We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Freedom Hostel to your Saves list
Freedom Hostel
6,Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St | infront of the centeral bank of Egypt, 3rd floor, Cairo 11111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Clean, safe, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Located in the heart of Egypt (just 10 minutes from Egyptian Museum, 13-ish from the Nile) in a vibrant neighborhood, you find Freedom Hostel on the top floor of a worn, but aging gracefully, old building.

Staff are competent, helpful and straight talkers -- you can trust their advice. Rooms and bathrooms are kept clean, and most furnishings feel quite new as the hostel itself is less than a year old.

Don't expect huge common areas as the hostel is part of a larger mid-rise building, but sleeping rooms are spacious with high ceilings and some have balconies.

I would suggest two small areas for improvement:

1.) Ditch charging for wi-fi (LE 20/day) and make it free -- at that high a price I doubt many people are buying the wi-fi access anyway, and it just makes people feel a bit unhappy about an otherwise excellent hostel.

2.) Invest in either proper duvets or a flat sheet for underneath the current leopard print comforter-style things being used as duvets at present. They're scratchy and not very warm.

All in all, though, a good spot on a (relatively) quiet street in an amazing city.

Room Tip: Shared bathrooms are plenty nice, so don't feel like you have to pay more for a private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    22
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
21
80
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed in Freedom Hostel from 03/16/2012 to 03/19/2012. The place is spotless. We really enjoyed our stay here. Special mention goes to Hussein. He is very friendly always helpful. We took two tours with them. The first tour to Sakkara, Darshur and Giza. Our driver and guide Samah was very knowledgeable. You might want to avoid buying the Papyrus from the museum included in the tour and also avoid the horse camel ride in Giza. We felt that this is better explored on foot. The old city tour was extremely good.

All the staff at Freedom Hostel were extremely helpful. We will stay here if and when we go back to Cairo

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was honestly the best hostel we have ever stayed at . The atmosphere is very friendly and just like home. They have a wonderful lounge with a flat screen TV, wireless internet, laundery services, cold water and beverages on hand, free breakfast, clean spacious rooms, and the most friendly and attentive staff that I have ever dealt with. Freedom Hostel definitely made our stay in Egypt a great one.

Room Tip: the airport pick up is so convient, cheap, and it simplifies your trip from the very beginning, Moha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Staying in downtown Cairo it's always a surprise what the hotel you booked will look like as in 90 percent of the cases the outside of the building nor the staircase or elevator doesn't give an indication. As rents were frozen some forty years ago the owners of most of the downtown buildings gave up maintenance so the common spaces in the downtown buildings can be rather dilapidated. But behind the apartment doors every place is different and in most cases well kept. Freedom hostel is a real surprise. The hostel opened a few months ago. It's not only that everything is new but it gives you a "loungy" feeling. The tasteful decoration is something you's rather expect in a trendy boutique hotel than in a downtown Cairo hostel. The kitchen is small but has all amenities while the two bathrooms have modern equipment. The rooms are quiet with good beds. As the hostel is new of course there is still room for some improvements. What I missed most were hooks for my clothes and towels, in the bedroom as well as in the bathroom. I told the lady from the reception so I expect them to be there soon.
Finally, the service is friendly and helpful. Love this place..

Room Tip: As there is no elevator the stairs to the fifth floor can be a problem for elderly people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

ALL the staff are by far the friendliest and most welcoming and helpful staff I have had at a hostel. They make you like family from the start. You can ask for just about anything and they will organize it for you. Offered free transport to pyramids or airport transfer which is so helpful. (We even got an airport transfer at 4am). Not only that but the staff are so fun to hang out with. They took us to Egyptian cafe's etc and hung out with us there too. I can't describe how great of an experience this hostel made Cairo. If you don't stay here you are crazy.

Room Tip: Room 302 was lovely and with big balcony with nice view in downtown , i loved it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

i was in cairo recently and found my way by chance to this hostel and was very pleasantly surprised. it is located on the top floor of a historic building and when entering the space was a complete shock. i was expecting a normal hostel but the inside had polished marble floors, funky decor and an inviting waiting room filled with nice people. the owners and the staff were all beyond helpful offering advice, directions and assistance in any trip planning you want to do, either walking around town and taking the metro to a complete travel package at good rates.
i found the place to be spotless with nice beds, clean bathrooms and a good breakfast, will go back to see them again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have been to Cairo a few times and stayed in a few different hostels. This one is by far, the best. Really great atmosphere, super clean, staff that were amazing. Usually I find getting around a little hectic there but these folks organized everything for me. Location is perfect because you can walk to lots of cool things (Museum - was like a 5 min walk, Nile, shopping, restaurants, bus and train stations). Place was clean and really cool. I felt like I was in a funky haven away from it all yet you can get everywhere just outside. Cairo is a hectic place and was glad to find a place to chill out and not worry about details (which is the hardest thing I find about other countries). I do recommend it.

Room Tip: I only saw two of the rooms but they all seemed very clean and designed in a great way. Place is pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freedom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hostel

Address: 6,Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St | infront of the centeral bank of Egypt, 3rd floor, Cairo 11111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Freedom Hostel *Enjoy accommodation in style. Your travelling experience comes complete with a contemporary in-house lounge, laundry facilities and small guest kitchen. You can book travel & tours at our travel desk and keep in touch with friends & family with our internet corner, Wi-Fi and international telephone access. With our free luggage storage facilities, 24 hour reception and host of friendly staff will make your stay in Cairo a breeze. * If you've never been to Cairo before it can be quite an overwhelming and intimidating place, so why not let us make it easy for you? Less stress = more fun! No one understands the importance of having a great time while on Holiday like our staff here at Freedom Hostel. We provide the best tours and entertainment packages you'll find in this city. Forget a big, boring hotel or hostel with nothing going on - come stay with us and get a taste of Egypt that few visitors get to experience! Location Information *Our Location is one of the most easy to be reached at just 200 meters from the famous Talaat Harb Square, in front off the central bank of Egypt. *The Egyptian Museum is about 5/10 Minutes' walk. *Several Egyptian and International restaurants, cinemas and shopping malls are located nearby. Tea, coffee and shisha cafes located just few meters away. Accommodation Information *Our accommodation options include deluxe twin or double en-suited rooms, single or triple private rooms and dormitory rooms. All come with fresh white linen, a balcony, air-conditioning and a modern security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Freedom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.