We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best intercontinental hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Cairo Semiramis to your Saves list
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 643 Reviews
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best intercontinental hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel to me is like my home, the location is the best in Cairo with the great Nile view. All staff are more than friendly and really helpful. Room size is great and comfortable. Service is brilliant. Overall it is highly recommended hotel for any visitor to Cairo.
If you staid at Semiramis once I guarantee that you will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Hussain B,

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted knowing that you consider our hotel your home and that we were able to make your stay along with your friends an enjoyable one.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel.

For more updates on latest hotel's promotion, please visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SemiramisIC
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ICSEMIRAMIS
TripAdvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g294201-d299113-Reviews-InterContinental_Cairo_Semiramis-Cairo_Cairo_Governorate.html


Thank you,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    214
    65
    29
    18
See reviews for
124
175
61
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have been using samiramis hotel since 1996, it is like a home for me
it is a place I first recall when thinking about Egypt and Nile river
It is good for business meeting, conferences, leasure and family gathering

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Gkhoury,

Thank you for your patronage and continued support to the hotel. It was a real pleasure reading that you have been considering the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel your home away from home since 1996.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again and again to the hotel.

For more updates on Semiramis InterContinental Hotel's promotions, please visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SemiramisIC
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ICSEMIRAMIS
TripAdvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g294201-d299113-Reviews-InterContinental_Cairo_Semiramis-Cairo_Cairo_Governorate.html

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is by far the worst "5-Star" hotel I have ever stayed at. I wonder to what standards they give themselves 5-stars from? The walls in the room had full of stains. Everything else was not to western cleanliness. The staff were not friendly or accommodating. On the arrival morning I asked the concierge where to go for a local coffee shop or tea. He told me to walk to Tahir Square, which I did only to find out nothing was open. Apparently shops in Cairo don't open until very late morning. Wouldn't this kind of information be known to a hotel concierge?

The next morning we went down for breakfast, which was pretty poor for a "5-star" hotel. Half way through the breakfast, we were told that our reservations did not include breakfast. WTF?? Seriously Intercontinental? They charged us $50 for two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear VDlong,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo,Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

my husband took me for a weekend celebrating my 58 birthday. Everyone was so nice and really accomodating. I would like to thank them all, particulary the staff at the Lebanese restaurant Sabaya and Viola at the front desk. We had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful view of the nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear gihan g,

Happy Birthday and thank you for posting your review. We are pleased that you and your husband choosed our hotel to celebrate your birthday.

I did pass your comment to Sabaya crew and Violet from Reception!

Thank you and many happy returns

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We are very happy to have chosen "InterContinental Cairo Semiramis".
The hotel is very good and the room is very beautyfull, but perhaps 5 stars is too.
All staff is polite and helpful.
Placed in a good position in Cairo, but the noise is very high also at 14th floor in the night.

I heartily advice this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Marcuze,

Thank you (Shokran Gazeelen) for posting your review and for recommending our hotel. We are pleased knowing we were able to make you and your spouse happy during your stay in June.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel in Cairo.

For more updates on Semiramis InterContinental Hotel's promotions, please visit:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SemiramisIC
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ICSEMIRAMIS
TripAdvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g294201-d299113-Reviews-InterContinental_Cairo_Semiramis-Cairo_Cairo_Governorate.html

My best regards,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Back to InterContintal Cairo Semiramis .The last week which we spend in this great hotel was remarkable . The hotel is our favorite home when we travel to Egypt , which we encourage every one in the world to visit. It is safe and secure
Masr ,as we call Egypt is ' Umm el dunia ', which means the Mother Of The World. It is the first civilization in the history which goes 7000 years back.It is a fact that the one who build it, originally ,was a sweet maker . The country is safe and secure. There is a say , Any one who passed without seeing Maser,Egypt ,as if he did not live.
Egypt is a museum, millions of old cites , the fantastic Pyrmaids .wadi almolok(Kings valley ),al aqsor,Aswan,the Nile ,Cairo ,Sharm al shak , the beautiful shores and more places to be mentioned .Again Egypt is safe and secure, we call every one who plan a vacation to go to Egypt .It is guarded by God ,as Egyptians's believe .
The week which we spend in the hotel could not been described .The hotel staff,with no exception ,made our stay great ,Their dedication ,warmness, and smiles,are remarkable.Thanks to the management ,who are motiving them to do their job Ina friendly manner.With no exception ,the priority club personnel starting with miss Nesma Atef again ,proved to be excellent envoy yo the Hotel. She has a share from her name,which,means in English, the summer breeze .All the staff in the club where frindly and efficient ,to name some of them, Yusra ,Ahmad, sharef,Abu suzi and hussam. Mary,Niveen,Nehal ,in room service should be mentioned .The Egyptian food which they prepare are suberb.Mohamd Hassan and Heba in Restaurant are of first grade employee .We advise tourists to stick to the Egyptian Gourmet when the are in Egypt .They have to remember that say (when you are in Rome do as the Roman do) .Thanks to all the people who made our stay in Semiramis InterContinental Cairo Great.
Mrs Dr. Jihad Elnabulsi
Dr.Abdullah Elkhatib

Room Tip: Ask for higher Nile view floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Dr. Jihad Elnabulsi & Dr.Abdullah Elkhatib,

Thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for your warm and kind words by which you described your stay in Egypt and the Semiramis InterContinental. It is always a pleasure to receive you, your spouse and all family members in our hotel, your home away from home. I will sure share your message with the rest of hotel team.

Thank you again for your continuous support and looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel in Cairo.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sheirf.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very happy with the size and cleanliness of the room and our request for another bed was quickly accommodated. The service was good in the restaurant and staff by the pool who bought us drinks and snacks were friendly and efficient. Breakfast wasn't included for us but we ate it there several times and were happy with range and quality on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear vintageEm,

Thank you for posting your review of your May stay. It was a pleasure reading that you and your friends enjoyed staying at our hotel.

Hoping that the hotel will always be up to your expectations and looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back.

I remain.

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairo
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#17 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 728
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, Semiramis InterContinental Cairo is a symbol of modern style. Located in the heart of the city centre, facing the River Nile, the hotel is close to the Egyptian Museum, the Cairo Opera House and the Cairo Tower. The Citadel, Old Cairo, downtown shops and commercial centre are nearby. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are just 25 km (16 miles) away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.