We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and quiet home away from chaotic Cairo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added My Hotel to your Saves list
My Hotel
13 Merit Basha Street | 4th floor, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Cairo B&B and Inns
København, Danmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice and quiet home away from chaotic Cairo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was in Cairo for 14 days doing some interviews for my MA. I stayed at My Hotel throughout the period and can recommend it warmly. The rooms are nice and clean and can be locked so no one will enter when you're away during the day. There's AC and WiFi included which I used freakishly much all through the two weeks (35-40 degrees Celsius is brutal!). There's a nice common room with a cable TV. I didn't use it much as I preferred the privacy of my room when working and stressing off but it was definitely nice.
The staff is very friendly and 2 out of the 3 people speak excellent English (one was a native English speaker, it seemed). The third spoke well enough English to be helpful, so there were no problems.
Only issue, I found, was the late breakfast. 8:30 is late, I think, but it was nice to have breakfast at the hotel as I was there during the Ramadan. The breakfast itself is scarce. A piece of bread, some jam and some cheese. But there was free tea and coffee and I think Egyptian breakfast is just generally light.
The hotel is really central - just across the street from the Egyptian Museum (watch out for all the tricksters saying they work at the museum) and Tahrir Square. There's metro right by the square and taxis are abundant. There are also several places to buy water, sodas and fastfood (both local and McDonald's, KFC, Pizza Hut) and a short walk/taxi trip away, across the bridge is Zamalek with nice restaurants and cozy (for Cairo, at least) streets and shops. It's also really easy to direct a taxi driver to the hotel as every one know where Tahrir Square is.
When I was there the elevator was broken. The hotel is on the 4th floor so there's a bit of a climb. I doubt they'll fix it any time soon but the climb is worth it, I think.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhotelcairo, Manager at My Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased to report that the elevator has been fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hostel is on fourth or fifth floor of a building without a working elevator at the time. There is not proper bathroom door and the breakfast was just a piece of Egyptian flat round bread with a wedge of soft cheese and a packet of jam. WIFI was good; so was the air con; and you can see the Egyptian Museum across Tahrir Square from your room. I am just comparing it to Wake Up Cairo where I spent many nights before. It was Ramadan and the store hours were off schedule off Sadat Metro.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhotelcairo, Manager at My Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. The elevator has been fixed since your stay. We have also begun to offer an Egyptian breakfast including beans and falafal on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

it's a nice small hostel where we felt like home, quite and clean helpful staff very informative, the manager Dia organized our tours around Egypt which was awesome and special thanks to Ahmed who picked us up from the airport and waited for us for more than one hour as our flight was delayed and we didn't get to inform the hostel. I totally recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I can't imagine having had more help during our stay in Cairo. Our flight and bags were delayed but the hotel sent a taxi driver who waited patiently for us (at 3 am!) with a great car. Dia recieved us warmly upon our arrival and was happy to accommodate a few requests right away. After serving us a delicious Egyptian breakfast (falafels, pita, beans, greens and tea!) in the bright and airy common room, Dia then spent the rest of the day calling the airport for us to check on our bags. He used his personal cell phone as well as the land line to try all the numbers they gave us and translated the news while he encouraged us to roam the city.

He gave us directions to everywhere we wanted to go and advice. Dia will arrange the BEST priced tours and taxis for you, and will give you the insider's tips on anything you do while you are here. This is a great place to land and plan the rest of your journey with their advice and wifi.

The hostel itself is on the 4th floor of a cool old building right across from the museum and a 1 minute walk to the metro and Tahir Sq. We felt so safe and slept so well here. Rooms are simple and shared bathrooms are in a line in the hall and we never had to wait to use. Wifi is fast and free, tea and coffee as you wish, a nice TV and 2 sitting rooms and balconies will make your Cairo stay more than pleasant. Thanks to Dia's kindness and the niceness of this new hostel you really will feel so at home while you are at My Hotel! Book now and enjoy this great city!

Room Tip: do email the hotel before arrival with any requests, they will respond promptly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A great value budget hotel only a stones throw away from Tahrir square. The hotel has lots of character and the price is excellent. The owner Diaa is very hospitable, and is a great source of information about the city Overall, a good budget choice in Cairo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to My Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Hotel

Address: 13 Merit Basha Street | 4th floor, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Hotel is located in a historical building in Downtown Cairo directly across from the Egyptian Museum and only minutes from the Nile. Most of our bright cheerful rooms have a balcony to enjoy the fresh breezes. The hotel faces away from the street so that you can enjoy the luxury of peace and quiet in the middle of Downtown Cairo. The rooms have wood floors, high ceilings, and wardrobes to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your My Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.