We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not great, but it is pretty good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Hostel

Save Saved
You added Freedom Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Freedom Hostel
6,Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St | infront of the centeral bank of Egypt, 3rd floor, Cairo 11111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“It's not great, but it is pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I believe most people will enjoy their stay here. The hostel is located up on the top floor of an old building in Cairo. After struggling up the stairs with your bag, you walk in and notice how clean it is compared to life outside.
It is well located close to attractions like the Egyptian museum(10-15 minute walk) and close to some reasonable eating spots. The staff try very hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible and can arrange all manner of tours,transportation and give you good advice.
I booked the room with an ensuite, it was comfortable with only minor shortcomings. The wifi( which you have to pay extra for), range just didn't quite extend to the room most of the time. Lots of drop outs, yet it was quite good near reception. Come on guys, all the place needs is a decent router. In most other hostels the wifi is also free.....it is 2013 guys. The air con worked fine, the sheets....well they were ok except they didn't have a sheet that quite fitted the bed, so 2 single sheets were used. The bathroom was excellent, although the room was not cleaned during my time there. Something about the maid quitting when I asked, and no one available to do it. Breakfast was very basic but ok.
Look the place has real potential and I think most people will enjoy their stay here. The staff are friendly and great.....it's just a few minor things that have to come together to turn this place's rating from good to great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
18
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I moved here after being disappointed with Dina's hostel. These guys are extremely friendly and helpful, they can organize all manor of tours for you. Excellent clean place with great showers. A true oasis in the middle of the chaos that is Cairo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I will never forget my stay in FREEDOM CAIRO HOSTEL . It was a nice stay and i was lucky to stay there . the location was amazing the hostel is located near a lot of important places like consulates The Egyptian Museum and a lot of Egyptian Restaurants which was amazing . The place is very clean ,the rooms is very big , more comfortable and more cheap for me . The staff was very friendly and they organized for me a lot of tours to Giza Pyramids , Saqqara , Memphis , Baharya oasis , Louxor and aswan . I was very happy by all tours . Thanks very much to the staff i will never forget you .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Cairo is insane with its dirt, noise, smells, but this little oasis was a clean and quiet escape. The guys were super friendly and made sure we are satisfied: from a very nice turkish coffee to a big breakfast and little day tours! We got a room with private bathroom reserved, so they happened to give us the large room with 6 beds. The AC did its job and the clean floors and quiet location (on the last floor facing inner small street) sure made a difference!
I recommend this hostel as it is a great value for your money and I it is relatively new and very clean!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Overall this hostel itself was Ok to stay and staffs are nice and friendly BUT this place was obviously overpriced and overrated compared to other hostels in Cairo. For the dorm, price was 50 Egyptian pounds but they charge extra cost 20 pounds or 30 pounds for wi-fi and other things. The Wi-Fi cost should be included for the price at least. Besides, No Elevator at the hostel where was situated on the 5th floor in the tall building. Actually I couldn't understand the owner's attitude about the availability of room. It was extremely weird to me. After checking out this hostel, I moved to other hostel in much better location with better price. To be honesty, you can find out many good places with better price in the safe area of downtown, Cairo. I am confused with these raving comments here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hostel is near from many places, like metro station and 10 minutes walking to the egiptian museum , the staff is very friendly, my room was very big with bathroom and balcony i am sure i will come again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After an awful experience at Dina's Hostel in Cairo (where my passport and purse went missing from my locker inexplicably) and its rude and unprofessional owner, the Freedom Hostel was a real relief. The owner of Freedom Hostel was very assuring at a very difficult time and tried to ensure that my stay was as comfortable as possible while I dealt with the stress of replacing the passport and bank cards. He was exceptionally professional and approachable. The hostel itself is very clean and well maintained. The showers are probably the best you'll find in any hostel in Cairo as they are proper shower cubicles (which is rare in that part of the world). Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freedom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hostel

Address: 6,Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St | infront of the centeral bank of Egypt, 3rd floor, Cairo 11111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Location is one of the most easy to be reached, just 200 Meter off the famous Talat Harb Square front off the central bank of Egypt.- The Egyptian Museum is about 5/7 Minutes walk.-Several Egyptian and International restaurants, Cinemas and shopping malls are located nearby. Tea,coffee and shisha cafes located just few meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Freedom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.