We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Poire

La Poire
73 Mostafa El Nahhas St. Beside Barclays Bank Egypt, Cairo, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #460 of 3,909 Restaurants in Cairo
Restaurant details
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Take away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I use to go to " la poire" at shooting club el Dokky , Giza. Food and desserts are good enough , but the restaurant area is a little small , I used to invite friends and family for " Iftar " in the month of Ramadan in this restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best chocolate ball in town .. and that is it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I love chocolate ball and they happen to offer the best I can find, although they keep making it smaller and more expensive, but still it is the best.
Everything else - of the cake based and western sweets - are average compared to their high prices.
The eastern sweets are not that good .. I would not recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Baklavas - stick with the Oriental Sweets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went here three times (maybe four?) while I was in Cairo, Egypt. Delicious and gorgeous looking Baklavas/Oriental Desserts and helpful service - the staff even gave me a few pieces to try while I was ordering. We also tried the Mille Feuille but no where as good as the Baklavas - there are branches all over the city so no need to travel far for amazing oriental desserts!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very tasty sweets and fresh and so many varieties especially the oriental sweets.
- It has a home delivery service
- Some branches serve breakfast you must try it

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Especially Western”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I like it very much ........ woooooow especially western sweets .... eastern is not bad but other made better ... gateau is the best they do, some cakes

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poire also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to La Poire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Poire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.