We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Tonsy Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tonsy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Tonsy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   143 El Tahrir street, Dokki, Cairo 12311, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Cairo B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel itself is a budget hotel and good as a base to explore Cairo. The rooms were actually much nicer than I thought they would be. our room had massive windows with a lovely view of the city! There is a cafe/bar roofrop area which was quite nice with a view of the Nile. The breakfast was quite nice, there was juice, tea/coffee, cake/croissants and some type of falafel/chickpea fritters.
The hotel lobby was an ansolute mess. I'm not sure if it's always like that or if there was renovation work going on! Theres also loads of stairs before you can even use a lift to go up to your room! Thank god the workers helped us carry our luggage up because we could not have done it ourselves! The lift was also broken for two of the days that we were there so we had to use another lift that took us down to the apartments next door.
All the workers were lovely though and were very helpful.
If you want to book any trips/ excursions, then go across the road to a shop just around the corner from the money exchange shop. The shop is actually a perfume shop but if you ask they will sort out trips at a much cheaper price! We booked the Nile Cruise and a trip to the Giza pyramids for 7 of us for for a much better price than the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

One of hotels that operate just few top floors. This is not a problem in case elevators work OK.
I must say I was lucky.
The rooms are quite nice, clean, bathroom as well. But the reception is ugly. In case you have a visitor and ask him to wait for you in a reception till you bring something from your room, he must think that you live in a poor hostel. It is a pitty as the rooms are really good.
The breakfast was poor, tables were dusty. I was there in December 2012 just for a short business trip, there were clashes because of the new Egyptian constitution. It means not a good time for turists. But in fact some clashes were just in certain places but the city generally was quiet and safe. And I must say it was a good time for turists (who didn't follow the news or warnings of friends, etc...) additionaly the weather was excellent.
I can compare this hotel with another one : President Hotel in Zamalek (I was there in February). The rooms are similar, good and clean, the loation is probably better in El Tonsy but the reception, lobby and breakfast are much better at President Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel operates off the 16th and 17th floor in a high rise in Cairo, typical to Cairo the building is run down and in desperate need of a refresh. At one stage the very rickety elevator broke, so we were forced to use the adjacent building's elevator and back corridors ot get to our room.

That said, the rooms were lovely, very clean, hot water in the showers, cable television and most importantly AIR CON! Fantastic views of the city and the nile which is stunning at night. There's a great roof top restaurant (beer is quite expensive), serving ok food - the main pull factor here is the view which on a good day includes the Pyramids of Giza. The hotel is in a great location, close to the nile and the Cairo Museum.

Our tour company "Expat Explore" operates out of this hotel, so minus the lift problems - this is a great budget option in downtown Cairo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the nile (alternatively you'd be facing a blank wall)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not sure how people can be voting this so high, this really is one of the worst hotels I've ever been in. I'm only giving it a two because the rooms are actually ok. Clean and quite nice for the price you pay....

However the breakfast was really the worst I've ever seen...disgusting and there was food and cigarette buts all over the tables from the previous night.

The lift is breaking down continually, as the hotel is on the 16th floor, it's a real pain.

There are much better places to stay in Cairo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The enthusiasm of the people there to serve you and make you having a pleasant stay is so great , rooms are quite new , the view from the roof top is amazing plus something else , the location of the hotel is so close to everything , in walking distance from the museum , metro station , tahrir square and it is surrounded by local shops and restaurant
loved my stay there so much

Room Tip: if you say you are coming according to an advice of someone else that pay you extra attention ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

On entering reception they are clearly going through an upgrade of the hotel which looks like something from a horror film, walls painted blood red, however no progress was made in the two weeks we used this as a base, the foyer was also filthy dirty. There was also a two flights of stairs to reach the lift.

The rooms were very hit and miss, some had fridges that worked, some didn't, some rooms you couldn't even put a suitcase on the floor.Missing shower curtains made showering difficult.

The breakfast was appalling, it was like it had been made the night before and left out. Wet croissants, hot cheese, dry cake and dried out cucumber.
The evening meals were adequate although despite being told everything was available on the menu this was not the case.

The biggest and largest worry is the lift system, we got stuck in the lift 3 times and with the alarm bell not working it was a very scary experience. Once we got stuck mid floors with a minute gap in which one of the children eventually had to wiggle through to go and get help. No one could hear us shouting and a gap so you could see right to the bottom of the lift. We were not the only ones who had this experience making it a major fire hazard.
The lift got stuck mid floors the morning we were due to fly back and we ended up walking down 16 flights of stairs with luggage.

We didn't choose this hotel it was part of Expat holiday package and had we known what it was like would not have chosen this hotel for love nor money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a budget hotel in the doqqi area of Cairo. Two metro stations (or 25min walk) away from the Central Maydan Tahrir area. Rooms contain AC and TV (no english channels however). Bathrooms are big, have hot water but quite weak shower pressure. Unfortunately the room was quite small (myabe i got one of the smaller one as i travelled alone). The breakfast isn´t bad and i served in the top floor restaurant which have a nice terrace with e beautiful view of Cairo and the Nile. However i never tried any other melas in the resturante.
The area is in a upper middle-class area just outside the downtown area with lots of returants, juicebars and in the vicinity.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tonsy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tonsy Hotel

Address: 143 El Tahrir street, Dokki, Cairo 12311, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tonsy Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL Tonsy Hotel is newly renovated. The hotel is located right in the center of Cairo 10 minutes walk to the Egyptian museum, 2 minutes to the River Nile, 15 minutes drive to the Giza Pyramids, 10 minutes drive to Khan El Khalili Market. The hotel has 25 rooms with A/C, Bathroom, Satellite TV, telephone, and some of which overlook the river Nile. Food is freshly prepared by or chefs. Relax in the bar or on the roof terrace with stunning views of the city and the river Nile. Free airport pick up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Tonsy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tonsy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.