We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our digs in Cairo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mesho Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mesho Inn Hostel to your Saves list
Mesho Inn Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   43 Sherif St. 3rd Floor | Down Town, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our digs in Cairo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stumbled upon Mesho Inn hotel by accident, we were actually looking to stay at Traveler's house hostel one floor above but ended up staying here instead. We were happy with our find as we were there during the 25 Jan revolution anniversary and Mesho and Islem cautioned us to be careful and gave us their phone numbers in case we needed help. That was appreciated. Of course being in the center of Cairo is noisy and you have to put up with Mozzies flying around but the room is pleasant and clean, and the breakfast tea is a good way to greet the morning. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
3
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury,ct
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you've been around tripadvisor for any amount of time you will know reviews can be very misleading. You must consider the reviewers frame of reference to evaluate the review. Mesho Inn is a perfect example. By no means do the reviews match reality. As a hotel Mesho would score a one star on a typical AAA type hotel scale, not horrendous but just bare minimum with everything. Granted, Mesho is a hostel not hotel therefore it deserves a 2 star. The location is actually quite good in downtown Cairo. The rooms are fairly large and spacious but not much attention is paid to routine cleanliness. As with many lower end hostels and hotels in this area Mesho occupies a floor in a very old, run down building. Bathrooms are basically added in to the rooms by walling off a corner with a 6 foot wall (ceilings are very high, 10+ feet). The staff do not speak English which in itself is not a problem but I did have issues with the reservation where they tried billing much more than the booking.com reservation. I was also billed 2X the amount for the quoted airport transportation with the excuse that the rate quoted was for a taxi not private car even though they sent the car. Both were difficult to sort out with the language barrier so I ended up paying the additional fee for transportation. Although probably fine for a single person looking just for a place to sleep, two or more people can find better accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A great hotel in the downtown area! Really close to the Egyptian museum and the Metro station (Nasser). The hotel was clean and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend staying here

Room Tip: all rooms 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Mesho Inn was just right for me. I am a person of little needs therefore I had no issues. Mesho and his staff were very hospitable. The price was nice and the staff did their best to accomodate my needs. This place might be a good place for a solo backpacking traveller who isn't into luxury and high-ended comfort. For about $20 dollars a night, the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

i did stay in mesho inn hostel and i can say that they staff are the best they know how to treat the guests very well its clean and quite they sort a trip to giza pyramids and it was a great day and nice driver ,much recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

i love this place soooooo much and i will back again to the soooooooon , HAppy and proud to stay there ,Hostel staffs were friendly and kind :) Also room was pretty big and clean. Location is very good. Tahrl square and Egyption museum are in walking distance. Also city centre near Sadat station was safe! We recommend this hostel !!

Room Tip: all rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Though i am late in writing this review ... visited Cairo in 2011 october and Mesho inn peple were so friendly .. it was like a home where you forget the shortcoming of a place even if there are any ... We were going and coming from cairo to other destination leaving our luggage there and anytime we come people (Ibrahim and other ) welcomed us with smiling face ... The ancient elevator lift and set up took us to an era ... love this place ....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.5 mi away
Horus House Hotel
Horus House Hotel
#49 of 135 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.9 mi away
New Minerva
New Minerva
#2 of 133 in Cairo
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
1.2 mi away
New City Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesho Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesho Inn Hostel

Address: 43 Sherif St. 3rd Floor | Down Town, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mesho Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mesho Inn is located in downtown Cairo, one km from the Cairo Museum and just 5 minutes' walk from Nasser Metro Station. It offers elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi and private bathrooms. Guests at the Mesho can relax in the hotel's comfortable lounge room with plenty of seating, a PlayStation 3, and a flat-screen TV. The hotel also features a communal kitchen and a library offering a wide selection of books. Mesho Inn Hostel has a 24-hour reception desk that also functions as a tour desk. The staff offers room service and can also arrange an airport shuttle or a car rental. Hostel Mesho Inn is a 10-minute walk from the Egyptian Museum and 30 minutes' drive from Cairo International Airport. It offers free parking near to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Mesho Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mesho Inn Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.