We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would give this 6 stars if we could” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Tannoura Egyptian Heritage Dance Troupe

Al-Tannoura Egyptian Heritage Dance Troupe
Wikala Al-Ghouri | Azhar St, Cairo, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 223 Activities in Cairo
5.0 of 5 stars 174 Reviews
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Al-Tannoura show takes place at Wekalet El Ghoury Each Saturday, Monday and Wednesday. Wekalet El Ghouri is an architecturally stunning arts center in El Azhar area in Central Cairo, operating under the Ministry of Culture and the Cultural Development Fund (CDF).Since finalizing restorations to the Wekalet in October 2005, it has become a hot-spot for organizing cultural events. The most popular being the bi-weekly El Tannoura dance performance. The performance is similar to the more commonly known whirling dervishes; however this version of the indigenous dance incorporates instruments and other additional elements.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would give this 6 stars if we could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Amazing experience ditto what others have said. Took our 8 and 11 year old children who were dubious after being dragged around various other Cairo sites. They thought is was even better than the pyramids . . . And all of us were totally uplifted by the dancing which nearly didn't happen due to a power cut in the area. Well worth the money- prepare to be amazed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    24
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Not to be missed on a trip to Cairo. This was one of our highlights. Beautiful place and excellent performance, recommend that you get there an hour before it starts to get a seat. My young kids rally enjoyed it too,

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The show is a must see. Its really very good and for what it really is it's very cheap, i've alredy paid much more for shows that are very poor compared to this one. The place where the show takes place is also very beutifull. If you go to Cairo don't miss this show all of our group liked this show much more then the sound and light show in the Piramids not mentioning the difference of prices of both shows.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

i really enjoyed the theater , show , pricing .. i recommend to see it.
Also the cast is highly trained. the ticket is 2 LE for egyptians and 30 LE for forginers

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I couldn't believe this amazing ensemble was only 30 egyptian pounds!!!
The show was amazing, the artist were great.
My only complaint is people did not stop talking, but otherwise this was an unforgetable experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Tannoura Egyptian Heritage Dance Troupe also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Al-Tannoura Egyptian Heritage Dance Troupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Tannoura Egyptian Heritage Dance Troupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.