food options; the complimentary cold beverages and light snacks were fabulous after a day of touring in hot June weather. The location of the hotel in Zamalek is great too, within walking distances of several interesting artisanal shops.

A small minus: the lobby was like one small shopping mall with multiple little retail stores and a lot of traffic; one does not feel relaxed or restful stepping into the hotel from the outside.

The BIG minus was the staff: Our reservation had included a two-way airport transfer. One week before arrival, we were told the hotel provided only one-way transfers. After I forwarded the original reservation, they said they would honor it, even though technically they had since stopped that offer! Two days before our arrival, another staff wrote again for our flight details, which we had already provided. Once we arrived though, all the transfers were as promised, much to our relief and appreciation. But, other staff problems surfaced: A concierge who reprimanded us for not having an Egypt-based mobile phone number when we asked her to call for us a cab; after a few back-and-forths, she told us to go outside and one of the doormen could help us, which he did and which we should have done up front to spare us of the reprimands! Several staff who gave us the run-arounds for wanting to eat something of the local/Middle East/regional cuisine in the hotel, first because she didn't know what we meant by "local", "regional", "Middle Eastern", then because she sent us to their Gardens restaurant which serves mostlly Italian or continental cuisine, then for sending us to an area that served a lunch buffet but only for tour groups. And on our last night, avoiding our previously mentioned pedantic concierge, we asked the staff in the Executive Lounge to help secure for us a dinner reservation at Abu El Sid. She took down the information and said that she would call us back. We waited for 45 minutes to no avail; when we got up to the Executive Lounge, she was chatting away with someone ...

I realize that while not known as a luxury brand, the Marriott name is a respectable one, and we have had very satisfactory experiences with our stays at other Marriott properties including the one in Polanco, Mexico City. The Marriott in Zamalek is fine physically; its staff though, is unbelievably unprofessional and very poorly informed. A very strange disconnect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

The check-in was a pain in the [--]. We booked 3 rooms and requested for the rooms to be together. But never got the rooms together. Had to change rooms 3 times. The concierge was not very helpful. The brekky was amazing with a lot of choice. The casino is also good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed here during Ramadan last year and so was able to snag a deal. Upgraded to one of the suites for being a Marriott Rewards member and boy, was it a real suite! Bedroom was separated, which is why we got great nights of sleep. Bed and linens were super soft and comfy. Living area was so spacious, it felt like our own condo. Management even left a nice goodie basket upon our arrival. Convenient location to the Nile river cruise (just cross the street!).

Only downside was that the hotel was also a multi-use retail property, so that if you go downstairs, there are several shops, banks, restaurants all within the property. It is convenient but also quite a hassle as there seems to be less privacy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

This hotel is wonderful. We got to Cairo at 7am in the morning and they gave us a day room for gratis after a 28 hour trip from Australia.

We booked a front Nile View room and it didn't disappoint - well worth the extra bucks.

The hotel and grounds are great.

Close to local restaurants and shops in Zamalek.

Loved it and will come back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This was the first stop of a 10 day Egyptian tour and I have to say, it delivered. You will notice that overall, Cairo is filthy, so I did have to give it 3 stars for cleanliness. That being said, it's tolerable and unless you are a little obsessive, it should be fine.

The rooms are quite spacious. Ours was a little far, but I'm sure it was better because it was very quiet. The staff all speak English very well and communicating is very easy. The breakfast buffet is fantastic. They have anything and everything (from sushi to custom omelets). The front desk is fast and efficient. Having a bank at the hotel is also very useful. The outdoor cafe is quite good and the atmosphere is very pleasant.

You will see many different types of people at this hotel, tourists and locals alike. It is in a fairly central location, which is important as you will quickly learn traffic in Cairo is like no other. It is safe (dog walks around car before it enters the property) and even has a few restaurants within walking distance.

A random note in case anyone may be interested, while we were there, they had a weddding and I have to say that the decorations were gorgeous. They had it set up all around the pool. It was modern and chic. Not sure if anyone would ever need that information, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

We never made it to the casino, so I can't comment on that, but really, we were overall happy with this choice. One negative was that the internet was VERY expensive and they did not have WiFi in the rooms. Marriott shouldn't be so cheap on that.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Address: 16 Saray El Gezira | Zamalek, Cairo 11211, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
#14 Family Hotel in Cairo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.