We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egyptian food done brilliantly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gad

Gad
13, 26th of July St., Cairo, Egypt
+20 2 25763583 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 3,909 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Egyptian food done brilliantly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Best for take-away/street food (there's really nothing special about sitting in), Gad does the very best in hot, greasy, fresh delicious Egyptian classics such as koshary, ta3meya sandwiches, lentil soup and shawerma. There is NOTHING healthy about eating here, but it really is reliably delicious. I recommend a chicken shawerma in Syrian bread. Great for tourists on the run in a hectic trip Downtown; far higher quality alternative if you have the McDonald's urge.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“got sick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

i got sick from it and they put rotten salad and it was the first and last time for me to eat it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great food !!! Low Prices !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife & I were told about this great restaurant by our guide and really enjoyed it !!! They offer a nice variety of different foods and the service was very good. We decided to try the seafood & vegatable pizzas and were pleasantly surprised . The prices were low and fit right into our budget. We would eat here again and plan to tell our friends !!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Egyptian favorites - Great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Egyptian friends brought us here so that we could sample a variety of Egyptian favorites - it was Fantastic! It's a classic Cairo "cheap, good lunch/dinner" restaurant, filled with locals and no tourists at all - except us. We LOVED the Hot bread, literally right out of the oven, baked on-site (!!), the hummus (!!), the ful, flafel (awesome), and the kebob (!).
the fresh Mango juice (100% mango in a glass) was fantastic.
The rice pudding was the only disappointment - fairly bland, but creamy and still "not bad".
For the price, this place was awesome.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Egyptian food, good, cheap, fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Looking for a quick and super-cheap bite of authentic Egyptian fast food (pita with ful (fava beans) or ta3maya (Egyptian-style falafel), koshari (Egyptian macaroni), etc.)? This is the place. More local-oriented than even Mo'men and cheaper, but still decent fare, especially for the price. It's relatively clean, but you are not super-adventurous as a traveler (have never been east or south of Europe or left the U.S./Canada, I recommend you try Mo'men first.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gad also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Gad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.