We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Ma'adi but inconsistent service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Hotel

Pearl Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
Pearl Hotel
32 Rd. 7 Intersection Of Rd. 82 | Beside Banque Misr, Maadi, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Cairo B&B and Inns
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good location for Ma'adi but inconsistent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my third stay at Pearl Hotel. Previously I had no problems but a case of third time unlucky. I had booked two rooms for 2 males for 1 night but on arrival c 1.00am we were told the hotel was full and we were in a suite together. The "suite" had two rooms and one bathroom but the bed in the sitting room hadn't been made up. After a couple of phone calls, the bed was made up but with blankets and no sheets. There were sheets on the double bed in the bedroom. It was obvious that the hotel was far from full....I saw all of 8 other guests having breakfast.So, a "couldn't care less" attitude at the front desk & night staff.

Next morning, breakfast was basic by European standards but adequate. The terrace on the 7th floor is a pleasant spot to have a leisurely breakfast.

Staff were helpful in getting us a taxi and giving destination details to the driver in Arabic.

The best restaurant I know in Ma'adi is 5-7 mins away by taxi. It's "Fusion" on the Corniche overlooking the Nile. Ask for "Fridays" - Fusion has the same entrance as TFI Fridays. Food is a mixture of Japanese/Mongolian/Chinese. About LE150 per head (say $25). But no alcohol.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnScott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is a 3 star and has a roof top dinning area with a breakfast buffet ..part is AC and the other more traditonal with a great view of the city and the Nile River. You can have a meal outside and soak up the views, feel the breeze and find it peaceful with little sound to distract you from the experience. The elevator works, the baths are adequate and you can walk to road 9 over the footpath bridge. It is near shopping, apt hunting and the clubs. Good place to get your bearing on this Ma'adi community. Staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpatfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

It's managed awfully and the rooms are suffocating. The ended up steeling over 200$ from me because of a rate mistake. I claimed my restaurant receipts and found ones with a different signature forged by them. Don't go there.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nagla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Kingston, Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at the Pearl Hotel for 4 nights while we were visiting our daughter who is living in Ma'adi. It was a very convenient walk to many good restaurants, shops and cafes. The staff spoke English and were friendly and fairly helpful. The breakfast buffet was simple but ample. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spring050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Got introduced to this hotel by an Egyptian friend and ended up staying there on and off for nearly two months from March-May 2010 during an extended stay in Egypt.
It is mainly used by Egyptians and business travellers but ideally placed in the quieter Ex-pat area of Cairo, Maadi.
It is only a short walk from the Metro Station(cheap and quick travel).
The staff were always friendly although the Maids could sometimes be a little eager to clean the room!
They provide a good breakfast too!
All in all, it was a good value stay with friendly staff and an ideal location for my needs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ArgyleRich33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Maadi Hotel
Maadi Hotel
#46 of 138 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
#43 of 138 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#53 of 138 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#56 of 138 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Belle Epoque
Villa Belle Epoque
#2 of 48 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Hotel

Address: 32 Rd. 7 Intersection Of Rd. 82 | Beside Banque Misr, Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing