We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had excellent Indian Vegetarian Food here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nawab Indian Restaurant

Nawab Indian Restaurant
21 B, Bahgat Ali street, | Zamalek, Cairo, Egypt
0227360433
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 3,346 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Indian
Description: As the name suggests, Nawab is about princely grandeur. And Nawab brings to you the best of Mughlai & North Indian cuisine in its absolute authentic form. Nawab is managed by an Indian husband-wife team - truly passionate about Indian cuisine- who have a rich experience of operating Indian restaurants. Let Nawab transport you to the princely kitchens of India. A royal treat awaits you when you enter Nawab
Restaurant details
Description: As the name suggests, Nawab is about princely grandeur. And Nawab brings to you the best of Mughlai & North Indian cuisine in its absolute authentic form. Nawab is managed by an Indian husband-wife team - truly passionate about Indian cuisine- who have a rich experience of operating Indian restaurants. Let Nawab transport you to the princely kitchens of India. A royal treat awaits you when you enter Nawab
Chennai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had excellent Indian Vegetarian Food here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Me and my spouse (both of us are from India) visited both the Zemalek and Maadi branches for Dinner in Oct 2012. We are both vegetarians and We were both very satisfied with our dinners (Taste, Spice Levels and Quantity). We would definitely recommend these to other Indians looking for some good Vegetarian Options in Cairo. The owner (originally from Kolkata) was extremely gracious and treated us well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice small indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A friend of us recommended this restaurant, so I had dinner there with my wife. The restaurant's entrance is so small that you can easily miss it. The food and the service were excellent. I liked the lentil soup with chicken as well as the chicken biryani. The prices are very reasonable for the good food quality. the staff are very pleasant and friendly. I highly recommend the restaurant for Indian food lovers in Cairo.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Indian Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The quality of the Meal is pure Indian without any cosmetics
Portions a little bit inadequate
The atmosphere and smell is too much Indian
but overall one of the best if not the best Indian restaurant in Cairo

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Cozy Indian family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I have visited it today for the fist time. Its a Guinueine Indian restaurant. The food is really good and cooked specially for u. The restaurant is not busy for a weekend this di why u feel so special being served alone. The tekka masala was excellant while the chicken curry was v normal. Try Te Kashmiri rice full of nuts and small pieces of chicken really good. The owner is Indian and he is really sweet as he takes the order in person. I will go again for sure however parking is awful (like all Cairo) an advise is to go by a taxi

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food, Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Nawab is a small and cozy Indian restaurant. The food tastes really good most importantly tastes Indian (unlike other "Indian Restaurants" in Egypt). The menu variety is impressive, certainly if you are craving for an spicy meal, Nawab is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nawab Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Nawab Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nawab Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.