We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between average and Very Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche Al Nil | PO Box 217, Cairo 11431, Egypt (Formerly Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Between average and Very Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hotel is in need of some upgrades. The staff are very friendly and the buffet breakfast is quite good. But even at the discounted rates it's still a bit overpriced in my opinion. There is no wi-fi in the rooms which in this day and age is inexcusable for a business hotel. There is a LAN cable in each room but the price of the internet is really expensive. Free wi-fi in the lobby with strong signal so that is OK. If you have to stay in Maadi it's probably the best option going but honestly if you are not that picky and want a room at half the price check out the Hotel Maadi around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Nile and you are able to see the Pyramids on a clear day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff.
We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at [Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We apologise for the non avaialabity of WiFi service in the room, as of first of April 2012, WiFi service will be available in the room in addition to the LAN cables service.
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sencerely

Michael Calixte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    66
    47
    26
    13
See reviews for
11
20
24
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Very nice and comfortable rooms, great view on Nile. For me ideal point for accomondation in Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Maadi for your stay.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed it among us. We shared your feedback with the management and staff to help us in order to always improve in our customer loyalty.

We hope to see you again in Cairo.

Regards,

Michael Calixte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

If you need to be in the Maadi district of Cairo this is a great hotel to stay at - excellent service, great rooms, wonderfully comfortable beds, very good breakfast, quiet and comfortable. Has decent facilities, recommend the Italian restaurant on the ground floor. I stay in many hotels for business and this met all my requirements very well

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Maadi on your visit to Cairo.We are happy to know that you
enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We
share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

Sincerely,

Michael Calixte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans Montana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Rooms are nice and comfortable. Excellent bed.Small choice of TV channels especially the English speaking news .Excellent service. Free WiFi only in Lobby. In rooms, you have to pay for cable and 24 hour connection which I found very expensive.
View on Nile narrow but still better than the grim towers surrounding the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask foir vie on nile and preferably from 9th floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

In my beloved city Cairo, if you are looking for the best hotel in Maadi district this is Maadi Sofitel. A wonderful Nile view that you can enjoy specially on sunset when you stand in balcony to look at other bank of this greet river you can see best ever villas in Egypt while people are riding their horses in backyard of these villas. Giza pyramids also are well visible
Very nice and proffissional staff, nice swimming pool

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I stayed for 1 night at this hotel and I just felt it is average to poor.
Service is very good with kind staff (as Egyptians are in general).
Rooms are old, dark, but clean. Free internet through cable. Bathroom amenities are nice, from L´Occitane. I had difficulties to take a shower since it is installed too low (i´m 1,77m).
I could listen to the people next door, which I didn´t care while I was sleeping.
Breakfast is just OK, with a nice view to the Nile.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

In short:

Clean & comfortable rooms, good breakfast, good price, good pool, good(ish) view of Nile and pyramids (depending on air quality) and friendly staff.

The Details:

Rooms are very clean and the beds excellent. The rooms on the Nile side are possibly a little narrow but more than make up for it in depth and balcony. The bathroom is clean and well featured. There was a problem with the hot water but a little patience and leaving the tap running sorted that out.

Breakfast is good although sometimes the service seems a little chaotic. It can take time to get coffee - so I suggest to ask - don't expect to be offered:) This sounds more harsh than it is meant to be.

The pool is kept spotless. This is good as bad pool water can really mess up your stay. There is a gym which is well kitted out (for a hotel) together with complimentary Gatoraid. Do take a towel from the room with you though - unlike many hotels - towels are not immediately available in the pool or gym area.

The view from the pool is pretty cool:) looking out over the Nile with lots of pyramids in the distance (left and right). Also it's remarkably quiet considering the amount of road noise. It's not without noise - it's just a lot quieter.

The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a good little gift shop downstairs and a few restaurants - all attached to the hotel. This I found very useful after experiencing Cairo in full force during the daytime. Everyone wants something. The hotel is not like this - just very pleasant.

Why not 5 stars? The bar service left a lot to be desired - not because of unwillingness of staff - but because many of the guys there are quite young - they don't know what Pernod is etc. Also the restaurants downstairs are fine for what they know but to be honest I had a terrible lasagna. Something the chef needs to concentrate on.

Also the airco was a bit noisy - I turned mine off at night and had no problems with being too hot. So if this is a real problem - I don't know.

For business users - what is strange is that there is no wifi in the rooms - only hardwired. This is ok for me but if you only have say an iPad that could be a problem. There is free wifi in the bar and breakfast room. Wifi price is ok and the quality of service service seemed fine.

Would I stay here again? Yes. No doubt about it. Are there better places in Maadi - possibly - but the pool - well - that was a BIG plus:)

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the Nile - take the rooms with the higher numbers (more or less > 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi

Address: Corniche Al Nil | PO Box 217, Cairo 11431, Egypt (Formerly Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the city's most fascinating sites & ancient wonders, Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi Towers overlooks the majestic Nile River, with panoramic views of the great Giza pyramids. This stylish hotel offers the convenience of a professional business center with its own superb restaurants, conference rooms, ballroom, world-class casino, heated pool and more, 12 km from downtown, 30 min from the CICC and 45 minutes from the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers Hotel Cairo
Sofitel Cairo Maadi Hotel
Cairo Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.