We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay at a once royal place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 Elwy Street | downtown Cairo, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 Cairo B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice stay at a once royal place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Downtown stationed Hotel Royal was quite a good experience. Close to most sights of Cairo like the Egyptian museum and the ever-busy Tahrir square. The staff was very helpful and the reception was open 24/7. They were also quite easy to communicate with since they knew very good English unlike most Egyptians. The building was very nice from an archtectural point of view and so was the interior design, but there were also evident signs of decay. The room was clean enough.
The only drawback of this place was the noise. Cairo is very noisy overall and hotel royal was no exception. There are multiple cafes just below the hotel which keep up the noise levels until 1-2 a.m. but at least they are quite silent during the day.
All in all I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
31
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was an excellent hotel, located right in the heart of downtown with easy access to food and transportation. The breakfast was great (bread, omelettes, jams, cheese etc), staff were very wiling to help us with directions etc. When we had to leave early one day, they even packed breakfast for us.

The street that the hotel is on is actually above some cafes that operate late into the night, but the window shutters are fairly soundproof so we had no problems with the noise from downstairs. Altogether, a very comfortable stay and great value for money! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hotel Royal really was a great place to stay in Cairo. We were welcomed very late at night, and after a long day travelling we were shown to our rooms. We had breakfast everyday, which included bread, juice, eggs, omelettes, jams and butters. We were 3 students studying in Cairo at the time, so spent a lot of time at the Cairo Museum, which was a 10 minute walk away. The rooms are spacious, clean, modernly furnished and all include wireless internet, which was great. My room was on the front of the hotel, which was a little noisy, but I believe this will be common unless you spend over £100 a night somewhere else in the city! My friends room was much quieter, so it might be better to ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you're a light sleeper. We organised a trip to the Pyramids with the hotel, and that ran quite smoothly! We paid $30 to the hotel, but ended up spending quite a bit more when we got to the Pyramids as we were more or less forced to go on a camel ride! I wasn't too happy at the time, but it turned out to be a great trip and the scenery was amazing.

The staff at the hotel were great, and all spoke really good english. They were always on hand to help us whenever we needed it. The cost was extremely competitive, as we booked through hostelworld.com. It turned out to be great value for money. I would fully recommend staying here. It is great value for money, and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel deserves the positive reviews it's received. The staff are very friendly, breakfast was good, the adjacent streets are atmospheric, and the rooms are of a decent size complete with a balcony (rather bizarre bathroom arrangement though, but you'll cope). Ok, so that's the good stuff. Now for the not so good....

The location is very central, and provided you don't get lost, the Egyptian Museum is just ten minutes away. However, it's worth noting that few taxi drivers know where Elwy Street is and when you show them a map in English they're no better off, so always take one of the hotel's map/cards with you, which has combined Arabic and English street names. Trust me on this! Also bear in mind that despite Elwy Street being pedestrianised and a good people-watching spot, it's very noisy and you won't be able to sleep until 1.00am if you're lucky. But the main thing to be wary of is the tours provided by this hotel. Yes, they are cheap and remarkably good value. But at Giza you're not going to receive a 'tour' as such but more a driver who takes you to the Pyramids (via a 'museum', which is essentially a shop that no doubt pays him commission) and then hands you over to a camel owner who tries to rip you off for a tour of the Great Pyramids.

You obviously won't want to miss out on the wonderful experience of riding a camel around such a startling site as the Pyramids, but do not, under any circumstances, accept the first quote given to you, as I can guarantee it will be ridiculous. As much as I loved Egypt there's no denying that many people are unscrupulous and will have no qualms about emptying your wallet. Pay no more than 300 Egyptian Pounds each for a 2-3 hour camel ride tour of the pyramids. They'll try to charge you three times but just walk away; you're being robbed, and you just know that the hotel's driver will receive his cut.

Don't let any of this affect your attitude. It's all quite an experience and this hotel is perfectly fine considering the low prices it offers. Just be mindful of potential con-artists though....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

a two star hotel about £30 per night.
booked two rooms looks bad outside downtown up two flights of stairs perfect room with ac good decorations balconies available , very good staff perfect would stay there again , the rooms are really modern and well decorated.
Perfect

Room Tip: ask to see them there are 12 personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I had stayed in the hotel for 5 nights with my family. Had read the good reviews here and decided to give it a shot. It really is a hostel rather than hotel as not all rooms have TV's. That said however, the people made the stay there memorable and were very accomodating towards our requests.

All in all a good hostel to stay in and location itself is very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Generally speaking, there are not many good budget options for Cairo hotels. This happens to be one of them. I stayed there for a week and felt completely welcomed and taken care of by the staff. In addition, the hotel is located at the end of a street filled with cafes where locals sit out and play backgammon, smoke hookah and drink tea late into the night. Wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 10 Elwy Street | downtown Cairo, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.