We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not again!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nile Season Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nile Season Hotel to your Saves list
Nile Season Hotel
1089 Corniche El Nil, 20 Aisha Timoria, Garden City, Cairo 11519, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not again!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Our first experience was ok. They didn't seem aware of our booking on booking.com but accommodated us. The room was under renovation so was half finished but was livable. They gave us a terrible conversion rate from USD to EGP so if you do choose to stay here then take USD so you don't get cheated. Our second experience was terrible. We rebooked for the night before we left Cairo and they forgot our booking & didn't have a room for us. So late at night we had to change hotels.

Negatives:
- Dusty & dirty in the room
-Still being renovated - no shower curtain
- Fitted sheet & very light cover provided, no top sheet or doona cover
- Only one towel but they gave us a second towel when asked. This occurred each night we stayed.
- Water wasn't ready and warm for us to have a shower when we checked in & when it did heat up, one person was able to shower for 1.5 mins before the hot water ran out

Positives:
- Adequate customer service, appear very friendly
- Big & comfortable bed, pillows weren't comfortable though
- Reasonably sized room
- Internet available in foyer
- Felt safe
- Breakfast included (we didn't get sick from it)

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. If you want affordable accomodation there are plenty of other options in Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    14
    5
    12
See reviews for
18
16
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights last week while in Cairo on vacation. We are a 40-something couple, no children.

Pros: There was a pick-service from the airport, which in Cairo is a must. They even came at 4am to get my husband. The staff is very nice, and very accommodating. They want you to be happy. So, if you have a problem with something, you can tell them, and they do their best to figure it out. The breakfasts are simple, but very good quality considering the price you pay. The price is low. It is near many interesting things to do - within walking of the Egyptian museum, the Corniche, Flucca boat rides, and walking around Garden City. This is a very good value for what you pay, but, it is more suited probably to young backpackers, though it was fine for us as we didn't want luxury, we just wanted a nice clean place to stay at night, and we spent our days out and about.

Cons: The building has no signs. I arrived before my husband, and arrived on my own from another hotel (so not in their transport from the airport), and luckily I arrived during the day as I had to walk around the neighborhood asking people where it was, and it took a while to find it. The building is a bit dodgy, and when you first enter you wonder where you are, as it is dirty in the lobby, and smells of cat urine, and there were old cigarette butts on the stairs. But, once you enter their hotel area, it is nice and they keep it clean, and the rooms are very clean and nice. They are building a new section, which has new rooms that also will be nice once they are done. When I arrived, they did not have the room we booked. I do not know if this is their fault, or Booking.com's fault, but it is the third time it has happened to us with Booking.com in the last month. They put me in a garden room, which was nice enough, and quiet, but still part of the new construction and had paint all over the floor, no shower curtain, etc. When my husband arrived they moved us to the Nile view (slight view) with a balcony (which is what we had reserved for). We did realize after moving there, however, that the garden view room was much quieter. The traffic noise on the Nile view side is never ending, and Egyptians sure love to honk their horns all the time for no reason at all. It is a nice room, and they did try hard to make us happy, which does show they care about their customers.

Room Tip: I suggest calling them directly to book, don't use Booking.com, as we keep having issues with Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was in from UK for a conference in Cairo and to be honest with you, this is an absolutely fine hotel in my experience.
The inside is clinically better than the outside view. Free ride to the Airport and free tourist centre views. It was absolutely great compared to the hotel I first booked. was never around for the Breakfast sessions. The reception was great with guys who could speak absolutely good English.
You may not be impressed from the outside but the inside is Great !!!..
Great Location, great experience and easy connect

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nile Season Hotel is a very good hotel. The staff is very nice and friendly, rooms are clean and the price is reasonable. They have free internet, which is WORKING (not very often situation in Cairo). Hotel offers free pick up from airport, even in the middle of the night, so for the first-time comers is big advantage. They have delicious breakfasts - choose traditional one, not continental which is just regular. Beds in the rooms are very comfortable. The one and only disadvantage is location - it's 15 minutes from Tahrir not in the city center. Although, it is quiet one as for Cairo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

this is a good budget hotel. the location is central in Cairo very near to Museum and Tahrir square. we had a free pick up from airport and the driver was on time, helpful and informative. the staff are informative and make travel n sight seeing arrangements for you at competitive cost. continental breakfast is just okay; for a days sightseeing, you need fuller breakfast that includes fruits, yogurt, nuts etc (we used to buy them fm supermarkets and store in the room fridge). the water pressure is good and the water heater is superb ! our room was specious. they arranged and early morning drop off at the airport at a competitive cost.
Only downside is, one the days, we had left the room keys on the door in a hurry to see the sightseeing. On return we found someone had eaten half of the walnuts and our Samsung smart phone taken away / disappeared from the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beware of this hotel: only 2-3 rooms are really good. The manager is systematically OVERBOOKING when possible, promises "the better" rooms and designates an extremely bad and small one, without view (where even chickens would have a fight or "just marrieds" a divorce).
After this, he claims THE SAME PRICE for a room not half as good.

He'll NOT adapt his price unless you complain in front of all hotel guests

After this, he'll play some egyptian theatre for free.
This hotel should be boycotted due to the manager's manifestly dishonest attitude, notwithstanding the friendliness of the other personnel

Again: this man is really fundamentally dishonest at any given occasion and deserves police inquiry and maybe even jail

You are warned !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask 202, or 203 (less), avoid e.g. 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of the better reasonably priced hotels in Cairo, and cannot fault the cleanliness, also the bed was extremely comfortable, and had a huge flat screen wall mounted satellite tv in our room. The ensuite shower room was spacious, again spotlessly clean, with an excellent corner shower. We also took advantage of the pick up service to take us back to the airport when our stay had finished, this was included in the price we paid. They also served a breakfast, again which was included in the price of bread, jam, butter, cheese and an omelette with tea/coffee.

This review is based entirely on value for money, there was a few things which we would have preferred like for example a window in the room, the room had various lamps which made it cosy and an excellent air conditioning unit, so was not in any way stuffy, but it just would have been nice, we did see another couple of the rooms, and much preferred our own and we were offered the chance to pay more money for a room with a window or nile view, but really a hotel room was just somewhere for us to chill and sleep at the end of the day, so for us was perfectly acceptable, our main criteria was reasonable, clean and comfortable and this hotel fit our needs on all three of these aspects.

Room Tip: We booked a superior double room, it didn't have a window, or a view, but those rooms were far m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nile Season Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nile Season Hotel

Address: 1089 Corniche El Nil, 20 Aisha Timoria, Garden City, Cairo 11519, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 133 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nile Season Hotel New hotel, opened in Oct 2011, designed for all budget travelers, located next to the Four Seasons Hotel at Nile Plaza ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Nile Season Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nile Season Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.