We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Cairo Semiramis to your Saves list
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

wonderful hotel with big rooms...didn't like the fact that they advertised it as it has a gym and spa but then it was closed..and the pool is very small. the location is near Tahrir square and had some disruptions while we were there

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Janay B,

I wish to thank you (Shokran) for posting your review of your family stay during October. Your review means a lot to us and I am sorry that we were not up to your expecations with regard to health club facilities. I only wish to highlight that, during Ocotber 13, health club facilities were on; gym, sauna and steam,massage ... except for the jaccuzi that was under regular maintenance for 3-4 days. I wish that you had brought your dissatisfacton to the managemnt and we could had sort it out at that time to make you satisfied.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future, where all efforts will be exerted to make your next stay more memorable.

I remain ,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    236
    70
    29
    18
See reviews for
134
182
64
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Can´t go wrong here: Good service and staff, excellent location, overlooking the river Nile and dinner outside again overlooking the Nile, nice food, Lebanese BBQ, good breakfast and a great location to explore Cairo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Telly2408,

I do thank you for your review and for the title as well "Location .." I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel, food, service and that its location facilitated enjoying city sites.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back, where all efforts will be exerted to make your next stay enjoyable and successful.

With my best regards,

Yasmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Everyone there was very nice and they focused on making sure we were safe where ever we went. Our room over looked the Nile and it was amazing. Because of the issues in Egypt right now we paid for a private driver from the airport to hotel and for all our sites. I would definitely recommend this now. Just know the drivers get extra money for taking you where they want you to go, so negotiate before you leave and be VERY clear on what you want. Make sure to read travel notification from the Embassy before your travel so you know what you're getting into. Honestly though, the hotel was really what made our stay here awesome!! Thank you to all the staff that we met!

Room Tip: Ask to over look the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Chicavm,

I wish to thank you for posting your review of January-stay and I hope that you and your partner enjoyed hotel stay and the city as well.

Your comments do mean a lot to us and I will sure pass your kind words to all my hotel colleagues.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to the Semiramis InterContinental.

With my best regards,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here in 2013 and was really impressed. We had a club room which overlooked the Nile which was beautiful, by night it was a a hive of activity on the water and the bridge, not to mention the street below... there never seemed to be any let up in the traffic. In the early morning it was lovely to watch people out fishing in small boats and also to watch locals swimming along the banks.
Our room was on a high floor & had a stunning balcony which, due to the angle, gave amazing view points. The room itself had two queen beds which were the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in, the pillows were incredible, there is a pillow menu, we didn't need it as the beds & bedding were incredible. The bathrooms are beautiful, very well equipped, slippers, gowns etc and the fluffiest towels :) Large plasma TV, writing desk, relaxing chairs and generally, a very comfy, welcoming room. However, there is no wifi in the rooms and that's a real downer for such a modern, well equipped hotel. The club room gives access to a lounge with a dining room annexe where you will be served an utterly gorgeous breakfast, the waiter asks if you want juice, you say yes and they will then juice any fruit under the sun for you! The breads and pastries are scrum diddly-umptious! A full cooked breakfast is available as well as continental. The lounge has computers and printers for use by guests, TV's, radio, newspapers etc and serve afternoon tea. There are amazing views of Tahrir Square from this side of the hotel.
We ate at Sabaya on our first night, this Lebanese restaurant is amazing, we had never tried the cuisine before and wouldn't be very adventurous but the restaurant manager went through the menu with us and helped us chose a wonderful and thoroughly enjoyable meal.
We also ate in the main restaurant upstairs and had the most sumptious steak EVER! As it was early evening we were allowed to choose where we sat, obviously we chose a wonderful table in a corner which was surrounded by huge windows overlooking the Nile. The restaurant staff throughout this hotel are unique, so professional yet they have so much time to engage in conversation with guests, talking not only about the food but any subject. We certainly had some wonderful chats with many of them.
Location wise the hotel is spot on! Right across the bridge you have downtown Cairo, around the corner you're at Tahrir, the Nile is directly in front and taxi travel is very reasonable and easy!
This hotel was chosen due to it's location (we were visiting Egyptian friends in Cairo) and the club room was a little "treat" (thinking it was a one off visit) however, we are going back to Cairo in June and will book a club room again. After staying here, it would be difficult to chose another hotel over the Intercontinental. It's a little piece of luxury you simply must try.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, Nile view room. Club rooms have a lot of "perks"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Monica S,

I wish thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for posting your review of your May-13 stay and for recommending our hotel.

I am glad to read that you and your family members enjoyed hotel stay and tried new food experience in our Lebanese restaurant.

Will be looking forward to welcome all of you back in 2014, where no effort will be spared to make your coming stay a memorable one.

With my very best regards,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at Semiramis and enjoyed each one of them --- luxury and elegance is all over the interior - the lobby place with the diversite restaurants, the piano playing during the night, the superb breakfast and the special service from the staff. The view is very beautiful even for the city-facing rooms overlooking Tahreer sqr. Ideal location , I propose you take a walk next to the Nile to Zamalek. Opposite to some other people reviews, we had not a single disturb during our sleep (probably because we were allocated at 21st floor) -- Highly recommended

PS --- I cannot believe how a hotel of this status does not provide WiFi internet in the rooms !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Marios G,

Thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for posting your review of your Dec-stay. Your nice words on hotel service, location and facilities are really appreciated and I am pleased to know that you and your partner enjoyed the stay in our hotel. I understand your concern about non-availability of wireless internet in room, however access point is available upon guest request to overcome it (Appreciate adding this request to your next booking) . In the meantime, wireless connection is available in all hotel's public areas.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had two nights in Cairo and chose the Intercon at Semirais over the HI and Intercon at City stars. Reviews we read hadnt gave this property enough credits. Granted, it is a bit old from the outside (as is most hotels at the RIver Nile), but the convenience of it being near the River Nile and a 2min walk to the Museum justified our decision, with less traffic than the properties at City Stars.

The downside might be its lack of wifi in rooms (LAN is fast and hassle free though) and its poor sound insulation when staying in rooms facing the Nile and the main roads.

Won 5 bucks from the Casino atthe 3rd floor, so that made me happier.

Good selection of 3 restaurants with the highly rated Bird Cage Thai restaurant, we gave this hotel 2 thumbs.

Room Tip: Good to pay a little more and watch the Nile as the sun sets. Good sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear AbuDhabiWil,

Thank you very much for posting your review and for your nice comments regarding our hotel's location and restaurants' varitey.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and partenr in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel returning from a trip in Jordan, great all round, 5 star service and luxury as you would have expected, we stayed in the club suit which included breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks and snacks, all of which were so good, you really didn't have to venture out to any other restaurants in the hotel or outside. Nevertheless, we did eat at the hotel's Italian restaurant which was equally great. One thing to mention was that the service in the club suit was exceptional with one gentleman in particular especially brilliant.

We also used the spa and had a message which was great.

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights just before the Egyptian army dismantled the protests by the Muslim Brother Hood and therefore the hotel was very quite with few tourists and mostly international press staying there, however, the hotel's security was very comprehensive with a 'ring of steel' perimeter security fence and so we felt secure and so can still recommend the hotel to tourists whatever your views on the current political situation.

Location wise, the hotel is opposite the Nile, with Tahrir Square directly behind the the National Egyptian Museum is a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Samuel C,

Thank you very much for posting your review and the nice words in. I am delighted to know that you and your spouse enjoyed your hotel stay.

Looking forward to welcome you and your spouse back to the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel in Cairo.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Mananger
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#15 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 728
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, Semiramis InterContinental Cairo is a symbol of modern style. Located in the heart of the city centre, facing the River Nile, the hotel is close to the Egyptian Museum, the Cairo Opera House and the Cairo Tower. The Citadel, Old Cairo, downtown shops and commercial centre are nearby. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are just 25 km (16 miles) away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.