We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for living and making friends especially Ahmed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Cairo Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Miami Cairo Hostel to your Saves list
Miami Cairo Hostel
34 Talaat Harb Street | 2nd Floor., Cairo, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Shenzhen, China
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place for living and making friends especially Ahmed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Convient location to go everywhere and it's also closed to the Egypt museum. Good services including organizing tours around Egypt and offering airport pick up. All the stuff here are kind and friendly. They helped me have a better and deeper understanding about the country. It must be the same place that I would choose to stay when I visit this lovely country next time XD.

Room Tip: Clean and large enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
20
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this hostel twice starting with Dec. 19-22, 2012. Everything went well as their driver came to pick us up at the airport, a box of candy waiting for us in our room (nice touch) and great help with tours. However, things unraveled with our second stay during Dec. 31, 2012 - Jan. 05, 2013. On arrival we found they had no room for us even though we had confirmed our room with the hotel staff and he even entered it in their log book.
The manager Mustafa claimed we never told him verbally and some unknown staffer had crossed our name out. We were sent to another hostel for 2 days. This was the worst stay in Egypt as our room was flooded each night with 1 cm of water as someone was using the bathroom in an adjoining room. Mustafa did try to rectify the problem by letting us stay for half a day for free. However, our time was lost.
Moral: Keep a printout of every reservation or changes at this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were at this hostel for 3 weeks. After three weeks in other hostels we have felt at home and really felt connected with the staff and owners. This was not the case here. We cannot say it was excellent and we cannot say it was terrible either. We will describe it all and you decide what you make of it.
Most of you probably won't be staying here for that long. So for a few nights it's fine because it's cleaner than any other hostel we saw in Cairo, has Wifi, good breakfast and good location. If you have shared bathroom please be aware that the managers girlfriend lives there and, although she is a very nice and friendly girl, she locks the shared bathroom when she is using it. This can get especially annoying when you really have to use the bathroom and she's in there.
The staff is not all as friendly as some of the reviews claim to be. It seemed like if you have money and come with the desire to spend it on their tours, they will be extremely nice to you. The friendliest and most helpful people at the hostel are Nour and the very young guy with glasses. So if you have a question about anything, we would recommend you ask them to get an honest and helpful answer. They were seriously awesome . Mustafa and his brother are also very nice but you won't see them too much. Mohamad is ok. He's really nice but desires a lot attention and can become too comfortable very quickly. This can become very overwhelming so we suggest you set firm boundaries.
Ahmed was ok. He was not very helpful with us though and unfortunately he's the one that was mostly there. He was only helpful when you were interested in booking a tour. Most of the time we felt like we were a bother to him. For example, when we asked Ahmed questions about something, he always had a very negative answer. We asked him about the city of dead and his answer was "why do you want to go there? there's nothing" so that was the end of that. Then we asked him about grocery stores and all he said was "all very far" and we asked him where and he said "nors city" "how do we get there? "by taxi" then we felt uncomfortable asking him anything else. We also asked how do we get to the camel market and he said "you have to get up at 5 am and there are no taxis at that time." Then he offered us one from the hostel for 230 pounds. It got to a point where we actually avoided asking him anything. You have to remember that we were also paying every night so we also deserved respect even if we weren't booking anything. If we would have asked Nour or the young guy with glasses, they would have been very helpful. But, they weren't there as much as Ahmed. At a certain point we preferred to figure things out by ourselves or ask other travelers.
We actually booked the pyramids tour with them and it sucked! The driver was very aggressive with us and was taking us to the horse stable and to the papyrus store to get commission, rushed us (he actually honked at us and told us to hurry up), and didn't want to take us to Saquara. He got very upset with us that we didn't hire a horse carriage and didn't buy papyrus. If we wanted to deal with this we would have hired a random taxi driver because that's something you expect. We told Nour what happened and he called the taxi driver and pretty much fired him. We also got 40.00 pounds back. So Nour really helped us with that.
Please know that when you pay the hostel, you are not avoiding all these commission scams. Other travelers told us they also booked the tour with the hostel and their taxi driver did the same thing, just not as aggressive and was actually honest with them about going just to get commission.
We also had an issue with reservation and we observed two other parties also had issues with their reservations. Either they don't have good communication when it comes down to this or don't care about screwing people. When we told them we were going to stay for three weeks they said that we might have to move room for one night if they had reservations. We said that was fine. But then (like 5 minutes later) they told us they had no reservations so we said that we would reserve that room until January 1st. We also know who we told. We remember it all very clearly. Well according to them, they never told me that and they said this never happened. In other words, we were making this up.
First, they had us move room. Which at first we weren't bothered. We said ok, just for one night. but then about two days later, 20 minutes before they wanted us to leave, they told us were going to move hostel because they reserved rooms for 6 people and now they found out 7 people were coming so we had to leave to make room for them. This is when we got very upset because instead of telling people there is no more room, they chose to move us to satisfy the new customers. This is when we reminded them we had reserved the room until the end of the month and they said it wasn't true and that they don't know why someone would tell us they didn't have reservations because they did.
We were very unhappy and searched for another hostel. When we came back, Ahmed said they had made room for us but we would have to share a room with another customer for one night. After that, we would have the room until the end of the month. But here is why they did it and it came out of Ahmed's mouth. They did it so that we wouldn't give them a bad review on tripadvisor! Not because it was the right thing to do or because they had messed up. It's also sad we had to get angry to get any respect.
That night we ended up sharing a room with a woman who was very upset because she had reserved a room for herself and her friend only. She had reserved it while she was there the first time. When she got there they said there was already reservations, that she would have to stay in a dorm or that they can take her to another hostel "just for one night". It was pretty much the same thing they told us. Then to try to make us feel like crap, they told us that they screwed up her reservation to make us happy. What kind of crap is that? If you don't have rooms, don't make reservations. Be honest with people. Or put a policy " you can only stay for so long...."
Be careful when you hear "just for one night" because that's when you know they've screwed up your reservation. And trust us, it's most likely not your fault!
We ended up staying there for the rest of the time because all the other hostels were crap. We made friends with a couple while they were there the first time and the same thing happened to them when they came back to the hostel. They reserved a room before leaving and when they got back someone had crossed out their reservations and had no rooms for them. They were blaming the couple, saying it was their fault their reservations had been canceled, and then they said they would move them to another hostel "just for one night." The couple was very upset because they didn't understand why their names had been crossed out.
Since they were very tired and it would be just for one night, we offered to share our room with them because we had two beds. So then one of the managers comes and asked us " are you ok with this? it's going to be for 2 nights." and all of us looked at each other with confused looks because they had just said "just for one night." They lied right in front of all of our faces and then tried to deny it.
Our theory is that the people that come back from traveling around Egypt will not book anymore tours with them, so they would rather treat the new customers with more respect since the new customer are the ones who might be potential tour customers.
So for a few nights it's a good hostel. For longer term it is not. Also, be careful with how much they charge you. We've seen them charge people different prices for the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustafa K, Manager at Miami Cairo Hostel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for your Review, hope all is well with you., you wrote almost every thing about the hostel but i want tell you that not all is right, many of what you said is wrong,



1st , why you stayed in the Hostel and Used the Kitchen every night for Cooking , Makeing your Coffee & Tea and Lundry for Free if the hostel is not Good for long Time & you could of stay some where else., also for the booking i have meet you when you booked the room for 7 nights and before it ends you asked to add more 15 days and we said we have one or 2 days full and you will move to another hostel, i was in Desert this day and called the hostel & told Ahmed not to move you to anther hostel,

2nd., we listed in many websites and some of them works with 10% to 30 % Commission, some paid online and some pay all at the hostel., some have offers and same not, i hope you can talk only about things you know, not just things you think! so the prices are not same for all Guests,

3rd. We change it the prices for last week in Dec 2012 and you paid same as Old prices for all time. & i would love to let you know you should of pay alot more , we was trying to be nice to you and thought your smile all time means all is ok

4th About the Guests you said they booked the room ( I was with them in The trip to White desert all night and they told me they are going To Dahab and they Did`t.,

5th You said the Manger girlfriend staying there and he locks the shared bathroom when she is using it & i have seeing you doing same may time. but you dont know that she is just Guest at the hostel and paying same as you.,


Any way you have told us story not really Review., i wish if you talked to me about all of that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Miami Hostel and had a very pleasant stay. They offer free airport pick up, the people who work there are friendly, and are always available to help you with whatever you need. The rooms are quiet, which is nice because the street is so busy and loud, however not all the rooms have a view. The location is perfect and it was very easy to get around town. Breakfast was fine, and you won't be overcharged for water or internet (which we were at lots of other places) or hassled to visit or do anything you don't want to do. This is a great place to meet some nice people and relax during your trip to Cairo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hi, We have spent almost three weeks traveling around Egypt as backpackers (not in a package tour or sort of) and our feedback about the most hostels of Egypt is not good at all even when they are mentioned in lonely planet or websites as hostelbooker or hostelworld (these sources are not trustful at all)

Anyway in our way back to Cairo city we decided to check in at Miami Hostel. For the first time We felt in this place as in real good hostel, EVERYTHING CLEAN AND TIDY, charming staff, any kind of facilities, real breakfast, free internet, real quiet place where have a good rest and a perfect location right in the downtown, not feeling of cheating or ripping off, etc...

Probably There are some more good hostels like this but are just few for sure, so if you come to Cairo this is a very good choice!!!

ps: Mohammed will make your stay over there so comfortable!!

Regards

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been traveling around the world for the last 7 months and still going...
I've stayed in hundreds of hotels, hostels and guesthouses around the world,
but I never felt so welcomed like in Miami Cairo Hostel.
I felt like being at home all the time.
Breakfast is great and always personally served. Coffee and Wi-Fi is for free and the last one works really good all the time!
Every one in the staff is amazing, always ready to help me and so friendly,
I didn't planned to stay for so long in Egypt but they help me to discover every corner of the country, from Abu Simbel to Sinai, even Jordan and Israel.
I would definitively recommend this place to anyone going to Cairo.. I know I will be back some day!
Thanks to all my new friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at this Hostel in March of 2012 with my friend. We are both 23 year old American girls. It was hands-down the best part of my trip to Egypt. The staff at this Hostel are fantastic. They instantly make you feel welcome and safe and pick you up at the airport. The room was great, clean and actually quite private. The staff takes excellent care of you, accompanying you wherever you would like to go. They arrange all the tours you could dream of and hire excellent tour guides. There was not a single dull moment during my time spent at this Hostel. Mohammed, Ahmed, Nour, and Mustafa are all incredibly friendly and wonderful people. The staff at this hostel make you feel very safe and comfortable and I would recommend this hostel to everyone of all ages.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Cairo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Cairo Hostel

Address: 34 Talaat Harb Street | 2nd Floor., Cairo, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Miami Cairo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Cairo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.