We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of attention to be a better hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Royal
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Talaat Harb Square, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Cairo B&B and Inns
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs a lot of attention to be a better hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We booked a suite in the other hotel, Royal. When we planned to book it (by email) they told us that they opened a new hotel, Grand Royal, and offered as the opportunity to stay there. We didn't want to, but wanted to stay in the pedestrian area of the first hotel. Surprisingly, when we arrived in Cairo the taxi stopped at Grand Royal... They wanted to give us an “upgrade” to this hotel, the management told us. The fact that we didn't want to change hotels before, was ignored. They told us that the other hotel was being renovated and therefore noisy. And what about an upgrade: from suite to suite? Where is that an upgrade?

The Grand Royal is an average hotel. It is new, recently opened, but with lot of things that should have been better before they opened.

Pro’s:
- New hotel, freshly refurbished and decorated.
- The suite (room 25) was big, with a separate bathroom, high ceilings, fresh flowers in the room.
- Good and silent AC-system.
- In the lively neighbourhood of Talaat Harb Street, with lots of shops and sweet baklava at Groppi on the other side of the street. Don’t forget your earplugs to sleep at night!
- Very friendly management.

Cons:
- No curtains or roll-down shutters. When we complained, they painted the windows as a temporarily solution…
- No hooks to hang the towels, no tissue holder, no bathroom shelf, etc...
- A mini bath-tub (also a pro when you don’t expect a bath).
- A door between our and the next room. Handy when you need two rooms as a family, but otherwise they should only rent out one of the two room. A new couple arrived late at night in the other room. We could hear them talk, take a shower, sneeze, etc., although they weren’t very loud.
- No chair(s) and/or table.
- Bad WIFI signal in the room.
- Poor breakfast: 2 buns, jam, cheese spread, oily fried egg, nescafe or tea, jam, yoghurt.
- We ordered breakfast on our last day at 7 a.m.. Not a problem, they said…. From 7.05 a.m. on the receptionist made excuses for the delay every 5 minutes. No breakfast untill 7.25 a.m., 5 minutes before our airport taxi arrived.
- 3 elevators of which 1 was not working every day and another didn’t work properly. It should stop every 2 floors, but stopped between them instead, in front of a concrete wall… 6 floors is a lot to walk, but safer.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    22
    10
    1
    10
See reviews for
11
19
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Last 2 days of my holiday was back in Cairo, was grateful to find this hotel as I stayed at 2 bad hotels in Cairo. Found it on internet search and booked it. Was surprised to see it was for real! Sometimes photos of hotels on internet were taken long time ago, and you find shabby dirty hotel. Not this one. Newly opened hotel, great ambience once you get to 6th floor. Renovated for this new hotel.

Very clean which was unusual for Egypt. Hotel staff well trained with high service standards. Happy to book my taxis, order food for me, even fresh flowers in my room every day!
Big plus was it was minutes walk to Egyptian Museum, so save on taxi fare.
Price-wise, I only paid about US$5 more for this hotel, than previous one which was 2* and yucky! Great value. Definitely recommend this and come back again.

Room Tip: Hotel is near a busy square, some night-time noise is normal. Most of time, I was reading, listening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were looking for cheap and cheerful and instead we found a gem of an almost five star hotel in central Cairo, but at two star prices!

The entrance to the hotel is via a shabby old lift in an old building in Taalat Harb Square. The hotel is actually on the 6th floor and the lift opens directly in reception.

All rooms have high ceilings and are air conditioned with private bathrooms; televisions will be in every room but not all rooms are finished yet. It was a joy to see the natural wood floors and bathroom fittings which are all new and actually work!

Mohamed and his team go the extra mile to ensure that your stay will be enjoyable. Breakfast was included with fresh eggs or omelets, bread rolls, cheese & preserves. An Italian restaurant is planned but for the moment the staff will order take away food from any of the nearby restaurants. Fresh flowers in each room was a really nice touch.

We were not on holiday so we chose the hotel for its central location close to Tahrir Square and the Cairo museum. There are some great shops nearby.

When everything is completed this will be a real gem of a boutique hotel in Downtown Cairo!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room you will need to ask; because of the central location there is always str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Perfect city view, from 6th floor overlooking Talaat Harb square, only minute walking from the Egyptian Museum, beautiful spacious room with high ceiling.
Private bathroom, comfortable king size bed. The moment I went inside my room, i felt like its a five star! Great staff, that helps with any tours you might want while staying in Cairo.
In Cairo there has always been either expensive luxury hotels or ugly cheap budget hotels, Finally Cairo has a hotel right in the middle, Cheap prices liken the budget hotels but with a nice luxury feeling!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Royal

Address: 1 Talaat Harb Square, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.