We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Business Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Cairo Semiramis to your Saves list
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 643 Reviews
Sherborn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Business Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel was excellent all-around; the rooms were very nice, they had wonderful beds and pillows, and the restaurants were great. I had to use the Business Center and the customer service I received there from Ahmed and Ehab was outstanding! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear BostonTraveler1616,

Thank you very much for your post of your stay in the Semiramis. I was pleased reading through your comments that you and your friends enjoyed the hotel experience in December and the Business Centre Service, which made you dedicate two lines for that in specific (for which I do thank you for).

I am looking forward to welcome you and your friends back in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    214
    65
    29
    18
See reviews for
124
175
61
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on Tahrir Square with great views on the Nile. Rooms are showing some age and the pillows are seriously un comfortable but this is about it. Everything else is just great from the lavish breakfast to the variety of restaurants which are excellent. The service here is something you will remember because it is special.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Oibhais,

Thank you very much for posting your review of your January stay. It is a pleasure reading through your comments; your kind words are encouraging. On the other hand, I wish you could have raised the issue of the pillows during your stay to change the pillows for your satisfaction as the hotel provides variety of pillows upon request. Meanwhile, yes, the hotel is old, it is more than 25 year old, but its rooms are well maintained.

Thank you again for your review and looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourdia
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

In November 2012 we stayed at the Semiramis for three nights following a two-week cruise through the Mideast. The location is perfect, adjacent to Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum, and offers a gorgeous view of the Nile. Cairo is a city that never sleeps with active night life, intense traffic, and lots of noise. We loved being able to step out on our balcony and look out over the frenetic life below yet, with the heavy drapes closed, it was blissfully quiet and serene. Our room was spacious and well-equipped.

The hotel offers free wi-fi in the lobby along with shopping, cocktail lounge with live music, casino for non-Egyptians, and several restaurants. We especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the Night and Day restaurant where there is an amazing selection of fresh juices, the pita bread is hot from the oven (the lady who bakes the bread is especially sweet and friendly), and the fresh fruit and vegetables are very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My cousins, sister and I stayed at the Intercontinental Semiramis Cairo for two nights in December 2012.

It is a beautiful hotel. It is well-placed within the busy cairo city centre. The rooms with a city view have an excellent view of Tahir Square from the balcony outside the room which is lovely to sit out and watch the city from. And the view from the front of the hotel is off the nile so you are simply spoilt for choice!

The rooms are large and comfortable and clean. The staff were lovely, very welcoming and pleasant and best of all helpful. The hotel has a lovely cafe with amazing cakes for sale. Breakfast was awesome. Food was fresh and appetizing. The wait-staff were super helpful and eager to do what they can to meet any dietary requirements. Travellers must try the egyptian bread cooked right in front of you which is simply delicious hot from the oven.

The hotel also has several atms in the reception area which are useful to use during your stay. There is also a little shopping arcade which leads out of the lobby which includes a pharmacy, spa, souvenir store with reasonable prices (bargain bargain bargain!), and book store. Being right on the nile means that you are in the busiest area of Cairo and walking around late at night is not recommended.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who visits cairo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Camish52,

Thank you for your kind words describing your stay at our hotel. We are proud knowing that you and your frineds enjoyed your rooms, hotel facilities, and service during your December stay.

We look forward for welcoming you and your friends back in the near future to the Semriamis InterContinental in Cairo.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in Semiramis in jan 2013 for 3"2 days as part of a month long trip in asia and the middle east. My stay was extremely pleasant, starting with the staff at the reception, who were very welcoming, smiling and friendly. The room has an authentic Arabian style but it it s comfy and clean. The view on the Nile was very nice as well. The breakfast buffet is probably the best in the region, everything is freshly cooked and tastes very good! Try the toomia and the waffles. I also tried the swimming pool and the sauna, they were not bad at all!
On the negatif side there was no wifi in the rooms, but i was able to connect via cable to my laptop and the Internet was free.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Samer_kallas,

Thank you very much for posting your words on your stay in January at the hotel. I am happy knowing that you enjoyed your hotel room, food and service.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Intercontinental on our last day at Cairo on 29th December. Though we booked the hotel well in advance paying the whole amount almost 2 months before, still the reception insisted us for a block on our cards which is the first experience in my life after staying all across other 5 star properties like Hilton, Conrad and Radisson.

The Manager at reception was highly insensitive towards us and it took us almost 20 minutes to checking even though all passports and documents were given. More so the room that was given didn't have all the toiletries and one of the phone was not working. the biggest shock was when we ordered the room service for food and rather than asking us to sign on the bill the waiter asked to pay cash right away. A complete ridiculous experience and definitely my last stay in the hotel ever. The bed we slept in was the worst as we had the most uncomfortable sleep of our trip.

Also wanted to point out the fact that the security check at the entrance is below par as there are no scanners and all things are checked manually.

Please avoid. There are much much better 5 star properties to chose from in Cairo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear AseemAgr,

Thank you for posting your review of your December stay in Semiramis InterContinental Hotel. I do apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay; and I would like to highlight some points:

1) Re hotel request for a credit card authorization; it is a hotel policy to request it to cover room extras as well as to facilitate the checkout procedure, and as an exception, the receptionist informed you that 'no post' to room bill will be activated and that explains the request of room service attendant for cash payment and the delay of check in.

2) Hotel security check; the hotel applies x-ray scan for luggages and not for small bags e.g. lady bag, etc...

As for bed comfort, I hope that you could have raised that issue during your short stay to rectify it on the spot.


I hope that I have clarified above points clearly and I do remain in case of further queries. Looking forward to welcoming you and your partner in the near future where no effort will be spared to make your stay an enjoyable one

My best regard,

Sherif Abourida
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Impeccable service for a large hotel. We stayed 3 days in a deluxe suite and the view over the Nile, to the Opera House and Tahrir Square was worth every penny. Centrally located in downtown Cairo, it's walking distance to the Antiquities Museum, Opera House and the US Embassy. We dined at the Lebanese and Italian restaurants which were well priced for hotel restaurants and the service was excellent. Beautiful pool area and a small shopping center located within the hotel.
The staff at the Semiramis anticipated our every desire. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear waveguy777,

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure knowing that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel this January. I will sure pass your kind words to Pane Vino's and Sabaya's service and kitchen teams.

Looking for the pleasure of welcoming you again in the hotel in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairo
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#17 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 728
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, Semiramis InterContinental Cairo is a symbol of modern style. Located in the heart of the city centre, facing the River Nile, the hotel is close to the Egyptian Museum, the Cairo Opera House and the Cairo Tower. The Citadel, Old Cairo, downtown shops and commercial centre are nearby. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are just 25 km (16 miles) away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.