We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to North Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Royal
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Talaat Harb Square, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Cairo B&B and Inns
Danbury,ct
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Welcome to North Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel occupies a floor in a very old building, not uncommon for hotels and hostels in this area of Cairo. The foyer is old and in atrocious condition, looks like you will risk your life taking the lift. Once you reach the sixth floor a clean and comfortable lobby is likely occupied by people smoking most of the day, absolutely typical in Egypt, welcome to 1970's America. Bathrooms are basically added in to the rooms by partitioning a corner with a six foot wall with standards that are below the western world. Breakfast is very simple, just eggs and bread with coffee or tea, expect a long wait for service. The hotel is not quite in the evening as Egyptians drive with their horns, all the time. I don't think it's possible to escape the noise.

Wondering why I gave it 4 starts? You are not in the US or Europe so adjust your expectations. After spending 6 weeks in north africa I can definitively say you are taking a large step back in standards so if you are not comfortable with lower standards then opt for high end hotels.

On the positive side the rooms are clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The staff went out of their way on our second day to move us to two adjoining rooms. They were always attentive and helpful, this goes a long way in my opinion. Other reviews mention hard, uncomfortable beds but this is typical for Africa and Asia where beds tend to be much harder than the US or Europe. Beds at the Royal are firm, not hard. Location is excellent for downtown Cairo.

Be forewarned about the common Cairo scam of a stranger approaching you on the street, wanting to give you directions. Invariably they will guide you by a "government shop" where you should do your shopping. They are paid to push tourists to the stores.

If returning to Cairo I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    21
    10
    1
    10
See reviews for
11
19
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is a disappointment.

Bed was hard, sheets didnt fit the bed. Not even a chair in the room.
Breakfast was often slow coming and it appeared that only one cup of tea was permitted.

Staff put on a friendly face but charge 20 US dollars, about 130 Egyptian pounds, for a taxi to the airport.
My taxi, hailed from the street, and metered, cost 60 E P. Much the better way of doing it.

Electricity failure meant no lifts so 6 floors is quite a strain especially as one chap had to carry his bag up the stairs, in the darkness, only to find that there was no water.( Electric water pumps needed to pump to the top of the building.) They didn't tell him as he was booking in. He found out the hard way when he tried to flush the loo!
Several people had to move out of the hotel. In spite of having paid for it..
No apology was made about the lift failure or water failure, nor was there any offer to lug the bags down the stairs.

They seemed Unconcerned!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the friendliness of the staff and its location near the Egyptian Museum and Tahrir Square. The room we were in was rather large and had a nice view of the Square below. The breakfast is ok. The furniture in the rooms if improved, and if a flat screen TV with satellite channels is installed would make the rooms top notch. The lobby area definitely needs improvement. New modern furniture and better sitting could make this hotel into a nice boutique hotel. however, the worse part of this hotel was the tour that they promoted to us and which we booked. We felt cheated. Thjey charged us $95 for this tour and really that money was the driver and car. At the Giza Pyramids the driver took us to another tour compnay were they over charged us for another tours to the Pyramids. We felt like a captive audience and didnt really have a choice but to pay. It really clouded our view of Egypt because it was our first sight seeing since we arrived. Not sure if the staff was aware of this but given that they promote their tour it gave us a bad taste in our mouths. While I might stay here again, I would never book a tour with them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Don't be put off by the entrance. The hotel is actually located on the 6th floor and there is a common elevator lobby used also by the other tenants of the building. All kinds of people around the entrance and shops on the first floor. Nothing to worry about though there are plenty of hustlers on the streets it is perfectly safe. The hotel will pick you up at the airport if arrangements are made the day before. The rooms are clean, basic and simple but the air conditioning works and the breakfast is good. In my opinion, the best part of this hotel is the manager Hussein Saleh. He is very friendly, knows everything about Egypt and where to go, very kind and helpful. He will make all of your arrangements including hiring guides, purchasing tickets for airline, tours, boats and just about anything else you can think of (that is legal). I would hightly recommend this hotel just because of this . We arrived with just a ticket to Cairo. Hussein arranged and purchased tickets for our flight to Luxor, Nile cruise, arranged guides, hotels, our trip back to Cairo,plane tickets to Jorden, etc. etc. Wow!

Room Tip: It is noisy if you open with windows because it is located on a heavily traveled main street. It did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is a little haven in downtown Cairo but they seriously need to do something about their mattresses!!! What they have on the bed is by no means a "mattress." The owner/staff were very friendly and efficient in helping us. Unfortunately, I could not check out the breakfast any of the days I was there as I had to leave for work meetings quite early in the morning.

Room Tip: Please check the quality of the mattress before settling in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked this hotel for a few nights based on the great reviews on TripAdvisor and were really confused when we arrived. It's located on the 6th floor of a building in Talaat Harb Square, but the entrance of the building is absolutely filthy and the lift is atrocious. Upon arriving on the 6th floor, we were greeted nicely and found the staff to be friendly to us throughout our four night stay. Our double room was adequate, although the bathroom was merely partitioned, not actually separate from the room. Our room was clean and housekeeping was done daily. People smoked in the lobby, but this is very common in Egypt; people smoke in restaurants, taxis, etc. The breakfast was very basic and didn't change throughout our stay, but it didn't bother us. We did find the room to be very noisy at night though. My one strong vice was the man who sold postcards / souvenirs outside the building who kept his merchandise on the 6th floor. He constantly berated us as we left in the morning and came in the evening and his intimidation increased each day, up to the point where he growled and lunged at my husband.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights starting from October 22/ 2010 .
First surprise, I booked for double room with separate beds, I was overwhelmed by surprise that room I agreed on was not vacant cause people decided to extend, so I was given single room with un proper sofa only, with out any kind of apology !!.Rooms in general are noisy, Cause they are overlooking main .
square and windows are not sound proof
Breakfast is very poor, . most important service is really bad, , and if you stayed there don't try to point out anything wrong to the management , because you will start to see what is hidden behind these pretending smiley faces.
best of luck to all felowe travelers

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Royal

Address: 1 Talaat Harb Square, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.